Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Ultimate Strawberry Shortcake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Ultimate Strawberry Shortcake

    Average Rating:

    229 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 229

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2002

      Made this for a family get-together along with traditional Bisquick shortcake - everyone loved it! Most of the crew had this instead of the other! Would definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2002

      When i took the first bite of this, it just meltted in my mouth. This strawberry shortcake is the best i have ever tasted in my whole life.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2002

      This is a GREAT cake. We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2002

      Wow!! This was so easy and incredibly delicious. Thanks for a great recipe. My family was very impressed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2002

      This was quick and easy to make. I served it to a group ranging in age from 22 months to 54 years. It was a hit with everyone. Several people had seconds! A keeper in my book! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2002

      This was soooooo good and soooo easy. I had to take a dish to a picnic this past weekend so I threw this one together. Normally, I hate angelfood instead of the bisquick biscuits...but THIS...was awesome. I took the advise of others and used 1 1/3 blocks of cream cheese, about 1 & 1/3 cups of powdered sugar and a whole tub plus a big spoonful of coolwhip. I also used 2 9 oz. angel foodcakes and just tore them up. After I took it out of the fridge, I spead the rest of the cool whip on top and then cup into squares. It was perfect. Thanks for the GREAT recipie. This one is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2002

      I doubled the whole recipe and put it in a 8 1/2 x 11 inch glass pan. It filled the pan nearly to the top. I put fresh whipped cream on top and then I put the strawberries. Everyone enjoyed it, and I didn't have any problem getting it out of the pan. Thanks Inez, I really do think you should adopt me, I would love it. (And, by the way, I do housework!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2002

      This recipe is fabulous! I had no trouble cutting the cake into squares to serve (as mentioned in other reviews). I also tried doubling the recipe the 2nd time I made it. For those wishing thicker servings (more cake height) this is the answer. It also feeds more this way, and believe me, people ask for more! I plan to use this all summer with different fruits as they are in season. Very simple and delicious make ahead dessert. Thanks Inez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2003

      Great dessert! Tastes wonderful and is so easy. Have made it a few and it’s been a hit EVERY time (even with superbowl fans) I have changed the assembly method slightly. I, too serve it in a trifle bowl. I was having lousy luck cutting my anglefood cake into cubes and mixing it into the cream. Now I cut the anglefood cake in half lengthwise, and have a perfect round base to start layering the trifle. Next I do the strawberries and then the cream. Repeat the layers and end with fresh, whole strawberries. From the side, the layers look great. Nice and neat (because I’m not usually a “neat” dessert maker!) ~B

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2002

      I made this for Father's Day and it was a big hit. You need to make more of the strawberry sauce, though. I now keep angel food cake in my freezer so I can whip this up anytime. A great dessert for a summer evening. Thanks, Inez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2002

      If there were 6 stars, that's what we'd give!!This was very cool and refreshing, light and flavorful!!!I made it exactly as described, I may add a touch more Cool Whip next time. This was just a test recipe tonight, for my family's gathering next week, I may have to triple it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2002

      I LOVE THIS RECIPE! So easy to make....and so delicious. Perfect for summer dessert! I have made it twice in the past 3 days (my family can't get enough of it). I used strawberries the first time, and sweetened blackberries the second time. Great recipe, Inez! This will be a new summer-time favorite in my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2002

      This was easy and quick and can be made the day before. I wasn't too sure about the procedure though; I couldn't "fold" the cake cubes into the cream cheese mixture, so I just mashed the whole batch together. Is that how I was supposed to do? Well, no matter, it turned out very very delicious! I agree with the other reviews; definetely more strawberries (about 5-6 cups) and mount it high. And I increase the amount of whipped cream as well. I refrigerate the shortcake overnight and had no trouble cutting it into wedges. Easy and impressive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2002

      This recipe RULES!!! Holy moly, this is fantastic!! I made this just like the recipe says, and it was so easy and SO good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2002

      Made this for Fourth of July party - what a HUGE HIT!! I basically kept the recipe the same but made a few changes from the comments - used 12 oz of creamy cool whip in the recipe instead of 8 and let the cake sit overnight. Put the strawberry/syrup on the cake about two hours before serving and then topped with more cool whip and then made the famous flag design on top with sliced strawberries and blueberries. It turned out great and was so incredibly light and delicious!! Everyone had seconds!! Next time I will try the low fat or no fat version to see how it turns out!! Thanks for such a great recipe - a new tradition in my family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2002

      OMG......this recipe ROCKS....who would ever go back to the store brands again? NOT ME. It is a winner in my household. And using fat free cool whip and fat free cream cheese does not alter it at all in taste, just makes it a little creamer. Not as heavy. I love this. A great BIG thumbs up!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      So simple and delicious. I used another pkg of cream cheese,1 t. vanilla and about 3/4 cup of powdered sugar and made a "frosting" for the cake, then the fresh berries. I'm going to give it a try with fresh peaches!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2004

      I reviewed this recipe about 1 1/2 years ago with 5 stars and have made it many times since. By the way, I would have just edited my previous review but can't see how to do that. Anyway, just wanted to let you know that the last time I made this I made in a trifle bowl, doing two layers of the cake mix with the strawberries on top of that. It makes this fabulous dessert LOOK as good as it TASTES!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2002

      I first made this recipe this past summer and it was a huge success with the family. Then again for a lunch at church. I have given the recipe to a lot of people now. Just recently for our christmas dinner it was requested and was a big smash again. Very simple to make following the directions given!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2002

      An absolutely delightful dessert! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Ultimate Strawberry Shortcake

    Serving Size: 1 (137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 296.8
     
    Calories from Fat 103
    35%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 20.8 mg
    6%
    Sodium 235.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 35.5 g
    142%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites