Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Ultimate Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Ultimate Lemon Meringue Pie

    Average Rating:

    106 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 106

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2007

      So my friends and i have Desperate Housewives nite every sunday and ever since the Brie episode where she wanted to make the best lemon meringue pie in the neighborhood, we wanted to make one too! and i came upon this recipe and couldn't be happier! that pie was SOOOOO kute and we didnt want 2 eat it cause it was so pretty! and it was sooooo good! we used up 2 lemons and it was just right! amazing pie! great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      Very delicious pie. I already had a pie crust made so I didn't use the graham cracker which I'm sure would be very tasty. The filling cooked up nicely and stayed thick. The meringue certainly stood firm and kept well in the fridge. Not sure if I'll do the extra steps for that again or not. Looking forward to trying the crust with the graham in it. I will recommend this pie to others. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      Since my favorite pies are cream pies - been making them since I was 13 - after about 15 years of hating the lumps from the egg yolks, I tried putting the egg yolks through a very fine strainer - voilla! no more lumps and what a creamy filling! For 35 years I've been using the lemon meringue pie recipe from the Better Homes and Garden cookbook circa 1971. We live in Colorado now at 8200 ft and my meringue just isn't what it used to be in Nebraska! And this filling recipe looks great, too. Can't wait to try it and am going to do the 5 egg whites with additional sugar only use extra fine sugar in the meringue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      This was my first lemon meringue pie - in fact it was my very first meringue anything! I was utterly delighted with the outcome. I felt as proud as a new momma. It looked and tasted divine! I can't get graham cracker crumbs over here so I just used the savory crust in the freezer and it made a great flavor contrast. (: Comments around the table included: DH - "One of the few recipes that tastes as good as it looks."...DD#1 said, "It was the right amount of sweet with the right amount of tart."...and DD#2 had only this to say, "Can I have your piece?" (: Nuff said!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      Just used the meringue and loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      Wonderful lemon meringue pie, PanNan! DH was upset that there was only a small piece leftover for him!! We all enjoyed this immensely- thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      I had a little difficulty with my meringue, so I'm giving this only 4 stars. The lemon filling was excellent though. The recipe itself with a little time consuming, but none of it difficult. Perhaps the second time around will be perfect. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      This recipe is awesome I've made a lot of lemon pies with lots of success but will have to say this is the best. The crust is wonderful and I will try it with my chocolate cream pie recipe. The filling and merengue can also be made in individual custard cups if you don't want crust.OOOH this is so good. T Healy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      This is actually a carbon copy of Americas test kitchen recipe for Lemon Meringue Pie. Under the book "American Classics". Anyway, this is a superior Lemon pie and The meringue is great and I typically do not like meringue because of the strong afer taste but this one is very good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      I just finished baking this an hour ago. The meringue turned out PERFECT!!!!!! The filling was awesome, my son and I kept licking the pan. I know this will be good once I finally eat a piece. I'm cooling it in the refrigerator to speed up the process because it looks so good. I also didnt use the crust. I used a graham cracker crust from the store, will post after I taste it to let you know how it was. So far, its 5 starts to me! Its picture perfect, I almost dont want to eat it! THANKS FOR THE RECIPE!!! I wont use another lemon meringue pie recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      Wonderful, this was very good, this was my first attempt at this pie and it came out great... I didn't make the crust but used a frozen one.... still very tasty, maybe I will try it next time! 5.5 WW without crust for 8 servings 4 with no crust or meringue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      This was recipe was, so far, my most successful attempt at making lemon meringue pie. Lemon Meringue is DH's favorite, and so far every attempt at making it has been a dismal failure. I didn't use the crust, I used a premade Pillsbury one, but I might attempt the crust next time since I think the texture would go nicely with the filling and meringue.DH raved about the meringue and said it was perfect. He did think that the filling was a bit too lemony/acidic, so I think next time I will cook the lemon juice a little bit in the filling, and cut down on the zest a bit. Also, its very important that you heed the final step of cooling before eating, otherwise the filling won't set up and will run out... but what can I say, we're impatient. :) Great recipe, will definitely use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      This is beyond DELICIOUS! Looking for a healthy low calorie/low fat dessert, I made this without the crust, and splenda-- it was so guilt free and to die for! THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      Yum, Yum, Yum!!! This pie took two hours to prepare from start to finish with clean-up, but it was worth it. The filling was scrumptious. I took another reviewer's advice and cooked the lemon zest with the other filling ingredients and it turned out very well. The crust was tender, flaky and delicious. I used my stand mixer and it was as easy as pie! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      I will ALWAYS make this meringue from now on! OMG how perfect! And delicious! The filling was not fully cooled when DH & I cut (put pie outside in 18degree F to chill it quicker - LOL) so it leaked some - the taste is outstandingly tart & not toooo sweet as some lemon fillings are. We added an extra few tablespoons lemon juice and a BIG tablespoon of zest - outstanding. I now have pie in fridge with cut side tilted up - will not get another piece until fully chilled, can't wait, can't wait, can't wait! Thanks again for another great recipe Pan Nan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      Having made my fair share of Lemon Meringue pies I have to agree this is one of the best Lemon pies I have ever made and served! Made this as one of my weekend desserts this summer, everyone agreed it is one terrific Lemon Pie. Used this same filling and topping in a pastry shell as well and again - wonderful! Thank you for sharing your adaptation of this lush and lemony pie, the recipe has been added to my favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      Best lemon meringue pie I've ever had! A little time-comsuming, but well worth the effort. Directions were perfect and easy to follow. Thanks so much, PanNan, for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      It was not so great. next time I will refrigerate overnignt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      Excellent! I didn't make the crust as I needed a gluten-free version, just put the curd and meringue in dessert cups. Tart, sweet and light! The best lemon "pie" I've ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      Oh my gosh! Without question the best lemon merengue pie we have ever eaten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Ultimate Lemon Meringue Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (195 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 476.3
     
    Calories from Fat 198
    41%
    Total Fat 22.0 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 168.8 mg
    56%
    Sodium 245.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 41.3 g
    165%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes