231 Reviews

If there were 6 stars, that's what we'd give!!This was very cool and refreshing, light and flavorful!!!I made it exactly as described, I may add a touch more Cool Whip next time. This was just a test recipe tonight, for my family's gathering next week, I may have to triple it.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbasol August 15, 2002

I LOVE THIS RECIPE! So easy to make....and so delicious. Perfect for summer dessert! I have made it twice in the past 3 days (my family can't get enough of it). I used strawberries the first time, and sweetened blackberries the second time. Great recipe, Inez! This will be a new summer-time favorite in my house!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kibbie July 24, 2002

This was easy and quick and can be made the day before. I wasn't too sure about the procedure though; I couldn't "fold" the cake cubes into the cream cheese mixture, so I just mashed the whole batch together. Is that how I was supposed to do? Well, no matter, it turned out very very delicious! I agree with the other reviews; definetely more strawberries (about 5-6 cups) and mount it high. And I increase the amount of whipped cream as well. I refrigerate the shortcake overnight and had no trouble cutting it into wedges. Easy and impressive.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Izzy Knight July 16, 2002

This recipe RULES!!! Holy moly, this is fantastic!! I made this just like the recipe says, and it was so easy and SO good!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Honeydo July 08, 2002

Made this for Fourth of July party - what a HUGE HIT!! I basically kept the recipe the same but made a few changes from the comments - used 12 oz of creamy cool whip in the recipe instead of 8 and let the cake sit overnight. Put the strawberry/syrup on the cake about two hours before serving and then topped with more cool whip and then made the famous flag design on top with sliced strawberries and blueberries. It turned out great and was so incredibly light and delicious!! Everyone had seconds!! Next time I will try the low fat or no fat version to see how it turns out!! Thanks for such a great recipe - a new tradition in my family!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christina1 July 08, 2002

OMG......this recipe ROCKS....who would ever go back to the store brands again? NOT ME. It is a winner in my household. And using fat free cool whip and fat free cream cheese does not alter it at all in taste, just makes it a little creamer. Not as heavy. I love this. A great BIG thumbs up!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BuildRN June 26, 2002

So simple and delicious. I used another pkg of cream cheese,1 t. vanilla and about 3/4 cup of powdered sugar and made a "frosting" for the cake, then the fresh berries. I'm going to give it a try with fresh peaches!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teri May 13, 2002

I reviewed this recipe about 1 1/2 years ago with 5 stars and have made it many times since. By the way, I would have just edited my previous review but can't see how to do that. Anyway, just wanted to let you know that the last time I made this I made in a trifle bowl, doing two layers of the cake mix with the strawberries on top of that. It makes this fabulous dessert LOOK as good as it TASTES!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colby's Mom September 17, 2004

I first made this recipe this past summer and it was a huge success with the family. Then again for a lunch at church. I have given the recipe to a lot of people now. Just recently for our christmas dinner it was requested and was a big smash again. Very simple to make following the directions given!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tdickey December 28, 2002

An absolutely delightful dessert! Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VirgieZ September 17, 2002
The Ultimate Strawberry Shortcake