Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Salad

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2010

      Wonderful salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      I love this. So simple and refreshing. Bravo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      Very yummy and fresh tasting salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      This is the greatest salad process! Thank you so much. I smash the garlic, and place it in the oil for just a while then discard the garlic. The oil takes on a garlic flavor, but doesn't leave a garlic taste for the rest of the evening. I will use this method for other dressings . Thanks so much again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Defiantly a hit! Added cucumbers and homemade croutons (#36134). Looking forward to making again. Thanks for sharing your recipe and technique. Menu #9281

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      WOW! Thank you for the education on how to make a good salad, not only was this a great simple salad but I can apply these lessons to other salads I make. I usually put additional salad ingredients to make the salad edible but with this recipe, the greens were delicious and did not need other items. Thank you, thank you...5 stars is not enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      I made this as first course for dinner and what a wonderful salad this is! I took a tip from Mirj and toasted some walnuts (I didn't have pine nuts Mirj) and topped the salad with them. The lemon, garlic and olive oil are classic and with very good reason. I used mixed baby lettuce that was crisp fresh and a dash of Louisiana Hot Sauce. The chilled plates were lovely and I don't know why I have never bothered to do that at home before. Just great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      This technique works like a charm! Not sure I would ever dress any other home-made salad another way. I used a bag of baby greens and some crisp romaine lettuce from a salad bar (carefully dried). I included 1 teaspoon oil per person and even found some Jamaican Pickapeppa sauce in the grocery store. I added more lemon juice, and do not forget the salt and pepper (which I add to every salad I ever make or buy). We had enough room in the freezer to chill the salad plates. In my opinion this is also an excellent base for adding additional salad ingredients. I added some diced carrots and radishes which I had sitting in the fridge. This simple salad even made my BF sit up and take notice! Try this and you'll be very pleased.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      The salad was well seasoned, refreshing and very easy! The basic for every salad should start with the recipe. Ate as is and then I topped it with Sliced Avocados With Black-Olive Vinaigrette Avocado Fans With Black Olive Vinaigrette A must try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      As I was making this salad, I was thinking that there was no way I could eat it "as-is". Figured I'd need to add croutons, cheese, etc., but it absolutely didn't need it. I'm totally shocked, but I didn't mess with it at all and it was GREAT! Thanks for sharing this idea! (I bought pre-washed bagged mixed greens, so I didn't have to bother with that, but followed everything else.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      Pine nuts! The only thing missing from this salad is pine nuts. I bought a 1/2 kilo bag of mixed baby greens, and since they were already washed and ready to go, didn't do the spinning thing. I have to admit, I also didn't put the plates in the freezer, there's no room in there, too many chickens and pitas. I don't have a clue what Pickapeppa sauce is, so I just added some local Moroccan hot sauce. We don't even own a garlic press, so I just smashed the cloves with the broad side of my chef's knife until it was totally mashed. And then came the pine nuts, I knew this would go great with pine nuts, gently toasted in a fry pan. Perfect, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (10 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 24.9
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    82%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mixed salad greens

    Pickapeppa Sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes