118 Reviews

Great recipe and delicious lemon pie. I needed a gluten free lemon pie so I used Pillsbury GF pie dough for the crust. The lemon pie filling recipe is naturally gluten free and it was easy to make. I used 6 egg whites for the meringue and it was beautiful. I had never added cornstarch to meringue, I mixed the cornstarch and water, but didn't bother boiling it - just added it to the egg whites. I will always use cornstarch in the future as it set up beautifully and stayed perfect for 3 days after being refrigerated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimpard August 07, 2014

Saved this recipe just today. Hubby's birthday inb June, so most likely will make one for him.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy J. May 10, 2014

After reading the last review, I decided to use only one cup of water in the lemon filling. Also I submitted the lemon rind for 1/4 teaspoon lemon extract. I also used all 6 egg whites and added 1/4 more sugar. It turned out perfect. The only reason I didn't mark 5 stars is the tweaking I had to do with the lemon filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa M. April 20, 2014

I had too many lemons to use up, and had just gotten some eggs from a friend's farm, so I decided to try this recipe. I didn't use a graham cracker crust, but a regular pastry crust. This recipe is now down as a favorite for my husband -- the filling was tart, and the meringue was fluffy but had a lot of body. Absolutely perfect!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tracytrebilcox March 09, 2014

My pie did not set up, even after I doubled the cornstarch, BUT I doubled the lemon juice and cut out some of the water (so the liquid ratio was the same) and added some extra sugar, which could have been the problem..who knows, it still tasted great. The five stars is for the crust. OMG, the crust! I didn't have graham crackers, so I used Nilla Wafers instead. Fantastic crust...the only recipe I'm going to use for my pies (well, most of them) from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cambory January 23, 2014

I'm not an experienced cook, but I followed this recipe exactly as it said, and it comes out perfect. It can be a little tricky to get it down right the first time if you never made pie crust, filling, and meringue before like me. However, I have made it three times now and everyone keeps wanting me to make it again. It is gone pretty quick anytime I have made it. I may have to start making two pies to bring to family gatherings!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christine G. December 27, 2013

I made this pie for Christmas and it turned out perfectly. The only modification I made was to cook the filling a little longer after adding the zest, juice and butter. The meringue looked perfect and stood high. It's definitely a 5 star pie. The taste was great. I used Meyers lemons I grew myself. This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetandTart December 26, 2013

I changed it up a bit but the foundation was excelent

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChaseWagley April 02, 2013

AMAZING!!! This was my first ever LMP and it turned out amazing!! I was so scared thinking that it was going to be impossible to get it right but the directions were easy and the recipe perfect. The only change I did make was added in the lemon juice after the water and then thickening instead of waiting until after it was thickened to add it. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tonyams November 13, 2012

I followed this recipe to a T!! And my pie came out soupy, the meringue fell and was weepy. I don't understand why this recipe got such good reviews. Why did the recipe say to continue to keep the filling hot while doing the meringue topping? After learning more about the chemistry of thickening I realized I should have just pored it into the pie shell. If the filling is heated too long the cornstarch bursts and the water it is holding is released and put back into the filling making it soupy. Another tip to prevent weepy meringue is don't brown the top till you are ready to serve it. Also putting cake crumbs in the middle soaks some of it up and prevents sliding; another problem I had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lindseyellow October 09, 2012
The Ultimate Lemon Meringue Pie