230 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this for a family get-together along with traditional Bisquick shortcake - everyone loved it! Most of the crew had this instead of the other! Would definitely make this again.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen Willson June 04, 2002

When i took the first bite of this, it just meltted in my mouth. This strawberry shortcake is the best i have ever tasted in my whole life.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
howdy hound May 23, 2002

This is a GREAT cake. We loved it!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
turtle May 21, 2002

Wow!! This was so easy and incredibly delicious. Thanks for a great recipe. My family was very impressed.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust May 20, 2002

This was quick and easy to make. I served it to a group ranging in age from 22 months to 54 years. It was a hit with everyone. Several people had seconds! A keeper in my book! Thanks for sharing.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junebug May 20, 2002

This was soooooo good and soooo easy. I had to take a dish to a picnic this past weekend so I threw this one together. Normally, I hate angelfood instead of the bisquick biscuits...but THIS...was awesome. I took the advise of others and used 1 1/3 blocks of cream cheese, about 1 & 1/3 cups of powdered sugar and a whole tub plus a big spoonful of coolwhip. I also used 2 9 oz. angel foodcakes and just tore them up. After I took it out of the fridge, I spead the rest of the cool whip on top and then cup into squares. It was perfect. Thanks for the GREAT recipie. This one is a keeper.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom of 4 July 16, 2002

I doubled the whole recipe and put it in a 8 1/2 x 11 inch glass pan. It filled the pan nearly to the top. I put fresh whipped cream on top and then I put the strawberries. Everyone enjoyed it, and I didn't have any problem getting it out of the pan. Thanks Inez, I really do think you should adopt me, I would love it. (And, by the way, I do housework!)

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy Sandra August 05, 2002

This recipe is fabulous! I had no trouble cutting the cake into squares to serve (as mentioned in other reviews). I also tried doubling the recipe the 2nd time I made it. For those wishing thicker servings (more cake height) this is the answer. It also feeds more this way, and believe me, people ask for more! I plan to use this all summer with different fruits as they are in season. Very simple and delicious make ahead dessert. Thanks Inez!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnMarie July 26, 2002

Great dessert! Tastes wonderful and is so easy. Have made it a few and it’s been a hit EVERY time (even with superbowl fans) I have changed the assembly method slightly. I, too serve it in a trifle bowl. I was having lousy luck cutting my anglefood cake into cubes and mixing it into the cream. Now I cut the anglefood cake in half lengthwise, and have a perfect round base to start layering the trifle. Next I do the strawberries and then the cream. Repeat the layers and end with fresh, whole strawberries. From the side, the layers look great. Nice and neat (because I’m not usually a “neat” dessert maker!) ~B

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kozmic Blues March 27, 2003

I made this for Father's Day and it was a big hit. You need to make more of the strawberry sauce, though. I now keep angel food cake in my freezer so I can whip this up anytime. A great dessert for a summer evening. Thanks, Inez!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly Green September 26, 2002
The Ultimate Strawberry Shortcake