18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I agree word to word with Moxie on this. This really is magical! I used this on a silver Lord Ganesha idol. This idol is a very intricately designed one and I always had trouble cleaning the very intricate and delicate patterns on this. But with this great recipe, I did not have to scrub or rub AT ALL and yet even the tiniest intricate portion of the idol was clean! Another plus point of this is that my hands did not smell AT ALL unlike when I use the silver polish to clean my silver. Moreover, this costs peanuts in comparison to the silver polish at the supermarket. The results of this are really awesome. I wish I had tried this earlier, months and years back. I am so happy with this recipe!! Thanks alot for sharing:)

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani March 21, 2003

What a great trick (and healthy for the environment!) It does put a nice shine on the silver. I did find I still needed to do a little polishing with a towel to get the silver sparkling, and it took a couple of baking-soda baths to remove some stubborn tarnish. But overall, this is a great tip. Thanks so much for sharing it.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moxie February 05, 2003

It's a bit messy - but is sure beats that smelly jar of cleaner that is recommended that you use for the same purpose. Also baking soda doesn't dry out your hands like the jar version does. (I know you are supposed to wear gloves, but I can't. I need to be able to feel what I am doing) I also looked at the price on the jar version - and if you don't want to waste your money - I highly recomment this!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimi Bobeck February 10, 2003

Wow!!! It has worked so great on some silver cutlery I had. And oh so effortless!!! Thanks for the great tip and this is something that I will tell my family members about.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisy M March 04, 2004

I can finally start wearing my silver jewelry again! I had to buff a little with a cloth, but overall it was a terrific techinque.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee January 25, 2004

Worked fine, I too had to do a little polishing but it got down in the grooves of some jewelery that was beginning to look antiqued, lol. Be sure and wash well after so you do not leave a residue.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff January 13, 2004

Fabulous! I lined my sink instead of a pot....I was AMAZED at how quickly the tarnish just disappeared!!! I will never polish silver again! Thank You!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canarygirl October 30, 2003

My braclet was especially tarnished. I used this method three times before most of the tarnish disolved. I still had to polish a little. It did save some labor, but I thought it might work better (due to the many positive reviews).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. October 24, 2003

Great trick! I cleaned a very old, very dirty Indian Squash Blossom necklace and it looks wonderfully new.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in AZ June 22, 2003

This worked great. I used it on a silver necklace that I have that I haven't worn in years because I couldn't get it clean and now it is sparkling beautifully! Thanks for the great idea.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babs in Toyland May 15, 2003
The Smart Girl's Way to Clean Silver