Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Ultimate Scone Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Ultimate Scone

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2009

      I'm not sure what I did. I made this 3 times. Each with different additions. Chocolate chips, walnuts, and gluten free chocolate chips. Each time I ended up having to add 2 more cups of flour becuase it was just too thin. Then I had to bake it almost twice as long as suggested. Though, beyond those 2 moments (which were easily adjusted) these turned out absolutely wonderful. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      AMAZING recipe!!! I have tried a few scone recipes before and have never been as pleased before. After three times with this recipe (the 1st without altering the recipe and the 2nd and 3rd with variations) I am consistently delighted with the results. I find that, as mentioned in the recipe, I don’t need all of the buttermilk/milk mixture and even using 2/3 of it produces a dough that looks stickier than I expected (though the end result is a nicely moist scone). I suggest lightly pressing a thin layer of raw sugar onto the top of the dough before cutting and baking as it creates a bit of extra sweetness as well as an attractive presentation. I’ve made a blueberry variation and an apple variation- both turned out wonderful and were big hits with my family. This recipe is certainly a keeper! Thanks MarieAlice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      This is IT! I've tried nearly every scone recipe here, and THIS is the one that makes us all go OM NOM NOM! :-D Delicious and very versatile, a perfect base for adding any ingredient you desire, they bake up light and fluffy, with no egg! I think that this is closest to what my Nana made, and I know she wouldn't put egg in a recipe if she could get away with it, since eggs were too costly back in the day. Especially not in scones, which were a 'hold you over' tea snack to keep you happy until dinner. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      I am new to making scones. I have always loved scones but have never had the guts to make them myself. I tried this recipe today and wow...they were good. They came out great for a first try, so simple and easy! My family enjoyed them a lot. I will be making these again and again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      This is a great basic recipe -- I added craisins and orange juice to mine. My husband and I will be making these again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      It knocked the socks off family on mother's day. I followed it to the T and recommend others do as well. I paired it with A Very Simple Berry Sauce (#162801) by Derf (I added a lot of extra sugar to that recipe) and whipped cream. It is the perfect basic scone recipe and everyone took notice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2005

      I wanted to make scones for my visiting company since they love them. I made three batches back to back, since they were so quick to mix up. I patted into a circle then cut with a big knife into 8 wedges. I separated slightly on the cookie sheet. One batch I sprinkled a cinnamon/sugar mixture on top. I froze these in Ziplock bags and defrosted in micro. and heated in toaster oven. These froze perfectly! Thanks MarieAlice! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      Truly the ultimate scone. I used a buttermilk substitute - couldn't get the real stuff - and it worked a treat. Probably the best plain scones I've ever eaten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      After resigning myself to never being able to make another scone - I found the ULTIMATE scone recipe. Thank you for a great recipe! I got 4 large scones out, which was perfect because the recipe is so easy, I can make them fresh on call! The only changes I made to my second batch (could not resist) was I used 1/4 Cup buttermilk instead of 1/2, and 1 tsp milk. Perfect!!! I also added a tiny drop of vanilla essence. DIVINE! Thanks MarieAlice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      Absolutely delicious!!! This was just gorgeous MarieAlice. These will definitely be regulars on my "treats" list. So quick and easy to make and so scrumptious - almost too hard to believe. Recommend it to all......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Ultimate Scone

    Serving Size: 1 (527 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 245.1
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    31%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 22.1 mg
    7%
    Sodium 178.9 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites