14 Reviews

This is the Queen of Hearts writing. I am using V'nut's account. The tarts are very easy to make. A little buttery to some but still very nice. I used a small cutter so got about 24 tarts. A nice mouthful. I used Smuckers and St. Dalfour's jams. Very good recipe. Keeper. If anyone doesn't like it, then off with their heads!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
V'nut-Beyond Redemption December 05, 2009

These tarts were very simple and quick to put together. I used homemade raspberry jam and little 4 inch fluted round tart pans, I only made 6 tarts, but had I not been so close to going to bed I would have gotten 7 or 8, plus the little hearts to go on top. The bakery I used to work at always used short dough(basically roll-out butter cookie dough) for EVERY stinkin' tart shell, It would have been nice to use this classic, crisp and flakey crust for franjipan and the custard filled tarts especially...or anything really =) Can't wait to do fall themed tarts with pumpkin butter and tiny pumpkins on top! Thank you for sharing this recipe, its a classic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shelteredcreature March 26, 2013

good and easy to make

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Everything Sweet July 06, 2012

YUM! and suprisingly easy! I didin't have tart tins so I just made them like flat biscuits with the jam and little hearts on top. The shortcrust pastry was divine. Needed a bit more cooking time in my oven though. I also ate one before they were dusted in caster sugar, and this was good too... so perhaps the extra calories aren't essential.. Next time I'll have to double the recipe - hubby and I ate them in one hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bzi February 13, 2010

Beautiful little jam tarts for Valentine's Day!! I made these to freeze 'til next week for a Valentine Tea and for FT's Afternoon Tea Event in the photo forum and our Valentine's event. I made them in my mini muffin pan and got 32 tiny cute tarts! I keep butter in the freezer and when I make this kind of pastry I grate it frozen into the flour, makes a lovely short pastry. I used home made strawberry jam and had to get them into the freezer quickly cus DH kept stealing them!! Thanks FT, they are a perfect one bite sweet for Valentines!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf February 06, 2010

I used purchased pie crust dough for this, so I can't really rate it with stars, but did want to mention that these little gems were a hit at our party! I used raspberry preserves in half and lemon curd in the other half. They were easy to make, beautiful on the tray, and deeeeelicious. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linorama October 13, 2009

I made these for my parents' 20th anniversary with raspberry jam. They loved them! Thanks for posting this, I'll definately make them again sometime!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dasbuchmeister July 01, 2009

How cute are these!? I used blackberry jam, raspberry preserves & lemon curd. We devoured the 18 I made. Okay, we only devoured 15, cause the first 3 that went out for the photo shoot I accidentally dumped tea all over. lol I have a mini tart pan & the smallest heart cutter I had was 1.5 inches so the hearts were a tad too large, IMHO. I used the 2.5 inch scalloped biscuit cutter for the tart shells, which was a perfect size for those. I'll keep my eyes open for an even smaller heart cutter. This will be very impressive on a dessert tray for all kinds of holidays. Thanks for sharing, FT! :) Made for your farewell in Holiday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** July 01, 2009

We loved these. My eight year old sun said it deserved 52 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nugs7575 July 01, 2009
The Queen of Hearts - Valentine's Jam Tarts