Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Potato Salad That Edith Gump and I Make Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Potato Salad That Edith Gump and I Make

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on July 05, 2014

      Absolutely FAB! This was the best potato salad I've ever had. Pouring the dressing over the warm potatoes was key! Delish, delish, delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2014

      I haven't made this yet, but the 4th of July is coming sooner than we thought, so it will definitely be on our patio table. I can't resist after that wonderfully hilarious recipe instructional. So thanks Potscrubber & Edith.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      Once again Potscrubber, you have exceeded our expectations-you are the best cook! Best potato salad we've ever had! Made it exactly as written, and even tried capers for first time in my life. You should definitely write a cook book! PERFECTION! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      I had the notes in my head as to how I was planning on reviewing this recipe but that was weeks ago and much has changed here at RZ/fc since that time. What I do know: 5 stars. I am more of a mayo-free potato gal, but the amount in this was perfect. Let me see if I can remember anything else pertinent...oh, added about 1/4 cup finely minced yellow onion that's about all I remember. This tasted better the next day but even better by the third day and we preferred it best well chilled. Pot Scrubber, I did take a picture of the potato salad but wasn't happy with the way it turned out. Next time, and that's a promise. In memory of you dear Edith Gump.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      This was a FANTASTIC potato salad. My wife does not like onion, so we left that out. Otherwise, we followed to a "T" Perfect consistancy, perfect amount of sauce, perfect amount of everything! Was thinking maybe I would slice the olive instead of mincing next time, just for the visual.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Not 5 stars but 10...thank you and Edith and her Brother Forrest...this is the best potato salad I have ever made....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      You and Edith are quite a team! We polished off the whole bowl in 2 days, cause we really loved it. We did add onion, for added flavor, and wow, was it a good combination of flavors all mixed together! Rich

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      Everyone at the Memorial Day cookout last night loved this! Thank you Potsie and Edith!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      I'm not a fan of sweet potato salads, so I knew I'd love this one, and I was right. Don't let the oil fool you. It mixes up well with the mayo, and it's not too much oil at all. I added celery (I love crunch) and extra onions. Thankfully, I tasted it before the added onions, because I added way too many. It was delicious. I might try adding more capers and/or olives next time, because I just love "extras" in the salad. Don't forget to salt the water when cooking the potatoes, and Potsie reminded me to NOT overcook. Well, I left them in hot water to do something and forgot, so they were a little "mashed", but then, I loved my potato salad like that, so it was fine. It you don't like the "mashed" salad, make sure you take them out right after they are cooked. Delicious, Edith and Potsie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Great potato salad! I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing this (and thank Edith for me, too)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      WOW! This was a huge hit at my house. The first time I served it, the whole bowl was practically licked clean. Love it, will make many more times (in fact, I'm on my way to make it again now - yummy!!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      We always had to have MIL's potato salad at our house until I rebelled and tried this recipe. It is now the preferred salad and always gets rave reviews. Don't change anything, do it just the way instructed - it is great. Thanks, ladies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      Boy Howdy, Pots. This rocks. I served it over the 4th of July (yes, I'm a bit behind here) and everyone raved. The capers and black olives make this different from any other potato salad I've tried or made. There were NO leftovers. We have added this to our "better than 5* list".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      Like a good many others we have a potato salad recipe that is favored but we also like variety in our salads. Made using ingredients as posted in the recipe and found it absolutely delicious ... loved your instructions! Not quite for those doing heart smart but the rest of us had extra helpings! Thank you and thank Edith Gump for a recipe that has been added to my keepers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      I didn't have black olives on hand so I omitted that from the recipe. I also added 1 T of dried dill. I have to say that this is good but average potato salad recipe. From the other reviews, I was expecting a wow, but unfortunately this didn't really deliver. It was good, but I've had better. The flavor didn't really improve all that much the next day or the day after that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      The best I ever had. I was scared about the oil at first, but this is the best most creamy I have ever had A+++++++

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

      I doubled the recipe...my mom said it tastes like the potato salad HER mom used to make. Loved it...will definitely make this one again and again! It was sooo entertaining to read! Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2006

      This recipe surprised me. I wasn't thinking much of it as I made it and thought it would be too salty. Keep going! It's great! Just the right combination of ingredients to make a great potato salad! Thanks Edith and Potscrubber!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2005

      The first time I made this recipe was for potluck at Bunco night. It was actually the first entire dish gone that evening. People can't believe I got this recipe from two gals by the names of Pot Scrubber and Edith Gump. Don't pay any attention to the calories from fat count. That's what makes it so darn good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2005

      Okay. This just became the "Potato Salad that PotScrubber, Edith Gump, & Toadflax make". I made it for the 2nd time yesterday and I got the thumbs up from everyone eating it. I made 2 salads - a pasta & bean thing that always goes over well and this. I had 3/4 of a bowl of the pasta one leftover and about a half cup of this. DARN. Loved your history of this recipe. Most of all I loved the potato salad and I plan to become famous for it and never divulge the recipe to anyone LOL. THANKS SO MUCH!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Potato Salad That Edith Gump and I Make

    Serving Size: 1 (202 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 506.6
     
    Calories from Fat 326
    64%
    Total Fat 36.2 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 165.6 mg
    55%
    Sodium 849.5 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pickle juice

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites