Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Redneck's Best Caramels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Redneck's Best Caramels

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2009

      Just made a batch this evening and it's as easy to make as it mentions. Be sure to take it off the heat exactly at 247 as it says for a firm but chewy caramel. I generally prefer caramel with more of a nutty or burnt flavor as this is a fairly light caramel. Nonetheless, it's still a great recipe. I'm going to experiment starting out caramelizing some sugar initially to see how that alters the color and flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      Oh my goodness, I just made two batches of this caramel for caramel apples and it turned out fantastic. It is easy and tastes out of this world. Constant stirring and a heavy pan are the key. My apples are beautiful and the caramel set up so nicely on them. I could also use the caramel down to the bottom of the pan to coat the apples using a wooden spoon. I am very proud of them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      This caramel is so good and the perfect texture. It's smooth and chewy. I used this caramel for making homemade turtle brownies and turned out awesomely. I also use this for caramel apples. That workes great as well. Very yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2013

      This was my first attempt at making caramels, and so I burnt the first batch. Maybe my candy thermometer is off, but cooking to the temperature in the recipe resulted in a hard candy, similar to Werther's candy. My second attempt, I cooked til 234 degrees, and it was perfect! Chewy, fantastic caramels that tasted terrific. The ingredients and measurements produced a perfect flavor; kudos!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      This is a very good caramel recipe. It is a soft caramel so if you want it a little harder, cook a little longer. I added some sea salt to the top when it started hardening a little. I think I'll go with parchment or wax paper when I make them again as the foil stuck in creases butter didn't get to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      Relatively easy, and very tasty. I substituted honey for corn syrup and it worked perfectly! I sprinkled them with crunchy sea salt as they were cooling. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Took some time to get to 247, but its worth the wait. Nice creamy taste. I'm going to make coconut macaroons and put pieces of this caramel on them and drizzle with chocolate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      Made a batch of these for Christmas gifts. I flavored them with orange extract, orange peel and a little triple sec. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      I have tried several caramel recipes over the years and had almost given up on making them when i cam across this awesome recipe. They turned out perfect and I will make another batch tomorrow. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      These turned out beautifully! This will be my go-to recipe for caramels. They did take a bit of time to reach 248, but I had doubled the recipe. I am sending them to my brother for his birthday. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      I loved these caramels. They were so easy and taste great! Thanks for posting it, I made them for Christmas and even used some for making turtles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Redneck's Best Caramels

    Serving Size: 1 (846 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3138.9
     
    Calories from Fat 1603
    51%
    Total Fat 178.1 g
    274%
    Saturated Fat 111.4 g
    557%
    Cholesterol 611.2 mg
    203%
    Sodium 567.2 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 400.1 g
    133%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 312.4 g
    1249%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes