11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful salad!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mactastic1 June 27, 2010

I love this. So simple and refreshing. Bravo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LWA says January 09, 2010

Very yummy and fresh tasting salad!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ms.susan November 12, 2008

This is the greatest salad process! Thank you so much. I smash the garlic, and place it in the oil for just a while then discard the garlic. The oil takes on a garlic flavor, but doesn't leave a garlic taste for the rest of the evening. I will use this method for other dressings . Thanks so much again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart Too April 03, 2008

Defiantly a hit! Added cucumbers and homemade croutons (#36134). Looking forward to making again. Thanks for sharing your recipe and technique. Menu #9281

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruby15 September 24, 2007

WOW! Thank you for the education on how to make a good salad, not only was this a great simple salad but I can apply these lessons to other salads I make. I usually put additional salad ingredients to make the salad edible but with this recipe, the greens were delicious and did not need other items. Thank you, thank you...5 stars is not enough!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AttempttoChef August 17, 2007

I made this as first course for dinner and what a wonderful salad this is! I took a tip from Mirj and toasted some walnuts (I didn't have pine nuts Mirj) and topped the salad with them. The lemon, garlic and olive oil are classic and with very good reason. I used mixed baby lettuce that was crisp fresh and a dash of Louisiana Hot Sauce. The chilled plates were lovely and I don't know why I have never bothered to do that at home before. Just great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia March 09, 2007

This technique works like a charm! Not sure I would ever dress any other home-made salad another way. I used a bag of baby greens and some crisp romaine lettuce from a salad bar (carefully dried). I included 1 teaspoon oil per person and even found some Jamaican Pickapeppa sauce in the grocery store. I added more lemon juice, and do not forget the salt and pepper (which I add to every salad I ever make or buy). We had enough room in the freezer to chill the salad plates. In my opinion this is also an excellent base for adding additional salad ingredients. I added some diced carrots and radishes which I had sitting in the fridge. This simple salad even made my BF sit up and take notice! Try this and you'll be very pleased.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend August 22, 2006

The salad was well seasoned, refreshing and very easy! The basic for every salad should start with the recipe. Ate as is and then I topped it with Sliced Avocados With Black-Olive Vinaigrette Avocado Fans With Black Olive Vinaigrette A must try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ January 23, 2006

As I was making this salad, I was thinking that there was no way I could eat it "as-is". Figured I'd need to add croutons, cheese, etc., but it absolutely didn't need it. I'm totally shocked, but I didn't mess with it at all and it was GREAT! Thanks for sharing this idea! (I bought pre-washed bagged mixed greens, so I didn't have to bother with that, but followed everything else.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= January 18, 2006
The Salad