Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Queen of Hearts - Valentine's Jam Tarts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Queen of Hearts - Valentine's Jam Tarts

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2009

      This is the Queen of Hearts writing. I am using V'nut's account. The tarts are very easy to make. A little buttery to some but still very nice. I used a small cutter so got about 24 tarts. A nice mouthful. I used Smuckers and St. Dalfour's jams. Very good recipe. Keeper. If anyone doesn't like it, then off with their heads!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      These tarts were very simple and quick to put together. I used homemade raspberry jam and little 4 inch fluted round tart pans, I only made 6 tarts, but had I not been so close to going to bed I would have gotten 7 or 8, plus the little hearts to go on top. The bakery I used to work at always used short dough(basically roll-out butter cookie dough) for EVERY stinkin' tart shell, It would have been nice to use this classic, crisp and flakey crust for franjipan and the custard filled tarts especially...or anything really =) Can't wait to do fall themed tarts with pumpkin butter and tiny pumpkins on top! Thank you for sharing this recipe, its a classic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      good and easy to make

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      YUM! and suprisingly easy! I didin't have tart tins so I just made them like flat biscuits with the jam and little hearts on top. The shortcrust pastry was divine. Needed a bit more cooking time in my oven though. I also ate one before they were dusted in caster sugar, and this was good too... so perhaps the extra calories aren't essential.. Next time I'll have to double the recipe - hubby and I ate them in one hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      Beautiful little jam tarts for Valentine's Day!! I made these to freeze 'til next week for a Valentine Tea and for FT's Afternoon Tea Event in the photo forum and our Valentine's event. I made them in my mini muffin pan and got 32 tiny cute tarts! I keep butter in the freezer and when I make this kind of pastry I grate it frozen into the flour, makes a lovely short pastry. I used home made strawberry jam and had to get them into the freezer quickly cus DH kept stealing them!! Thanks FT, they are a perfect one bite sweet for Valentines!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      I used purchased pie crust dough for this, so I can't really rate it with stars, but did want to mention that these little gems were a hit at our party! I used raspberry preserves in half and lemon curd in the other half. They were easy to make, beautiful on the tray, and deeeeelicious. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

    • on July 01, 2009

      I made these for my parents' 20th anniversary with raspberry jam. They loved them! Thanks for posting this, I'll definately make them again sometime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      How cute are these!? I used blackberry jam, raspberry preserves & lemon curd. We devoured the 18 I made. Okay, we only devoured 15, cause the first 3 that went out for the photo shoot I accidentally dumped tea all over. lol I have a mini tart pan & the smallest heart cutter I had was 1.5 inches so the hearts were a tad too large, IMHO. I used the 2.5 inch scalloped biscuit cutter for the tart shells, which was a perfect size for those. I'll keep my eyes open for an even smaller heart cutter. This will be very impressive on a dessert tray for all kinds of holidays. Thanks for sharing, FT! :) Made for your farewell in Holiday tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      We loved these. My eight year old sun said it deserved 52 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      These are perfect. I will be making these tasty little morsels for my dil's baby shower at the end of the month. I made 15 little tarts, that were just excellant. The crust is to die for, it melts in your mouth and the flavor...yummmm. The tarts were very quick and easy to put together. I used, apricot, raspberry, pineapple and blackcurrent jam and apple jelly. They were so good, my dh went back looking for more. Did I mention that they disappeared as if by magic. Another winner from the very talented Hot Tartlette.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      delicious my fathers from england and his taste very similar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      I was looking for a good cookie recipe, and came across this one. I used homemade strawberry jam on these and OH they were so good. I had two of them and waiting for my company to come, I am sure they will love these. Thanks so much for posting this great recipe. I will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      I made these with raspberry, apricot, and cherry jams. I especially liked the apricot, it seemed to glaze the tart better than the others. Thank you so much French Tart, for posting so many traditional British recipes. I have so many of yours in my cookbook, waiting for me. My fiance (of Welsh background) is eager to try them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Queen of Hearts - Valentine's Jam Tarts

    Serving Size: 1 (39 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 273.1
     
    Calories from Fat 141
    51%
    Total Fat 15.7 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 9.7 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 40.6 mg
    13%
    Sodium 135.7 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites