9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made mine with cube steak and swiss cheese. It makes a really great sandwich! Thanks for posting. Made for Best of 2012 cooking tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linguinelisa February 11, 2013

Made these for an after school snack . I did leave out the mushrooms, and used swiss cheese. For this I used cubed steaks since they were on sale. Made for a late lunch. Very easy to whip these up. Plan on saving and making again. Made for Best of Cookbook tag 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker January 20, 2012

This is a delicious sandwich. My DH says it's like something he'd order at a nice restaurant for lunch. We made it with cube steaks and sliced Swiss, although neither of us has ever had cube steaks before! Instead of wrapping the sandwiches in foil at the end, a method I will probably try in the future, we grilled slices of sourdough bread in the same grill pan used to cook the veggies. This is going into my Best of 2011 cookbook. Thanks, Sue's Kitchen! Made for Spring 2011 PAC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees March 06, 2011

This was so good! I used minute steaks and they were not tough at all. I cooked everything in a pan and I think this helped to tenderize the meat by cooking in its own juices. What a great way to use minute steaks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristy D. June 04, 2010

Flavor, very good. Easy and simple I made them as minis. I had some very good crusty hard rolls made at a bakery for another event so I finished them up so I cut the cube steaks in smaller pieces to fit. I seasoned and cooked as directed to try the recipe first and I didn't like the cube steak. It was too tough for me cooking as directed. So the second batch I made again as it, however, I cooked the cube as directed and then added 1/2 cup beef broth and simmered for 15 minutes or so as I fed the cats and watered the plants. It made all the difference. I then finished them in the oven as instructed. Just that little bit to tenderize the steak made them tender and not dry. Finished it with the swiss cheese or gruyere is what I had ... same thing and I did have 1/4 red and 1/4 green pepper, but that changed nothing. It was very good. I'll give it five stars because it was easy and simple with great flavor. Maybe it is just me with the tenderness of the meat, but - once it was tender it was absolutely delish and it took just a few more minutes. But will definitely make it again, Thx for sharing Kim

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook March 25, 2010

Excellent! I used top round steak that was sliced very thin because it's what I had on hand, and it turned out great. Very easy to prepare, and was a huge hit in our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meliann July 19, 2009

I have well over a hundred cookbooks. I love reading and trying new recipes. This recipe is a treasure! The kind you read about in food critic reviews. A true gourmet sandwich that is easy with simple ingredients!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
recipesrmypassion June 29, 2009

I don't normally like cubed steak, but this was so good! I used cubed pork steak and canned sliced mushrooms because I didn't have fresh. I look forward to making this again soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cckb3 January 23, 2009

This is fantastic! I am always looking for creative things to do with minute steaks. This is the best use of them I have tried so far. This is a delicious, restaurant style sandwich! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dine & Dish January 13, 2008
The Ultimate Steak Sandwich--Watch Out