Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Ultimate Chicken Cozumel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Ultimate Chicken Cozumel

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2010

      This was easy and pretty good. I made it on the stove instead of the crockpot, and omitted the almonds and oil. Served over quinoa. Thanks for the simple recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      This is a nice, easy recipe with very litle effort. I just did this on the stove top because I don't have a crockpot, and I think it came out just fine. I just cooked things on higher heat for ~5-7 min and then let it simmer uncovered to reduce a bit for ~20 while I made salad/veggies. I did not add the water because my salsa seemed liquidy enough. I rolled the chicken/sauce in tortillas with a bit of sharp cheddar. I resisted adding green olives; some sliced avocado might also be good. But as is, it still made for nice, interesting flavors especially for something so easy. This would also be fun to try with different types of salsa.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      This was a very easy recipe and I actually made it into an OAMC recipe. I mixed everything but the nuts together put it in a zippy bag and froze it. I thawed it in the fridge overnight and cooked it in the microwave to heat it up. We had it on tortillas like tacos. It was a little sweet for my liking so I will have to tweak it a bit. But that is just a personal preferance and does not take away from the recipe itself. Very nice recipe. I will use it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      Loved it, except for the nuts. I shredded the chicken at the last 10 mins or so of cooking and served this over rice and the nuts were confusing to my mouth. I kept thinking the rice was undercooked! But overall the flavor was amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      I just had to write and say thank you so much for this recipe!! I made this yesterday exactly as you posted, although I used raisins instead of currents, but it was absolutely delicious!!! My husband Loved it, the kids chowed, and I have to say I was very impressed as well. I work from home, so I could smell it cooking all day, and I just couldn't wait to dive in and try it. I think it had a middle eastern flavor or indian flavor. but it was yummy. sorry, I don't mean to ramble on.... Thank you again for posting, I will be making this again, and again, and again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      Terrific flavor...don't leave out the nuts or the currants (raisins will work). They really give this dish depth in flavor and a wonderful burst of textures in your mouth. I doubled the recipe, but just used 2 cups of Herdez Medium Salsa (was afraid of too much liquid in the crock). Perfect spiciness for my family. Served with black beans, rice, mango slices and warm corn tortillas--took me back to my honeymoon in Cozumel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      Absolutely fantastic... easy to make but extremely impressive. My family love this, and my father in law said even he liked it (and that's saying a lot as he never comments on dinners). Thank you for sharing this, I've made it several times now and its definitely a favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      Good taste, but I had trouble with the cooking instructions. I expected it to fill my crockpot more, but when all was ready it didn't look like much in my 6qt. crockpot. I made the full recipe and I think that it really only serves about 4. I served it over rice. Also I cooked it 2 hours on high (because of time constraints) and 3 hours on low, and the chicken was too dry. I may try again, with the necessary adjustments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      This was marvelous. As others said, complex flavors and yet still mexican based. This will be one of my frequent recipes. Made for Pick A Chef fall 2007. So glad you were my baby Auntie mags! A suggestion to cooks following me. After enjoying my first taste of it in a tortilla, i realized my salsa was mild so i added a chipotle chili in adobo..and forgot to deseed it b4 chopping. Owwww. i like heat but i somehow turned up the scale to a 10 :) I am now working at getting it back to where it was lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2007

      This is one of the best crock pot recipes because it has such a complexity of rich flavour despite being so quick and easy to throw together. The currants, cinnamon, honey plus the salsa and garlic make for a multi-layered flavour that could be Greek as well as Caribbean. (It reminded me a little of Greek stifado...) I left out the oil altogether and I did use currants (easily found in England) and I served it over plain couscous. Thanks v much Auntie Mags!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      Loved this. I used rasins (like everyone else) and no almonds. I didn't exactly measure everything and added some dried oregano to the mix since I think it goes well with these ingredients. I also used boneless, skinless, chicken thighs since I had them on hand. We felt it was missing something so next time I plan to add some chopped green, pimiento stuffed olives since the flavors seem very Cuban to us. Nice dish, since I made rice last night we had it with cornbread and black beans. I plan to have the leftovers in a tortilla for lunch 2morrow. Love the flavors, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      Very interesting dish, Auntie Mags! I have to admit that I had a few adjustments to make. When I got home I found that I didn't have any salsa.....so I made my own. Also found that I had almonds but not sliced so I had to cut the whole almond in half. As I wanted to make this for supper, the crockpot idea was out...so I let everything simmer for about an hour in the frying pan. All of this worked very well. Served it over wild rice. Hubby gobbled up a huge plateful and I managed to wolf down a fair bit too! I'll make this one again as I love the nuts, raisons (no currents) cinnamon and salsa combinations ! Great Work ! Thanks again !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      The flavors in this dish are very good. I used raisins instead of currents and I didn't put the slivered almonds in the pot(I have a picky eater) but I garnished with toasted sliced almonds. Perfect. Served over couscous. Oh, I used 1 1/2 pounds of chicken and cooked it for 4 hours on low.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2006

      Very easy recipe to make and tasty! I used raisins instead of currants and served with brown rice. Nice combination of flavors, very tropical. Thank you Auntie Mags!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Ultimate Chicken Cozumel

    Serving Size: 1 (128 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.2
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    27%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 45.6 mg
    15%
    Sodium 441.4 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 9.1 g
    36%
    Protein 20.4 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes