Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Ultimate Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Ultimate Lemon Meringue Pie

    Average Rating:

    105 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 105

    Sort by:

    • on May 23, 2010

      Excellent. Everyone loved it. Said it was better the the restaurant pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      this was my first from scratch or from anything else lemon meringue pie and i have to say that it turned out very well. those who ate it were all impressed. even though they had never had lemon meringue before, i had (and had childhood memories to contend with) and i have to say that it tasted great. i had to ad lib with the crust as they do not sell graham crackers in germany. however, i found that wheat bran worked just as well. i just tossed it into the food processor rather than roll it out like the recipe calls for but it still turned out nicely. now that i am more familiar with the recipe, next time i will attempt the roll out method which sounded beyond me when i baked yesterday. one thing i would suggest is printing out the recipe. i did not and it was hard having to scroll up and down on my laptop to make sure i was adding the correct amounts and then having to remember where i was in the recipe. despite this, i was able to find my way and will definitely bake this again and again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      This is the best lemon-Meringue pie i have ever had! The Meringue is soft and foamy, and the lemon is the right mix of sweet and lemony. Thanks PanNan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      The filling & meringue were great (shouldn't there be lemon zest in the meringue as well?), but I was very disappointed with the crust. It tasted flat, doughy and completely wrong for this type of pie. Isn't lemon meringue pie supposed to be a 100% cookie-crumb crust? Ah well, it was tasty but next time I plan to make my own crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      I have never had a more perfect lemon meringue pie than this one. The crust was a big fidgety to roll out with the addition of the graham crackers but well worth it as the sweetness of the crust was a wonderful contrast to the tartness of the lemon. The meringue turned out absolutely perfect and stored very well in the fridge. No weeping, no shrinking or sogginess. I made this for a small dinner party and all guests agreed to award this recipe 5 stars and no less! Thank you for sharing the ultimate pie recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      The only reason I'm not giving a one is because "yes" technically it is tasty BUT considering I let it stay in the fridge overnight and it has yet to set remotely. Certain parts of the recipe I read while cooking I was basically yelling at the computer screen due to the seemingly out of order steps of the recipe. I like other reviewers had the moment of "is this even thickening?" with the saucepan I used all the ingrediants save the ones for the pie crust ones due to graham cracker sounding a disgusting combination with lemon. I used My No Roll Pie Crust as a substitute as I often do for my cream pies. I'm glad others had good experiences with this pie. Wish I could have been one of them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      Historically, my experience with lemon pie/meringue has been memorable (and not in a good way). When I saw this recipe, I just had to try one more time. WOW....nailed it on the first try! This pie is great, and the meringue is to die for! Thank you for a wonderful recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      I absolutley loved the meringue and the filling tasted fabulous....the only thing is that filling was very runny. I do not know if maybe I did one of the steps wrong or what. I will give it another go and hope that next time it will come out perfect. Even if it was runny...it tasted really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      I had my first lemon meringue pie a couple weeks ago and decided I wanted to make my own. Most of the adults liked this pie but only 1 out of 6 kids ate it. Everyone raved about the crust which was amazing but no one really said anything about the filling or meringue. The filling was kind of runny even the next day. I thought the directions were confusing and hard to follow. There are so many steps I kept getting lost. I am giving this 4 stars for the crust. I will be using that part of this recipe for all my pies. As for the lemon filling I'll be leaving that to Marie Callender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful, wonderful - and, even more wonderful!! Absolutely love this meringue recipe - pie is delicious too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      That was fun! My kitchen is a mess so it has to be good. I love the gramham cracker on the crust. Some great directions.... Followed them to the letter! It was by far the best lemon pie I have ever made

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      fantastic! i have made this a few times now and it is always a huge hit. I usually add a bit more zest and lemon juice only because we like it tart. Also haven't made the pie shell I just use premade crusts. Great no fail filling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      LOVED this! I agree about the filling though... a little more cornstarch may be needed to firm it up a bit. As for the meringue, it came out perfect. I added 1/2 tbsp of sugar at a time instead of 1 tbsp. And I baked it at 300 degrees.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      Flavor was awesome! The lemon filling didn't firm up like it should so I'll add a little extra cornstarch next time... or maybe I didn't cook it quite long enough. I'll update this review next time I make it. I did eat nearly the whole pie myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      This was the first time ever making a lemon meringue pie. My grandmother brought home some lemons from Southern California. I was very opimistic about my ability to make this delicate dessert. I have heard it is quite an art. But to my surprise every step was easily understood and the pie turned out delicious. I was so proud I yelled out on the front porch that "I made my first lemon meringue pie". It was perfect and everyone enjoyed more than one piece. I was very proud that I could pull this recipe off even with my inexperience as a cook. Nothing can stop me now. I have a feeling this pie recipe will be used at every holiday dinner from now on. Thankyou for making this recipe simple and successful!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      Without a doubt, the BEST lemon pie I have ever had. This reicpe is a keeper. I did not make the crust. I liked the idea of the graham crackers on the crust. I used the rolled frozen pie crust and sprinkled my bread board with the crumbs and rolled the crust with crumbs on top too. It did give the crust an extra crunch. I liked that idea and will use it on other pies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      This truly lives up to its name. This is by far the nicest LM Pie I've had. I served it to guests today, and they kept commenting on it. From the crust right up to that amazing meringue. The only thing I did differently, was to add an extra tablespoon of zest. So lovely. Thanks PanNan, for a spectacular dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      Filling is way more flavourful than storebought lemon-pie mix! I'll be honest: I'm in a rush today, so I didn't try the crust & meringue, but I'm intrigued and will definitely come back to this recipe and hopefully try both next time... :-)))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      Delicious pie. The amount of zest called for seemed like an awful lot, so I used about a teaspoon. It was still very tart. I am glad I didn't use a full tablespoon. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      This is awesome! My husband’s Mom passed away before I met my husband, but apparently she was famous for her Lemon Meringue Pie. She would only make the pie when the atmospherics were perfect though as too much humidity would make for weepy meringue. Over the years my quest to make this pie has has had some humorous results and after a defeat I would regroup and map out the next strategy. This quest has resulted in many purchases (Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer, Meringue Powder, Copper Bowls, etc). Mostly with the result of my husband taking the first bite and kind of screwing up his face, the going into detail of what his Mom’s pie had that my candidate did not. He would then explain in detail that the perfect lemon meringue pie should have a crust that is tender and flakey but not dry or too moist, and the filling should not absorb into it. The filling should be on the border between opaque and translucent with a creamy lemon taste that is neither too tart nor too sweet; and the meringue should be fluffy, tall, and flavorful, but not weepy where it meets the filling, and not too dry or moist. Of course no pie is ever going to meet the standard of perfection exacted by the my husband’s memory of his Mom....BUT THIS PIE CAME CLOSE! He took the first bite and kind of smiled and said it is a great attempt.... Oh JOY, AND RAPTURE! Gold Medal Winner! Thank you PanNan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Ultimate Lemon Meringue Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (195 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 476.3
     
    Calories from Fat 198
    41%
    Total Fat 22.0 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 168.8 mg
    56%
    Sodium 245.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 41.3 g
    165%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes