Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Secret to Perfect Gyoza N Pot Stickers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Secret to Perfect Gyoza N Pot Stickers

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 19, 2013

      I'm so happy with how these turned out. I added more veggies to the filling, grated carrot, minced jalapeno, chopped mushroom. Love the technique of mixing by hand. It made the filling so much easier to handle than other recipes I've tried. I agree with others there was an issue of sticking, so I think its important to gently remove them from the pan after steaming, empty the water, add oil to the pan and then put the little stickers back in to finish cooking. I had forgotten how much work these are and regretted that I had begun making them about a 1/4 of the way in to assembling them. As soon as I took my first bite, I knew it was worth all that work. Thanks for posting the recipe. It'll be my "go to" post sticker recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      I just returned from a trip to Japan for my sons wedding. I made these for a party and they were better than we had in a Japanese restaurant. I made the sauces recommended, firecracker sauce and plum sauce. They were delicious, though not authentic to what we were served in Japan. Will make these again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      Came out far better than I expected. They did stick a little during the steaming stage but not enough to make too much of a difference. The end result was perfect, golden, and delicious :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      These were incredible and so simple. This was my first try at homemade Gyoza. I will never buy store made again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      love it the secret is hot water >YESSSSS then pan frying ive been doing it wrong for years thank you.... Freinds were inpressed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      Hmm, lovely, wonderfully tasty recipe, but I do know why they are called 'potstickers' now!!!! As soon as I drained the water and put the dumplings back on the heat, they glued themselves to the bottom of my regular skillet. I don't own nonstick cookware, so that isn't an option. Perhaps if I dump the gyoza into a colander, add oil to the pan to coat, and then drop in the dumplings again? In any case, I'll have a chance to try something again. I doubled the recipe, made and cooked about 20, and then I made the rest and frozen them. So... now I have to figure out how to get from frozen to cooked. Oh, and simple sauce to accompany the gyoza: 2 parts soy sauce to one part rice vingear with sesame oil or hot chili oil to taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      I had the same trouble Transylmania did.. I used a non-stick skillet but they stuck so bad that many of them ripped open making a huge mess :-( HOWEVER they tasted great :-) and they ARE called Pot Stickers for a reason I assume *laugh*. I served them with a rice vinegar/soy dipping sauce! Yumm!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      I have been living in Japan for almost 15 years and a big gyoza fan but never attempted them at home. I made them tonight and they turned out perfectly. Moreover, my wife (who is Japanese) couldn't believe the results, especially since it is traditional to fry gyoza first and steam afterward. Non-stick pans seemed to be the right tool for the job. I agree with the critical timing for the steaming but fry the gyoza until it is the correct level of browning and crispiness. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      These were a disaster for me. I don;t know if I used the wrong kind of pan or something but all they did was stick to the point where they weer unsalvageable. I was so excited when I saw this recipe because I have been dumplings for a few years now and wanted to perfect them. Guess I'll stay with my old recipe. Giv e more precise directions because these did nothing more than stick and burn for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      Absolutely 5 stars, these were perfect! I made them in advance and froze them, then reheated them in the oven, DH likes them better like that! (Crispy!) I did fry them longer than a minute, I didn't know if that meant both sides? And I needed a nonstick pan and sometimes they stuck after the steaming, I cooked them in batches and did all the steaming first. I used 500g mince and made about 60 for my Japanese style cocktail party. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      These were amazing! 5++++ stars. The sauces I served them with put the whole combo as my top pick for ZWT II. Firecracker Sauce #168473 and Easy Plum sauce #172468. Here's why I loved these so much...of course they tasted fabulous, in addtition, I loved that I learned a new technique which the recipe provides. I loved that my DH and I made them together, what man (or child) doesn't love to "wrap" up food. They were fun to make! I loved that I could grind my own pork in my cuisinart, so the dish was not expensive. Being a fairly novice cook, here is a tip for other beginners. The only challenge I had was the gyoza sticking to my pan...luckily I made 2 batches and could experiment. I put the first batch of the gyoza uncooked into a dry pan and then added water per instructions...after draining the water, here's the "must" do...gently unstick the gyoza from the pan, add the oil and heat and then place the gyoza back in the pan. Didn't do that with the first batch, just added oil without unsticking the gyoza and I desroyed the gyoza because they stuck to the pan, the oil never really got under them. My next batch turned out perfect! Thanks so muh tunasushi, these are now a family favorite!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      Marvelous! I served these with Aloo Matar Ka Pulao ( Indian Rice With Potatoes and Peas ) Aloo Matar Ka Pulao ( Indian Rice With Potatoes and Peas ). I took major care in wrapping these beauties. Let me just say these are worth the effort. I love the flavor the sake adds to the mix, as silly as it sounds, I would've never thought to add it to the mix. Great eats, tunasushi!! I will make these again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      Lovely recipe and great instructions for perfect gyoza! I've made these a few times this week and they have worked perfectly every time. Make a whole lot and freeze what you don't use for an hour or so on a tray covered with cling wrap, then bag 'em up and freeze til you need a yummy snack! I served these with the dipping sauce from my zhong dumplings and also the gyoza dipping sauce from the Wagamama cookbook, which is the best 'soy-vinegar' sauce I've ever tasted! Thanks for your excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      Yes!! These ARE perfect!! I made these tonight exactly as written, and Tunasushi?? They are delicious!! I served them with home made plum sauce for dipping and they were devoured. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Secret to Perfect Gyoza N Pot Stickers

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 101.2
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    69%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 24.0 mg
    8%
    Sodium 131.5 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes