Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Texas Squealer Burger Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Texas Squealer Burger

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2011

      Great burgers! The bacon added a ton of taste. I used 2.25 lbs of ground beef and placed a slice of cheddar cheese in the middle of each burger but kept everything else the same. I chopped the bacon at room temperature and it was a little hard to work with. Maybe if it was partially frozen it would have been easier to chop. I also tossed my burgers in the freezer for about 30 min. before grilling which does help them hold together. Moist, smoky, and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      Hubby grilled these on the charcoal grill and they were fantastic. I loved the extra smoky flavor from the bacon. They aren't low cal, but hey...most really good things aren't. LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      we used kitchen scissors to cut up the bacon - super easy! these are great left over burgers for lunch the next day. next time we are going to lightly freeze some cheese and make these stuffed burgers! The whole family will show up for that bbq - its a crowd pleaser. oink oink hurray :)!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2012

      A terrific recipe resulting in a delicious, juicy burger cooked on a charcoal grill. My only change: I partially cooked the diced bacon, also on the grill but on aluminum foil. Then I added that bacon to the ground beef. Without that step, I found the bacon to be a bit rubbery and pale in appearance inside the patties after they were cooked. Of course, cheese was added near the end of grilling. I also toast the buns near the end of cooking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2012

      These were the best grilled burgers, EVER!!!! The trick here is obviously the bacon, which leaves them juicy, moist and flaverful, even heated up the next day. I only used four slices of bacon, but it was good Nueske's bacon. Very smokey. Also used a little less grill seasoning to cut back on the salt and I didn't have dried onion but used regular onion minced very, very fine. 1/4 cup of Worchestershire seemed like a lot to me, so only used about half that amount. I can't believe how good these were and can't wait to make them again very soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      Outstanding

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      These are the BEST burgers I've ever tasted! We've had them 3 times in the last 2 weeks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2014

      Exceptional. Thought it wouldn't be Texas without some jalepenos, so added 1/2 cup chopped. And used pepper jack cheese. Husband raved, best burgers ever.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2014

      I'm confused ? Why not cook the bacon when you make burgers and just lay slices on top ? This would insure bacon was crispy and eliminate the tedious task of chopping it up. The secret to a good burger is the meat. If the meat is good the flavor stands on it's own without flavor enhancements. Fresh sliced onions on top of the burger is another way to take the taste to a new level. This time of year Vadelia is the way to go.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2012

      These are great! I precooked the bacon a bit first to make sure it was done. I didn't have any problems getting my burgers to hold together.....they disappeared fast! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      We made these the other night and just loved 'em. Its true they even taste great the next day cold !!! I made the burgers pretty big so you were lucky to finish 1 let alone 2. I had some sweet vadalia onion left and put that in instead of the dried onion...melt some cheese on top and you're good to go !!! The part about putting them in the freezer before putting them on the grill was right on too really holds them together nicely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2012

      Good but too salty! If I make these again, I will cut down on the Worcestershire sauce to one tablespoon, and also cut down on the bacon. A great idea, thanks for posting, MacChef!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      this was the best burger i ever made i cooked them on a george foreman lean mean fat grilling machine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2013

      Made these this past weekend for Father's Day and the bacon added so much flavor to the burgers. I didn't use quite as much bacon as it called for because once I began adding it in it looked like 12 would've been entirely too much. I probably added about 7 pieces. Great burgers with a good kick of flavors!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2013

      These were a big hit with the family yesterday. I decided to use this recipe to ring in the bbq season and was not disappointed! My son said this is his new favorite recipe that I make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

      Great recipe!! Excellent burger!! Yummie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      Very Good! Everyone loved em!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      So great. Made these for father's day this year and they were a real hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2012

      These were very good even though I did not have the McCormicks Mesquite. I had to use fresh onion, I just minced them very small. The bacon made these very juicy. It was a little hard to cut up the bacon into very small pieces. My B/F was worried about pieces of bacon fat not cooking, but this was not a problem. I will try freezing the bacon for 20 mins next time before I cut it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2012

      Yeehaw! Even though I'm normally Louisiana humble, I'm temporarily Texas proud. A delicious burger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Texas Squealer Burger

    Serving Size: 1 (106 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 375.1
     
    Calories from Fat 269
    71%
    Total Fat 29.9 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 11.1 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 91.4 mg
    30%
    Sodium 322.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 21.5 g
    43%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes