Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Real New York Bagel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Real New York Bagel Recipe

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 01, 2011

      I am hesitant to review this, mostly because I don't want anyone else to find it! These were Ah-mazing! I'm about as far from a NYer as you can get, but man if these are "wrong" I don't wanna be right! Yes, there are several steps, but none of them actually take very long, I easily prepared the dough while I was cooking dinner last night, formed them while DH cleaned up the kitchen, and they were ready for us to boil, bake, and DEVOUR this morning! Yum-o, thanks for helping me bring a little bit of NY to the middle of the country!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      My husband is from Brooklyn, and it has been impossible for him to find a bagel he likes. These were great, he pronounced them almost as good as home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      There's not enough reviews on this recipe so I thought I'd write one as well.
      Made these the other day and although they took a long while it was well worth it! Came out beautifully. Proper bagels! I plan on making these again in industrial quantities and freezing them as they don't seem to last very long!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside. This is truly the best bagel I've ever tried. Fantastic. Well worth the 1/2 day wait!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2012

      I made these this morning after suffering serious bagel withdrawals from my move from NY 10 years ago. These are the best I have found yet and likely will be even better with practice. The inside is a bit softer than a true NY bagel but that isn't a big deal to me. Thank you for this recipe I plan on making huge batches to share with my families.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2013

      I absolutely love these bagels. The waiting is the hardest part! They are chewy on the inside and just right on the outside. Add some cooked onions to the sponge to get an onion flavored bagel and reserve some of the cooked onions to top them off with! Amazing!!!<br/><br/>You definitely want to follow the instructions on spacing the bagels on the sprayed sheet pan. They do rise a little in the over night waiting period and if they end up touching you have to be really careful not to handle them too much or they will go flat. They still taste good though, but they will be more dense inside after cooking. Perfect for a bagel sandwich for lunch, though!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2013

      These were great. I left my sponge overnight and I wonder if that's why the hole would not stay in the middle? They were delicious. Everyone loved them. I'll probably be making these once a week for the foreseeable future. Nice and fluffy, not dense. Would definitely recommend!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      Oh my goodness!!! YUMMMM!!!! My husband is from NJ and has been craving "real" bagels for a very long time. I looked this recipe up and tried it... and, the verdict is in! He says they're the closest thing he has had to real NY bagels since living there! I'll take it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Real New York Bagel Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (159 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 409.5
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    18%
    Total Fat 8.4 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 859.9 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.0 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 12.1 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes