13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i have been looking for a recipe that is close to a local restruants. they call it thousand island but it is much closer to this. the restruant burned down 6 monthes ago and i have been searching ever since. this is yummy and will be a staple in my fridge!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimbearly October 12, 2002

EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! Don't even bother with the store-bought dressings. To make it low carb, I substituted in place of the chili sauce (which has lots of sugar or fructose) the Low Carb Ketchup Low Carb Ketchup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoyRyde53 January 26, 2010

I've never been to the Russian Tea Room, so don't know how authentic it is, but it is a very delicious dressing. Sweet, with just enough tang. Reminds me of Thousand Island dressing, but not as sweet. It is perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barenaked Chef August 10, 2014

Add this to a chopped rotisserie chicken and cooked penne pasta and you have California Chicken Cafe's Chicken Pasta dish. They do not give out their recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
apsws April 30, 2014

Great dressing. made for best of 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn February 01, 2013

Made as written whipping together my own chili sauce. Tested on mixed greens with bell pepper, frozen green peas and hard boiled egg. I couldn't tell the difference between this and Thousand Island. What [is] the difference? ;) Reviewed for Best of 2012

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl January 30, 2013

Made this delicious dressing to go on our Reuben sandwiches. It is absolutely perfect for these sandwiches and I am quite sure it would be fantastic on a salad. Will definitely keep this recipe handy. Thanks so much for the post!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry January 20, 2012

This was wonderful. Made as written, everyone in the house loved it. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madetobemagic71 April 29, 2009

I had to make this a few times, just to be sure it could be that good. It is. Nothing to change about it, will make over and over again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jockey February 12, 2008

The adults in my house loved this on sandwiches best. It needed a lot of milk to make it an acceptable salad dressing for us. Now I'm going to work on getting some of the salt out of it. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momof2redheads July 17, 2007
The Russian Tea Room Russian Dressing