Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Ultimate Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Ultimate Lemon Meringue Pie

    Average Rating:

    103 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 103

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2013

      I changed it up a bit but the foundation was excelent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      I just made this pie. It is a wonderful recipe, but I think it is a little too finicky about how to put it together. The lemon filling can be made very nicely by just adding all the ingredients, with the exception of the butter, cooking until it is thickened, remove from heat, add butter.

      Also, I would cool the filling slightly, and then pour it into the pie shell. That way the top of the filling firms up a little, by the time you add the meringue. It makes it easier to spread the meringue. I made my meringue with 6 whites, and increased the rest of the ingredients accordingly - increase all ingredients in meringue by 1/2 again, when using 6 whites. Why waste the extra whites.

      I am thrilled to be taking this pie to a friends house, tonight. It is beautiful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2012

      I'm 61 years old and been trying to make the perfect lemon meringue pie most of my life. THIS IS IT! I used my own pie crust because I prefer a more traditional crust but the filling and meringue were perfect and delicious! I have NO idea how anyone could say this filling was flavorless! How could fresh lemon juice and zest have no flavor? If anything is wrong with the flavor, it has to be the cook and not the recipe! Also, you should not put lemon meringue pie in the refrigerator as it will cause the meringue to weep and shrink. Make sure all your utensils are free from grease, do NOT use a metal pan or whisk, follow the directions exactly and you will have the perfect pie! Thank you PanNan! I'm an experienced cook and this is the only thing I could get right, until now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2012

      AMAZING!!! This was my first ever LMP and it turned out amazing!! I was so scared thinking that it was going to be impossible to get it right but the directions were easy and the recipe perfect. The only change I did make was added in the lemon juice after the water and then thickening instead of waiting until after it was thickened to add it. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      I followed this recipe to a T!! And my pie came out soupy, the meringue fell and was weepy. I don't understand why this recipe got such good reviews. Why did the recipe say to continue to keep the filling hot while doing the meringue topping? After learning more about the chemistry of thickening I realized I should have just pored it into the pie shell. If the filling is heated too long the cornstarch bursts and the water it is holding is released and put back into the filling making it soupy. Another tip to prevent weepy meringue is don't brown the top till you are ready to serve it. Also putting cake crumbs in the middle soaks some of it up and prevents sliding; another problem I had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      While this was delicious, I changed the method of cooking the filling and it was fool-proof. First, thoroughly mix the cornstarch and sugar, add the water and microwave until thick and clearish, stirring every minute or so. Beat the egg yolks in a separate bowl and temper them by whisking in about half the cornstarch/water mixture, adding it slowly. Then add the egg yolk mixture back into the cornstarch mixture and microwave a couple minutes more until it returns to a full boil. THEN add the lemon juice and at least 2 T of lemon/lime zest. I used a combo of juices and zest. I also added the remaining zest to the meringue, making that as directed but using all six egg whites and folding in the zest at the last minute. Turned out wonderfully. Those of you who are inexperienced, try this method!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      Followed the directions exactly and it turned out perfectly! I'm in SoCal and used extra ripe Meyers lemons from my yard. I think anyone having issues with how their pie turns out is most likely not an very experienced baker. I think they're probably not cooking the filling long enough and do not know what the consistency of the filling should be. Personally I know times and amounts in a recipe are subjective to your altitude and ingredients. If you have any experience with baking you shouldn't have any trouble adjusting as needed. Also, while cooking the filling you have to whisk it almost constantly and aggressively. If you don't you will end up with lumps but that's what will happen any sort of filling or curd.

      Mine turned out wonderfully and the only thing I changed is I used a traditional pie crust. I'm from the South and we never use a graham cracker crust for this pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      The crust was great but it fell apart easily when going into the pan. The filling was delicious but had a little too much of an eggy taste. Maybe i'll cut down to 4 yolks next time. The meringue shaped beautifully! Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      This was my first time making lemon meringue pie (or any pie with meringue) and I was pleased with how it came out. Everyone raved about it, and I already received several requests to make it again.

      My alterations:

      Crust-I used a Pillsbury premade crust

      Filling-After reading the reviews, I I used a good 1/3 cup of cornstarch (about a teaspoon over 1/3 cup) to make sure it would set. Also, I added the lemon juice at the same time as the egg yolks, though I waited on adding the zest and butter until the filling firmed up to make sure that it wouldn't have set and then get too runny and not set afterward.

      Meringue-Like others here, I chose to make a 6-egg white meringue since the filling used 6 yolks (I increased the other ingredients correspondingly).

      Thanks so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      If you ever make a LMP- MAKE THIS ONE. It is simply outstanding. As with most other reviews on various recipies, "the one thing I changed" was...NOTHING. Simply delicious.
      Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      Made this for my boss's birthday party. Was a complete hit. Pies turned out beautifully and they were the perfect consistency. They had the perfect tartness and best lemon flavor of any lemon meringe I've tried. Will be making them for Thanksgiving again! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      This recipe was AMAZING!!! I made this pie after a horrible recipe disaster and it was the best second attempt at lemon meringue that I've ever made!The whites were fluffy and sweet and the lemon filling was tart and lemony and delicious.The graham crackers in the crust really gave it something different and my family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      I don't really want to rate this on the first time making it due to for some reason my pie is slightly runny also and I am not sure why when I followed the steps as written. I will make another before I rate this complete to see if it comes out the same way after reading other reviews to why this may have happen. I really feel it should have 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2011

      As with a lot of other reviewers, this was my first attempt at a lemon meringue pie and I was very nervous. My grandson & I measured everything out ahead of time since things move quickly once you start cooking. Time was short so we used the Pillsbury refrigerated crusts instead of making homemade but made the filling and the meringue as directed, adding a bit more lemon juice & zest. I'm happy to say that it came out wonderfully delicious! The meringue was light and fluffy, the filling set beautifully and was very tasty. If I ever get a request to make a lemon meringue pie in the future, this is the recipe that I'm coming back to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2011

      My first ever attempt to make a LMP. I didn't think too much of the pieshell, the filling was very dry, though I got a bit distracted during the cooking process, so this could be my fault. It was nice and lemony and flavour was good.
      Meringue was sensational though, very light and fluffy.
      Will make again, but tweak the recipe, probably just with sweet short crust pastry and will give the filling another try by cooking it more like a custard.
      I would give it 3 stars for filling and crust but 5 for meringue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      This was very good. I was apprehensive about making a homemade lemon meringue pie, but the results are worth making it from scratch. I skipped the pastry step and used a Pillsbury pre-made instead. A few people mentioned that their filling didn't set-up, so I added a spoon of the cornstarch mixture that was meant for the meringue into the pie filling and had no problems. The pie was great, light with just the right amount of tartness, not overly sweet like packaged lemon pies can be. Everyone was marveling at the meringue and wanted to know my secret for making such picture perfect meringue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      The flavor of this pie was amazing! I made it for Easter this year and everyone said it was the best lemon pie they ever had. I made it 2 days ahead of time which was a bad idea. The meringue had started to separate. Next time I will make it the day before. Otherwise it was excellent! I used a traditional crust, not the graham cracker one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Fantastic recipe!!! Thanks so much... Have a quick question tho, can I make the crust in advance and How long does it last in the fridge? Hope someone can tell me, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Excellent. Everyone loved it. Said it was better the the restaurant pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      this was my first from scratch or from anything else lemon meringue pie and i have to say that it turned out very well. those who ate it were all impressed. even though they had never had lemon meringue before, i had (and had childhood memories to contend with) and i have to say that it tasted great. i had to ad lib with the crust as they do not sell graham crackers in germany. however, i found that wheat bran worked just as well. i just tossed it into the food processor rather than roll it out like the recipe calls for but it still turned out nicely. now that i am more familiar with the recipe, next time i will attempt the roll out method which sounded beyond me when i baked yesterday. one thing i would suggest is printing out the recipe. i did not and it was hard having to scroll up and down on my laptop to make sure i was adding the correct amounts and then having to remember where i was in the recipe. despite this, i was able to find my way and will definitely bake this again and again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Ultimate Lemon Meringue Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (195 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 476.3
     
    Calories from Fat 198
    41%
    Total Fat 22.0 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 168.8 mg
    56%
    Sodium 245.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 41.3 g
    165%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites