Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Traditional Saudi Kabssah Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Traditional Saudi Kabssah

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 13, 2009

      Good stuff, 4 1/2 stars. I used chicken breasts in replacement of the whole chicken. I put about 1/4 the amount of ground ginger as it seemed it would be too much for us. I also cut down the cinnamon a tiny bit. I used just tomato paste and water as I didn't have any fresh tomatoes. After adding the chicken to the tomato sauce I threw in a couple handfuls of frozen green peas that needed to be used up. I drizzled additional olive oil on the chicken before broiling it. You must use the right amount of rice for the amount of broth. I would suggest to serve this with a yogurt salad and maybe a green salad as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

    • on May 28, 2008

      We didn't just like it, we loved it! Only things I did differently was to skin the chicken, and add some yams to the rice. All of that wonderful liquid was soaked up. Probably no longer traditional though ;-) Served with a cucumber/yogurt salad and got rave reviews from hubs. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      Salam, Chef Moody! We have a young man from Saudi Arabia visiting us, and he has been asking me to make Kabssah for him. We tried this recipe tonight and all liked it very much. I had a little trouble following the directions when I got to step 5, because it wasn't clear to me that the broth I had braised the chicken in was what I was supposed to use to cook the rice, and I had way too much water left in the pot. We improvised by using rice cooker for the rice, boiling down the broth while the chicken browned, then returned the boned and skinned chicken to the broth for a few more minutes. We served the chicken and broth over the rice, and it worked out pretty well. We served it with #186871, Cilantro Yoghurt, and it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      This was a simple meal to prepare, but had very distinct flavor! The addition of the cinnamon really sets it apart from typical chicken dishes. Thanks for this taste of Saudi cuisine, Chef Moody!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      this is a good simple kabsah recipe.. rule I go by is 1 cup of raw rice to 2 cups of liquid.. So measure your liquid after removing the chicken.. Id say for this recipe, 2 cups of rice and top off the liquid to make 4 cups, which will yield enough rice for a family of 6, several good portions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      Fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      this is a great recipe but for those making it for the first time - i think it would help if the quantities of rice etc were a bit more exact.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2006

      I loved this recipe. Very easy to make and extremely tasty to eat!!! Can't wait to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Traditional Saudi Kabssah

    Serving Size: 1 (442 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 823.0
     
    Calories from Fat 543
    66%
    Total Fat 60.3 g
    92%
    Saturated Fat 16.1 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 243.8 mg
    81%
    Sodium 297.7 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 58.8 g
    117%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites