Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Smart Girl's Way to Clean Silver Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Smart Girl's Way to Clean Silver

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2003

      I agree word to word with Moxie on this. This really is magical! I used this on a silver Lord Ganesha idol. This idol is a very intricately designed one and I always had trouble cleaning the very intricate and delicate patterns on this. But with this great recipe, I did not have to scrub or rub AT ALL and yet even the tiniest intricate portion of the idol was clean! Another plus point of this is that my hands did not smell AT ALL unlike when I use the silver polish to clean my silver. Moreover, this costs peanuts in comparison to the silver polish at the supermarket. The results of this are really awesome. I wish I had tried this earlier, months and years back. I am so happy with this recipe!! Thanks alot for sharing:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2003

      What a great trick (and healthy for the environment!) It does put a nice shine on the silver. I did find I still needed to do a little polishing with a towel to get the silver sparkling, and it took a couple of baking-soda baths to remove some stubborn tarnish. But overall, this is a great tip. Thanks so much for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      It's a bit messy - but is sure beats that smelly jar of cleaner that is recommended that you use for the same purpose. Also baking soda doesn't dry out your hands like the jar version does. (I know you are supposed to wear gloves, but I can't. I need to be able to feel what I am doing) I also looked at the price on the jar version - and if you don't want to waste your money - I highly recomment this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2004

      Wow!!! It has worked so great on some silver cutlery I had. And oh so effortless!!! Thanks for the great tip and this is something that I will tell my family members about.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2004

      I can finally start wearing my silver jewelry again! I had to buff a little with a cloth, but overall it was a terrific techinque.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2004

      Worked fine, I too had to do a little polishing but it got down in the grooves of some jewelery that was beginning to look antiqued, lol. Be sure and wash well after so you do not leave a residue.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2003

      Fabulous! I lined my sink instead of a pot....I was AMAZED at how quickly the tarnish just disappeared!!! I will never polish silver again! Thank You!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2003

      My braclet was especially tarnished. I used this method three times before most of the tarnish disolved. I still had to polish a little. It did save some labor, but I thought it might work better (due to the many positive reviews).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2003

      Great trick! I cleaned a very old, very dirty Indian Squash Blossom necklace and it looks wonderfully new.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2003

      This worked great. I used it on a silver necklace that I have that I haven't worn in years because I couldn't get it clean and now it is sparkling beautifully! Thanks for the great idea.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2003

      Hey there-I thought it was great! My silver braceletts are clean, shinny and look great. It was fast, totally inexpensve and my only complaint, if you want to call it that, is it smells slightly of boiled eggs-whoopte-doo! Great trick, thanks so much for sharing! Di ;-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      This is awesome. Just tried this out to clean silver idols and the results were FABULOUS! So so easy ....... Thanks heaps Miss Wombat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      I always disliked cleaning silver because I did not like the feel of the chemicals on my skin. This works perfectly except I did have to rub a cloth over the tarnished areas. It wasn't a scrub, just a rub. Thank you for posting this "recipe" it makes my life a little simpler.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      This is so neat. I had a couple of braclets my DH gave me that I haven't worn in a few years because they were tarnished but no more. I'm sitting here with both of them on again. Thanks for this tip and I'm sure I will be using it alot from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      I needed to un-tarnish something quick for tomorrow. This worked! Mine were little things with VERY CHEAP silver plating, I had to use a little toothbrush at the end, but it came out very nice...see pics.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Wow!! Used this to clean my grandmas silverware. Will try this on 2 serving trays next.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2005

      Lined my sink to clean silver cutlery. No hard work at all...LOL :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2005

      I actually lined my sink with the foil so I could do alot at one time and also a couple of larger items. (See photo) It worked well and quickly. I turned some of my larger pieces over and added more hot water rather than trying to cover the whole piece with water. Thanks for this great tip Missy Wombat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Smart Girl's Way to Clean Silver

    Serving Size: 1 (1 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites