106 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The crust was great but it fell apart easily when going into the pan. The filling was delicious but had a little too much of an eggy taste. Maybe i'll cut down to 4 yolks next time. The meringue shaped beautifully! Thank you for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmbutterfly January 04, 2012

This was my first time making lemon meringue pie (or any pie with meringue) and I was pleased with how it came out. Everyone raved about it, and I already received several requests to make it again.

My alterations:

Crust-I used a Pillsbury premade crust

Filling-After reading the reviews, I I used a good 1/3 cup of cornstarch (about a teaspoon over 1/3 cup) to make sure it would set. Also, I added the lemon juice at the same time as the egg yolks, though I waited on adding the zest and butter until the filling firmed up to make sure that it wouldn't have set and then get too runny and not set afterward.

Meringue-Like others here, I chose to make a 6-egg white meringue since the filling used 6 yolks (I increased the other ingredients correspondingly).

Thanks so much for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
astphard December 30, 2011

If you ever make a LMP- MAKE THIS ONE. It is simply outstanding. As with most other reviews on various recipies, "the one thing I changed" was...NOTHING. Simply delicious.
Thank You

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjwilly December 21, 2011

Made this for my boss's birthday party. Was a complete hit. Pies turned out beautifully and they were the perfect consistency. They had the perfect tartness and best lemon flavor of any lemon meringe I've tried. Will be making them for Thanksgiving again! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Lynn November 22, 2011

This recipe was AMAZING!!! I made this pie after a horrible recipe disaster and it was the best second attempt at lemon meringue that I've ever made!The whites were fluffy and sweet and the lemon filling was tart and lemony and delicious.The graham crackers in the crust really gave it something different and my family loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DivaBaykah201 October 19, 2011

I don't really want to rate this on the first time making it due to for some reason my pie is slightly runny also and I am not sure why when I followed the steps as written. I will make another before I rate this complete to see if it comes out the same way after reading other reviews to why this may have happen. I really feel it should have 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drobinson1963_10384328 October 03, 2011

As with a lot of other reviewers, this was my first attempt at a lemon meringue pie and I was very nervous. My grandson & I measured everything out ahead of time since things move quickly once you start cooking. Time was short so we used the Pillsbury refrigerated crusts instead of making homemade but made the filling and the meringue as directed, adding a bit more lemon juice & zest. I'm happy to say that it came out wonderfully delicious! The meringue was light and fluffy, the filling set beautifully and was very tasty. If I ever get a request to make a lemon meringue pie in the future, this is the recipe that I'm coming back to.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patti C August 24, 2011

My first ever attempt to make a LMP. I didn't think too much of the pieshell, the filling was very dry, though I got a bit distracted during the cooking process, so this could be my fault. It was nice and lemony and flavour was good.
Meringue was sensational though, very light and fluffy.
Will make again, but tweak the recipe, probably just with sweet short crust pastry and will give the filling another try by cooking it more like a custard.
I would give it 3 stars for filling and crust but 5 for meringue!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Agnes #2 August 02, 2011

This was very good. I was apprehensive about making a homemade lemon meringue pie, but the results are worth making it from scratch. I skipped the pastry step and used a Pillsbury pre-made instead. A few people mentioned that their filling didn't set-up, so I added a spoon of the cornstarch mixture that was meant for the meringue into the pie filling and had no problems. The pie was great, light with just the right amount of tartness, not overly sweet like packaged lemon pies can be. Everyone was marveling at the meringue and wanted to know my secret for making such picture perfect meringue!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dannygirl June 20, 2011

The flavor of this pie was amazing! I made it for Easter this year and everyone said it was the best lemon pie they ever had. I made it 2 days ahead of time which was a bad idea. The meringue had started to separate. Next time I will make it the day before. Otherwise it was excellent! I used a traditional crust, not the graham cracker one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nurse_Kris June 30, 2010
The Ultimate Lemon Meringue Pie