232 Reviews

Tried the shortcake tonight for a potluck. It went together very easy--especially after I decided it would be easier to gently break the angel food into small chunks instead of cutting into cubes--I think it came out the same in the end. I envisioned it being cake height, but in actuality it was only about an inch high and a bit difficult to serve in intact squares. As was mentioned in another review, served up in spoonfuls after failed attempt at squares. The flavor was very good though--everyone loved it. UPDATE: Made the a second time this week. Tried to be even more gentle when folding in the cake pieces. I put it in a 8" trifle-style bowl and I was happier with the results.

62 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W June 05, 2002

At first I thought this would be like regular strawberry shortcake. Wrong! The cream cheese mixture, along with the angel food chunks, make a delicious cake that cuts beautifully and taste great. Garnished with strawberries ... it's a winner. i would suggest more strawberries than the recipe calls for.

57 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joan W. April 18, 2002

Yummmmy! I think next time I am going to double the batch and make it in a trifle bowl and layer the shortcake then strawberries and so on. A great summer dessert.

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook May 07, 2002

I want to be adopted by Inez Wallenborg! This tastes incredible - and it's so quick & easy to make. My husband, whose usual food comments range from "Uck" to "This is really good", told me that this was "the best dessert he had ever eaten". Very high praise, indeed.

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat in Texas May 27, 2002

Made this for a potluck this past weekend. It was the first thing to disappear! I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 since I think it's a little dry. I spread about 4 oz. of cool whip on top of the cake before I put on the strawberries, this made it just perfect. I agree w/one other reviewer that using more strawberries is a good thing. I used almost 1 1/2 pounds, cut into thirds, since my berries were large. Thanks! Great easy dessert.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Musical Joy May 29, 2002

Outstanding!! We live about 30 miles from a Berry Farm and made this with berries we picked ourselves. My family really enjoyed this and it was very easy to make. Thanks for a great recipe.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' May 13, 2002

I made this tonight for an evening coffee snack - it was a huge hit! This recipe is very easy to prepare - although I think it takes a bit longer than 20 minutes. I used "light" cream cheese and "light" whipped topping - it worked very well. I took some of the others suggestions and added more strawberries - I also decreased the sugar by about 2 tablespoons. I did let mine sit for 6 hours and it seemed to be very easy to serve in squares. A definite keeper and I will definitely make this very light and tasty desert again and again!!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graybert June 20, 2002

Very good. I increased the amount of strawberries and whipped topping. I added some of the strawberries and some blueberries to the cake and cream mixture. I put 8 oz of whipped topping on top of that and let it chill, then I put the sweetened strawberries on top in the middle and put sweetened blueberries around the outside. I took it to a church supper and was afraid the strawberries would not be evenly divided if i just let people put their own on top. Anyway, I loved it and so did everyone who had a piece of it. Thanks for this goody. I will make it again.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy Young in Pennsylvania May 31, 2002

This has got to be the best cake I have ever made!! It's fabulous! Everyone loved it, I served it for a Tupperware party, and the cake got more attention than the Tupperware!! Everyone wanted the recipe. I will make this a lot!!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LouiseS May 19, 2002

Ummmmmmmm! Heaven! Everything else has been said.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy Sneed May 29, 2002
The Ultimate Strawberry Shortcake