Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Real Deal New England Fish Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Real Deal New England Fish Chowder

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2009

      I made few changes to this chowder. Here they are: changed pepper to whole peppercorns, changed half water to good quality chicken stock, added bay leaf, and changed dried thyme to fresh.. Also added few carrots and celery stalk, and changed milk to light cream.. Results were good old fashion chowder.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      Loved this chowder but wanted to lower fat but keep flavor. I saut?ed the onions in olive oil, covered the 4 potatoes with 1can low salt chicken stock 1cup water. Made roux with 1/2 stick butter & 1/4 cup flour. Used 3 cups of Hood Simply Smart 1% milk which has the texture and taste of whole milk. Added 3 sliced scallions and 2Tbls fresh parsley when adding milk. Recipe now has perfect thickness and chowder texture with intense flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      Absolutely delicious! We ate it the day I made it and it turned out great. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      I couldn't get past using evaporated milk and felt there was just too much ground dried thyme. I may use fresh thyme instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      Yuck. I can tell by the picture the chowder has been thickened. In downeast Maine, fish chowder is not thickened and it is much better that way. Chowder is not supposed to be gooey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      This was fantastic and super easy. We ate it 15 min after I finished cooking and it was fabulous. I used Tilapia because I had it on hand. I only had one can of evaporated milk, so I used a can of condensed cream of mushroom soup and I used a little vegetable "Better Than Bouillon" in my stock water. This is a keeper--husband loved it and I would make it for company!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      I'm not a Mainiac, but I grew up in Boston and lived there for about 22 years, so I guess I count as a New Englander ... fabulous, authentic recipe! I've loved Cape Cod chowders, as well as Maine chowders and I'm a fan of Jasper White and the recipes in his "Fifty Chowders" book and at Summer Shack. This will become my standard "at home" recipe, just as it stands. Thanks for posting and for the variations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      I have been trying to find the right fish chowder recipe for years. My family begged me not to try anymore because it was always "icky" and "gross". This tasted just like I remembered from our Maine trip years ago. Terrific. The evaporated milk worked perfect. It was creamy, yet it didn't taste like evaporated milk. You have given me confidence. I think I'll try it with the clams next time. This soup will definitely go into rotation with my other soup recipes. Thanksabunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      Cooked this up last night for dinner and my DH said this was a repeater! The only thing I added not in the recipe is a little cayenne pepper. After all, we live in Texas! Wonderful - thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      Just as the name says, this is the Real Deal fish chowder! I've lived in Maine a long time, so I've sampled lots of chowders here and this recipe ranks right up there. There are 2 things worth noting: 1) the amount of chowder you end up with is dependent on how many potatoes you start with -- you can end up with enough chowder to feed an army if you start with lots of potatoes; 2) if you're new to chowder you might not realize that you don't need to cut up the fish when you put it in -- just dump in the entire fillet and the chowder will take care of the rest. You'll believe that I'm a Mainer when I tell you I used hake (as in "numb as a hake")!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Real Deal New England Fish Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (288 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 376.5
     
    Calories from Fat 156
    41%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 73.5 mg
    24%
    Sodium 204.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 18.3 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites