Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Ultimate Manhattan Clam Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Ultimate Manhattan Clam Chowder

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 28, 2011

      Four and a half stars! Really good. Made some changes: used leftover salmon in place of clams (which, I recognize, means this is no longer clam chowder!), and subbed in parsnips for the potatoes. Made in crock pot (cooked veg and bacon, then threw in with everything else) and cooked on high for 3 hours and low for 2. Also added 8 oz. tomato sauce for personal taste. Thanks for a really good one. :]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      I made this tonight with 2 cans of chopped clams and a 1/2 of cup of clam juice with 2.5 cups of water. I didn't add green peppers since I don't like them with chowder nor did I add the bacon. I added some thawed precooked shrimp and let it simmer for 1.5 hours or more since I like a thicker chowder and very soft potatoes. This was very good my kids liked it and it was extremely filling. Had plenty to give my in-laws and sister. Will update as to how they like it. Thank you DeSouter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      Great starter recipe for us. I used 3 dozen clams because that was what was in the bag from Costco. I used Poblano pepper instead of green because that's what I had and I used 1 quart of low sodium chicken broth instead of water and added 2 small cans tomato paste to thicken a bit. Will do this again! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2006

      This is wonderful! I had to make some changes, due to the fact we are 80 kms from town. I had a pound of uncooked prawns, so I tossed them in right before serving. Didn't put in the green peppers, and added red pepper flakes. I agree...the prawns just made it that much better!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      My picky, picky husband loves this recipe. The bacon really makes it delicious. We are originally from NY where Manhattan clam chowder is the norm. Here, in New England, well we're given the pastey white stuff. Since I need my Manhattan clam chowder "fix" from time to time -- this recipe hits the spot -- I use the serving for 5 size which has the easiest to follow directions. Kudos to DeSouter

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2005

    • on January 05, 2005

      Very good BUT only if you add some Oyster Sauce to it. Otherwise I found it a little bland. With the Oyster Sauce it is great. Each person can add it to their bowl before eating to taste. About one tea spoon per serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2004

      This was very good Manhattan clam chowder!! Couldn't use fresh clams, used 2 cans of baby clams and their liquer, other than that followed the recipe exactly. Wondered about there being no salt added, thought maybe it was because of the bacon but found we had to add salt and more pepper at the table. Also there is parsley in the ingrediant list but is not in the instructions, so I added some with the celery and carrots and used the other half as a garnish. I think when I make it again I will add a little heat to it with either red pepper flakes or maybe some Cajun seasoning. It seemed to be lacking something, but adding the salt did help and we did enjoy it and will certainly make it again. Thanks for sharing, it is very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Ultimate Manhattan Clam Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (392 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 247.4
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    39%
    Total Fat 10.9 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 25.8 mg
    8%
    Sodium 532.6 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 11.4 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites