108 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

While this was delicious, I changed the method of cooking the filling and it was fool-proof. First, thoroughly mix the cornstarch and sugar, add the water and microwave until thick and clearish, stirring every minute or so. Beat the egg yolks in a separate bowl and temper them by whisking in about half the cornstarch/water mixture, adding it slowly. Then add the egg yolk mixture back into the cornstarch mixture and microwave a couple minutes more until it returns to a full boil. THEN add the lemon juice and at least 2 T of lemon/lime zest. I used a combo of juices and zest. I also added the remaining zest to the meringue, making that as directed but using all six egg whites and folding in the zest at the last minute. Turned out wonderfully. Those of you who are inexperienced, try this method!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinaJohnson June 09, 2012

Followed the directions exactly and it turned out perfectly! I'm in SoCal and used extra ripe Meyers lemons from my yard. I think anyone having issues with how their pie turns out is most likely not an very experienced baker. I think they're probably not cooking the filling long enough and do not know what the consistency of the filling should be. Personally I know times and amounts in a recipe are subjective to your altitude and ingredients. If you have any experience with baking you shouldn't have any trouble adjusting as needed. Also, while cooking the filling you have to whisk it almost constantly and aggressively. If you don't you will end up with lumps but that's what will happen any sort of filling or curd.

Mine turned out wonderfully and the only thing I changed is I used a traditional pie crust. I'm from the South and we never use a graham cracker crust for this pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
raincheck May 22, 2012

The crust was great but it fell apart easily when going into the pan. The filling was delicious but had a little too much of an eggy taste. Maybe i'll cut down to 4 yolks next time. The meringue shaped beautifully! Thank you for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmbutterfly January 04, 2012

This was my first time making lemon meringue pie (or any pie with meringue) and I was pleased with how it came out. Everyone raved about it, and I already received several requests to make it again.

My alterations:

Crust-I used a Pillsbury premade crust

Filling-After reading the reviews, I I used a good 1/3 cup of cornstarch (about a teaspoon over 1/3 cup) to make sure it would set. Also, I added the lemon juice at the same time as the egg yolks, though I waited on adding the zest and butter until the filling firmed up to make sure that it wouldn't have set and then get too runny and not set afterward.

Meringue-Like others here, I chose to make a 6-egg white meringue since the filling used 6 yolks (I increased the other ingredients correspondingly).

Thanks so much for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
astphard December 30, 2011

If you ever make a LMP- MAKE THIS ONE. It is simply outstanding. As with most other reviews on various recipies, "the one thing I changed" was...NOTHING. Simply delicious.
Thank You

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjwilly December 21, 2011

Made this for my boss's birthday party. Was a complete hit. Pies turned out beautifully and they were the perfect consistency. They had the perfect tartness and best lemon flavor of any lemon meringe I've tried. Will be making them for Thanksgiving again! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Lynn November 22, 2011

This recipe was AMAZING!!! I made this pie after a horrible recipe disaster and it was the best second attempt at lemon meringue that I've ever made!The whites were fluffy and sweet and the lemon filling was tart and lemony and delicious.The graham crackers in the crust really gave it something different and my family loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DivaBaykah201 October 19, 2011

I don't really want to rate this on the first time making it due to for some reason my pie is slightly runny also and I am not sure why when I followed the steps as written. I will make another before I rate this complete to see if it comes out the same way after reading other reviews to why this may have happen. I really feel it should have 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drobinson1963_10384328 October 03, 2011

As with a lot of other reviewers, this was my first attempt at a lemon meringue pie and I was very nervous. My grandson & I measured everything out ahead of time since things move quickly once you start cooking. Time was short so we used the Pillsbury refrigerated crusts instead of making homemade but made the filling and the meringue as directed, adding a bit more lemon juice & zest. I'm happy to say that it came out wonderfully delicious! The meringue was light and fluffy, the filling set beautifully and was very tasty. If I ever get a request to make a lemon meringue pie in the future, this is the recipe that I'm coming back to.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patti C August 24, 2011

My first ever attempt to make a LMP. I didn't think too much of the pieshell, the filling was very dry, though I got a bit distracted during the cooking process, so this could be my fault. It was nice and lemony and flavour was good.
Meringue was sensational though, very light and fluffy.
Will make again, but tweak the recipe, probably just with sweet short crust pastry and will give the filling another try by cooking it more like a custard.
I would give it 3 stars for filling and crust but 5 for meringue!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Agnes #2 August 02, 2011
The Ultimate Lemon Meringue Pie