Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Recipes / *the Real* Black Tie Mousse Cake by Olive Garden Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    *the Real* Black Tie Mousse Cake by Olive Garden

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2012

      By the way, Olive Garden's Black Tie Mousse Cake is the best dessert I've ever eaten, hands down! I'm going to bring this to our company's Thanksgiving luncheon.

      A "cheesecake pan" is actually called a "springform" pan, which is what you always make cheesecakes in and mine is 9" in diameter. Also, I always cover the OUTSIDE of my springform pan (bottom of the pan and a little bit up on the sides) with aluminum foil, so there is no leakage while baking.

      Anyway, someone wrote that the recipe was hard to follow, and I think they may be referring to the "custard" layer (that's the only part where went "what?"). Anyway, see below what I added to the recipe in ALL CAPS so it makes more sense.

      "Beat egg yolks until pale. Add sugar, flour, and gelatin, then beat until mixed. Bring cream and vanilla extract to a boil. Add a small amount of cream to egg mixture while stirring. Gradually add ALL OF THE CREAM AND VANILLA EXTRACT MIXTURE TO THE EGG MIXTURE until all of the cream has been added and then pour entire mixture through a strainer into the pan ON THE STOVE THAT CONTAINS THE CREAM AND VANILLA MIXTURE. THEN, continue to cook until custard begins to thicken. Cool slightly, then pour on top of the chocolate mousse layer and freeze while getting the fourth layer ready.

      I hope this helps!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2011

      The best dessert recipe I've tasted. Time consuming, but easy. The second time I made it, I doubled the cream cheese and chocolate chips for the second layer and it made it more like a cheesecake layer. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2013

      The recipe is time and dish intensive, but the cake is delicious. I have a question regarding the fourth layer. How much of the 18 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate chips goes into the cream and butter mixture and how much goes on the side? I ended up melting all the chocolate chips and ended up with way too much icing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2013

      Delicious! But i recommend to make double or even triple batch of 2nd layer, then you will get it to be like an inch high. The amount of products in recipe for second and third layers are not sufficient to make a nice high cake, like on picture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2012

      this recipe was very confusing and hard to follow.... there are parts missing and u have to figure out what it is telling u to do....mine turned out very good but not at all how it is supose to look....

      to the one who put this on her, u need to delete and try again!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2011

      I made this for an Easter gathering at my house. This turned out better than I had expected but it was very time consuming (luckily I made it the day before and just kept it in the fridge). I had trouble with the custard layer because I didn't read the directions in advance and had to start that part over. This cake does taste like the original one at Olive Garden. I will definitely make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      This cake was a delicous learning experience! I am a very novice baker and ran into a few problems. The bottom layer was a bit too small for my cheesecake pan; the mousse was not as high a volume as the picture; cooked the 1st custard batch too long and it separated and I could not get the first batch of white chocolate chips to melt without burning. Lol!
      However, I was finally able to make it, and it is GOOD. I am going to make this again for sure, and next time will use a larger cake pan and hopefully will be able to get the mousse a bit more fluffy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      This was so much fun to make, and now i dont have to go out to eat it. It was sooooo good. The only problem is that i have no idea what size pan to use, so mine came out a little short.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      This is very good. I made a homemade chocolate cake and put it in two different cheesecake pans. (I figured it's just as easy to make two cakes as one...and I remembered from last year that this goes FAST) (it ran a bit out of one of them, so I put a pan under it as they cooked.)
      I forgot the gelatin in step two (but not in step three) and it turned out fine.
      This is a delicious (if very time-consuming) cake.
      You may want to consider doing steps one and two on one day, and steps three and four the next!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      I made this for a new years party. It got a few compliments, but I personally didn't really enjoy it as much as I'd hoped. Instead of a boxed cake mix I made 1/2 recipe of Sue B's Chocolate Cake --using 2 oz. semi sweet chocolate and 1 Tbsp. cocoa and reducing the oil by a couple Tbsps. and it made a perfect bottom layer (plus no left over cake). I made the other layers exactly as stated. It was very rich and I think it makes WAY too much chocolate ganache...that layer was too thick in my opinion and I didn't even use all of it. I would halve that part if making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      I've never had Olive garden's version but this one was amazing. Perfect for a candlelight dinner I planned for my husband and I

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      Best copycat of Olive Garden's Black Tie that I've ever tried. This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing! I used a little more cake for the bottom layer, only because that's my favorite layer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for *the Real* Black Tie Mousse Cake by Olive Garden

    Serving Size: 1 (249 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1191.1
     
    Calories from Fat 753
    63%
    Total Fat 83.7 g
    128%
    Saturated Fat 47.4 g
    237%
    Cholesterol 248.5 mg
    82%
    Sodium 555.8 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 112.9 g
    37%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    21%
    Sugars 84.8 g
    339%
    Protein 11.2 g
    22%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites