Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Ultimate Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Ultimate Lemon Meringue Pie

    Average Rating:

    105 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 105

    Sort by:

    • on May 31, 2010

      Sorry, but this just didn't work for me. The crust was good, the meringue lovely (I used all 6 egg whites and adjusted the sugar etc to compensate). The problem was with the ingredients and method of making the filling, I think. I have only made LMP a few times and always used a recipe that had a lemon curd type of filling. Never a problem with runny filling or flavourless filling. Due to the rave reviews I thought I'd try this to see what I was missing. My first question was about adding so much water to the filling ingredients. I noticed many LMP recipes use a water and cornstarch based filling which seems to provide much less flavour than one using mostly or all lemon juice for the filling. I also didn't understand adding unbeaten egg yolks to all that sugar and cornstarch. That seems like asking for trouble along the lines of little bits of tough egg floating in the filling. Why not combine the water and beaten egg yolks or even a little water and egg yolks? Or add some of the cold water to the sugar and cornstarch, then add the rest to the yolks and combine? It would prevent egg lumps that one reviewer said she dealt with by using an immersion blender. Then the cooking instructions seem backwards. They say to cook the sugar, cornstarch, yolks and water "until thickened", then add the lemon juice, rind and butter. I did cook the sugar mixture until very thick (like icing or heavy custard) but once I added the juice and the butter it became pourable and never thickened up again. The pie has been in the fridge for 24 hours and the filling is still the consistency of melted ice cream. Why not cook the filling with the butter and lemon juice in it so you can accurately judge the consistency? Did I cook it too long? Not long enough? There is no real way to know. The taste is okay but not special even using fresh lemon juice, sweeter today than yesterday we all agreed, and the meringue did not weep at all. It looked lovely until we cut it and it poured itself out of its crust. IMHO, just not worth the effort given the ease by which one can make a real lemon curd for such a pie and avoid the issue of "will it or wont it" thicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2011

      I made this for my husband's birthday and he proclaimed it 5 stars. It was definitely delicious, but time consuming. I made a few minor modifications to the recipe based on previous reviews.

      Made the crust as described and it was fantastic.

      Made the filling as described but increased the cornstarch to 1/2 cup and brought the mixture to a light boil and added the lemon juice/zest in and also boiled for a few minutes. Removed from heat and stirred in the butter. The filling set up beautifully and had no lumps as earlier reviewers had mentioned.

      Made the meringue as described but am not sure I understand the purpose of the cornstarch. Meringue should set up fine without it so I may try it without the cornstarch next time. It did taste wonderful though!

      Overall a great tasting recipe, just requires some attention to detail!! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      My mother has always wished for her mother's lemon pie, but she passed away before she ever knew the secret of her pie. I made this for my mom today for her birthday and when she tasted it she said, "That's my mom's pie!" I was so happy and proud! We enjoyed it so much and it will be my one and only lemon pie recipe...Just wanted to say thank you from the bottom of my heart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      This recipe is a disaster. The directions are terrible and without the detail you need, slim chance the pie will set up, there are unnecessary ingredients, and overall, its just not reliable recipe. I question all of the reviews on this site. Find another recipe with more detailed directions.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      This is a really good tasting recipe however, the cooking of the lemon filling for 8-10 minutes was not long enough and adding butter and lemon juice after the lemon filling solidified was probably the wrong move. I like firmer lemon filling and it came out thickened but once I added the lemon juice and butter it went all liquified and never solidified again. Next time I will add all ingredients together and let it cook a bit longer so that it solidifies. Thanks for posting though. I will use this recipe again but will do the lemon filling slightly different.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      Before attempting my first lemon meringue pie, as I have never made one, I researched through all the reviews. I started to sweat getting very nervous & confused due to so many different opinions & additional tweaking recommendations. It's my boyfriends 39th birthday, and this is is fav pie, however, only his mother has them for him thus far, & I never found anything special about her version.
      Well, I followed this recipe to the T, with a little help from my lovely 8 year old daughter, & chose as many others to mix the zest in the pot while the curd is thickening. Well, it turned out beautifully! Since I had to use 6 egg yolks, I kept the 6 whites from them & chose to make my meringue with 6 egg whites vs. the called for 4. I am sooo glad I did! The meringue was so gigh & beautiful!!!
      Well, I let it cool to near about room temp., then put it on the fridge for tomorrow. This morning a lot of the meringue had fallen :( I am so glad I used more meringue then what was called for. Totally bummed it fell a bit, & I am taking it for dessert tonight, sure hope it still tastes good! I will post a pic of the finished product fresh from the oven. If WAS so perfect :( Otherwise, I will try this recipe again, with even MORE meringue!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      Without a doubt-the most delicious pie recipe I have ever come across. I have made this pie over 20 times since I found the recipe in 2005. My husband fell in love with me all over again-and does-every time I make it. My kids love it. My parents love it. They requested this and only this for my offerings to their Thanksgiving table. :) I made out easy! The lemon filling is superb. It is just the right amount of tangy and it tastes super delicious mixed with the vanilla-sweet meringue. The meringue is delicious. I was always one to only eat a little bit of meringue until now. This meringue is so silky smooth-"like butta". The crust is amazing. I use this crust recipe with every pie I make. I cannot justify buying a store bought crust ever again. It is simple to make and it is so good that you will never be able to eat another crust without comparing. This pie is worth every amount of effort you have to put into it. Perhaps the directions could have been organized better-but they are easy to follow regardless.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2004

      Great! I love Lemon Meringue Pie... It is so good and the meringue came out really fluffy...Thanks will make this one over and over.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2003

      I really did like this, though I made a reg. crust as I had no graham crakers. I will be trying it with the graham crakers next week...Made with extra ripe meyer lemons, think it makes a difference for the flavor

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2003

      Wonderful! Reminds me of my grandma's lemon meringue pie and I just loved making this, serving it to my family and eating a piece or two myself! The crust is a golden flaky treat and the lemon filling is just tart enough to bite you a little, but sweet enough to make you want another mouthful. The meringue crusted beautifully and I am tempted to make a little more meringue next time so we can have a little higher pie for a little guiltier indulgence! Totally a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2014

      Honestly, I am only halfway through making this pie. It is just too much work! I love to bake and I am generally pretty patient. But this recipe has over 30 steps . . . crazy. I give up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2014

      Great recipe and delicious lemon pie. I needed a gluten free lemon pie so I used Pillsbury GF pie dough for the crust. The lemon pie filling recipe is naturally gluten free and it was easy to make. I used 6 egg whites for the meringue and it was beautiful. I had never added cornstarch to meringue, I mixed the cornstarch and water, but didn't bother boiling it - just added it to the egg whites. I will always use cornstarch in the future as it set up beautifully and stayed perfect for 3 days after being refrigerated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2014

      Way too many recipe steps; too many pots and pans, and frustrating because I constantly had to scroll up and down.<br/>The recipe itself is very sweet and was extremely watery when I cut into it.<br/>Pie crust was alright, even though I used whole wheat.<br/>It gets one star to balance out all the good reviews, because this was just awful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2014

      Saved this recipe just today. Hubby's birthday inb June, so most likely will make one for him.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2014

      After reading the last review, I decided to use only one cup of water in the lemon filling. Also I submitted the lemon rind for 1/4 teaspoon lemon extract. I also used all 6 egg whites and added 1/4 more sugar. It turned out perfect. The only reason I didn't mark 5 stars is the tweaking I had to do with the lemon filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2014

      The merangue was fantastic but the lemon filling is very runny and I made the recipe exactly as written. Letdown. Obviously because of the runny filling the crust is a soggy mess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2014

      I had too many lemons to use up, and had just gotten some eggs from a friend's farm, so I decided to try this recipe. I didn't use a graham cracker crust, but a regular pastry crust. This recipe is now down as a favorite for my husband -- the filling was tart, and the meringue was fluffy but had a lot of body. Absolutely perfect!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2014

      My pie did not set up, even after I doubled the cornstarch, BUT I doubled the lemon juice and cut out some of the water (so the liquid ratio was the same) and added some extra sugar, which could have been the problem..who knows, it still tasted great. The five stars is for the crust. OMG, the crust! I didn't have graham crackers, so I used Nilla Wafers instead. Fantastic crust...the only recipe I'm going to use for my pies (well, most of them) from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2014

      Don't waste your time. If you follow the instructions for the filling it comes out like lemonade :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      I'm not an experienced cook, but I followed this recipe exactly as it said, and it comes out perfect. It can be a little tricky to get it down right the first time if you never made pie crust, filling, and meringue before like me. However, I have made it three times now and everyone keeps wanting me to make it again. It is gone pretty quick anytime I have made it. I may have to start making two pies to bring to family gatherings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Ultimate Lemon Meringue Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (195 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 476.3
     
    Calories from Fat 198
    41%
    Total Fat 22.0 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 168.8 mg
    56%
    Sodium 245.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 41.3 g
    165%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites