11 Reviews

My husband is from Brooklyn, and it has been impossible for him to find a bagel he likes. These were great, he pronounced them almost as good as home!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ORTNmom July 24, 2010

I am hesitant to review this, mostly because I don't want anyone else to find it! These were Ah-mazing! I'm about as far from a NYer as you can get, but man if these are "wrong" I don't wanna be right! Yes, there are several steps, but none of them actually take very long, I easily prepared the dough while I was cooking dinner last night, formed them while DH cleaned up the kitchen, and they were ready for us to boil, bake, and DEVOUR this morning! Yum-o, thanks for helping me bring a little bit of NY to the middle of the country!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MzRizz79 September 01, 2011

There's not enough reviews on this recipe so I thought I'd write one as well.
Made these the other day and although they took a long while it was well worth it! Came out beautifully. Proper bagels! I plan on making these again in industrial quantities and freezing them as they don't seem to last very long!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eri207 February 28, 2011

Crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside. This is truly the best bagel I've ever tried. Fantastic. Well worth the 1/2 day wait!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
silvied January 29, 2009

I made these this morning after suffering serious bagel withdrawals from my move from NY 10 years ago. These are the best I have found yet and likely will be even better with practice. The inside is a bit softer than a true NY bagel but that isn't a big deal to me. Thank you for this recipe I plan on making huge batches to share with my families.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooknin TN January 21, 2012

I absolutely love these bagels. The waiting is the hardest part! They are chewy on the inside and just right on the outside. Add some cooked onions to the sponge to get an onion flavored bagel and reserve some of the cooked onions to top them off with! Amazing!!!<br/><br/>You definitely want to follow the instructions on spacing the bagels on the sprayed sheet pan. They do rise a little in the over night waiting period and if they end up touching you have to be really careful not to handle them too much or they will go flat. They still taste good though, but they will be more dense inside after cooking. Perfect for a bagel sandwich for lunch, though!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gumbo1976 August 14, 2013

These were great. I left my sponge overnight and I wonder if that's why the hole would not stay in the middle? They were delicious. Everyone loved them. I'll probably be making these once a week for the foreseeable future. Nice and fluffy, not dense. Would definitely recommend!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zenboli July 22, 2013

Oh my goodness!!! YUMMMM!!!! My husband is from NJ and has been craving "real" bagels for a very long time. I looked this recipe up and tried it... and, the verdict is in! He says they're the closest thing he has had to real NY bagels since living there! I'll take it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kamnan February 26, 2012

This recipe is absolutely amazing - it's my go to! I work as a bread baker and my boss wanted a NY style bagel. I now use this recipe religiously, I triple the recipe. So happy with it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennasbakingblog March 18, 2016

All I can say is "wow". Being from nj trying to find a real bagel here is impossible. Making these were crispy and rewarding. I usually don't write reviews, but this couldn't be passed up. 5 stars for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerzgirl35 January 02, 2016
The Real New York Bagel Recipe