45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is heaven! We actually didn't have any mayo in the house, so I substituted sour cream, which really turbo-charged it up! We used a great whole-grain bread, and instead of buttering and frying it up put it in our sandwich toaster. Just 3 little words can describe this -- Oh My God!!!!

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj January 17, 2002

This is sooo good! I used a lovely crusty white loaf I got from the local bakery, they sliced it in to toast slices for me and was perfect for this recipe.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* April 03, 2002

I hardly ever make grilled cheese sandwiches but when the suggestion was made I checked Zaar and found this. How much better this is than "Wonder"bread and sliced packaged cheese!! Was enjoyed by all.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo July 25, 2002

This was very good. We used sourdough bread, but I think I would spread the mixture a little thinner next time. Most of it squooshed out when I tried to cut them.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceashel April 13, 2002

I loved the flavor, however the family members who didn't like garlic flavor want me to leave out the garlic powder next time. The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because I think the filling needs to be a thicker consistancy. The next time I try this I will reduce the mayo to be just slightly more than the cream cheese. Too much oozed out while eating.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DiAnna2 April 07, 2003

I liked this grilled cheese. I did add chopped jalapenos to mine before cooking for a little added kick. I also used a little mayo instead of butter on the outside to toast the sandwiches. My family however, thought these were to rich. I will make again for myself but will prepare regular grilled cheese for the rest of the family!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lsustacy February 16, 2010

This was the very first recipe I reviewed on 'Zaar back on Jan 7, 2002. Unfortunately, I didn't add any comments. This really is the ultimate grilled cheese. The combination of the different cheeses and the tanginess of the mayo turn an ordinary sandwhich into gourmet fare!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yooper November 14, 2003

I was careful to not spread this delicious mixture of cheese too near the edges of my bread. I used thick whole wheat bread and this sandwich was wonderful! Rich, so I won't make it too often, but what a treat!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 September 06, 2003

I consider myself to be a grilled cheese expert, and this is my new favorite way to prepare them. Instead of mixing the mayo in with the cream cheese, I spread the mayo on the outside of the bread which makes it fry up a lovely golden brown. I will be making this many more times. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie224 April 05, 2009

I have made this just as stated and with multi grain bread. I have also used sourdough cocktail breads as an appetizer (cut little sandwiches into triangles before serving). The recipe lends itself to experimentation. I have added finely diced onion, chopped sundried tomatoes, used a Mexican shredded cheese blend, and added ribbons of shaved ham. Overall, you can't go wrong with this grilled cheese. It is an excellent sandwich.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. November 27, 2003
The Ultimate Grilled Cheese