Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Ultimate French Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Ultimate French Bread

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2011

      This is a wonderful and easy recipe. I don't have a bread machine so I used my Kitchenaid mixer. I put everything in the bowl except the flour and let the yeast become active (when it bubbles) before adding the bread flour. I mixed it on low for 6 min. and then rolled it out as directed. Simple and comes out great every time. I have made it 3 times now and even sprinkled garlic powder inside with some melted butter. YUMMMM. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      True to its name. This is an excellent french bread we topped with garlic and cheese. It is super easy to make. This is truely the only French bread recipe you need. Throw all the others out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Wonderful! I used 1 packet fo yeast which was not quite 1 Tbsp. It worked fine. I did the crunchy crust glaze. It was great. I plan to make this again and get creative with it. Everyone needs to make this bread at least once. It uses simple ingredients and makes a great loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      OMGosh! Is there a 10 star option?! This is heavenly!!! I did the crunchy crust option...I already put another batch in the bread machine so we can have another loaf, cuz this one is going fast!!! UPDATE - made the version stuffed with melted butter and cheddar cheese...OMGosh!!! Wonderful!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      I have made this recipe many times now & it is a keeper for sure! I followed the directions for the "silky crust" glaze & love the result. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      This recipe is fast, easy and delicious. It does deserve the moniker of "Ultimate". I have made this one several times and it comes out perfect every time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This was a great bread, we topped it with bruschetta. It was a huge loaf but didn't take long to disappear. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I make my bread with a Kitchenaid mixer and doubled the recipe. I'm glad I did, because a good part of one loaf was gone before supper. One of my teen sons cut several pieces of the leftover bread and made "pizza bread" and was still thanking me the next day for making the recipe. This rose very nicely and has heavenly texture. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      This was my first attempt at french bread. It came out great!! I did the silky crust and added minced onions as suggested in a variation. So much better than the french bread from our Walmart Superstore. I'm making french onion soup tonight and can't wait to use it to top the soup with! Really easy to do to. Thanks a lot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      I'll add this to my list of the best French Bread that I've made. So easy to make and the flavor and texture are perfect. I made as directed, except I made 2 loaves. Brushed them with melted butter and sprinkled with kosher salt. Delicious. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      Fantastic recipe! We really enjoyed this bread. Dh was thrilled to death and kept telling me how wonderful it was and that I finally found a excellent recipe for french bread. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! It will now go into my family's favorite cookbook :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      This bread turned out wonderfully! I was a little wary because it didn't seem to have much too it, but wow is it good! I'm sure there won't be any leftovers!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      Excellent bread Debber! I made to go with Linda's New England Clam Chowder, and it was a great addition to a wonderful meal. We went through 2 loaves if that says anything! I will definately be making this again soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      Absolutely delicious bread and really easy to make with the bread machine! Haven't tried the variations, but will have to try them next time. This bread doesn't last long around here! My bread machine actually takes 1 1/2 hrs in the dough cycle, then I take it out and let it rise another hour after shaping, so it takes me about 2 1/2 hrs to make. Thanks for sharing your recipe! This will definitely be made often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      This was wonderful! I don't have a breadmaker, so I used my KitchenAid mixer. I did the soft crust glaze and it came out wonderfully! I used this to make Gooey Mozzarella-Garlic Bread. Awesome! Thanks, Debber!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      We never use the bread machine so this recipe fit the bill for my teenage daughter to provide the homemade bread for for thanksgiving dinner. We set on dough cycle and it read 2 hours on the timer but we were unsure when to take out - the machine beeped but also kept kneading and I am unsure how much longer it went before it stopped - there was still over an hour left on the timer I believe. The bread was fairly dense and heavy but was still enjoyed by all. She used the egg wash.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      I've had a bread machine for a few years, but have never used the method described in this recipe. I always thought making bread would be difficult, but to my surprise it was quite simple. And the bread turned out fantastic! Much better than bread baked in my machine. I'll be using this method from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      This was great! So easy to make and it rose like a dream. I have to get better on my shaping and pinching technique, but who cares what it looks like when it tastes soooo good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      I took the crush with butter to taste it cause it's late. It's delicious. The smell was amazing. Sorry for the bad photo. I didn't take time to do a glaze. And then I forgot to do it. Made for ZWT 3

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      Easy to make and tastes great ~ what more could you ask for? I used the soft crust glaze and am looking forward to trying the others. Thanks for posting!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Ultimate French Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 182.3
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    25%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 37.2 mg
    12%
    Sodium 365.5 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites