19 Reviews

I am an artist with a degree in ceramics. I have formed teapots out of raw porcelain clay with my bare hands. It's lovely to see how many people in this modern world still appreciate such things! I will admit I can be lazy and make tea in the microwave with a Lipton teabag, but I was trained since art school to appreciate the ritual, and so sometimes one must take the very best teapot off the shelf and do it "the right way". Ever since childhood, I have taken my tea the way my mother does, with milk and a little honey. Thank you so much for the reminder of how much this tradition means to me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spice Princess July 12, 2011

Okay, I'm impressed already. Stop tickling me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng December 05, 2010

Wonderful! I used good quality, made in London, English breakfast tea bags. DH has always told me to freshly draw the water and now I am a believer. It was perfect with a slightly heaping tea spoon of sugar and a fresh lemon slice along with some delicious gluten free zucchini muffins fresh from the oven. Of course I will use this recipe again. Made for Winter Wonderland! Christmas and Holidays Tag Game Dec 2010 in KK's forum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat December 02, 2010

Sitting in the winter sunshine with a wonderful cup of English Breakfast and a slice or 2 of warm banana cake, what more could you want, delicious. Thank you FT, made for Make My Recipe - Edition 11.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat August 03, 2010

Growing up as a "proper" young lady~ my wonderful Grandmother made me this tea even though I was only 5 years of age. The tea was served in a proper china tea cup with the proper saucer underneath with a spot of cream and sugar cubes, of which you would use sugar tongs to very gently put into the bottom of the tea cup and promptly put the cream/milk and then the addition of the tea. This quiet afternoon I found this treasure of a recipe to replicate the exact tradition of which I had learned to serve tea. This is exactly as used more the 45 years ago, and it brought to mind many fond memories back in view. I used Earl Grey tea~and even had the absolute sugar cube to sweeten the tea. I just happened upon cream this morning so there I was~set up for the perfect day to enjoy the perfect tea. Thank you FT, for the wonderful memories and the absolute tradition of this afternoon treat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm February 08, 2008

How lucky we are to have a real-live English lady to educate us in tea. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SocialKittyCT May 24, 2013

Thank you so much for the lesson on how to make tea. I had to use a tea bag but it just happened to be one from London. It's Camomile and Honey from the London Herb and Spice Company. My sister sent it to me when she lived in England. Made for ZWT 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY July 02, 2010

Thank you, FT! I served this to my not-so-wee-anymore ones for afterschool snack today. I really could eat more sandwiches but that is another review... I'm guilty of tossing a teabag & water into the microwave in a pinch but really needed to slow the heck down & do it up right. I even did the part in the intro about filling the pot halfway then topping it off after steeping. I did use Oolong, though - i got it at a tea shop in Chelsea Markets when I visited Food Network/Scripps/Recipezaar. :) It's really good Oolong, too! i think preparing tea this way gves a 'cleaner' and 'fresher' taste. maybe more 'pure'. At any rate, it is better! I do prefer mine straight up but someday I will serve to guests with all the proper accoutrements. BTW, I LOVE Sage's review.... Thank you, sweets & happy ZWTouring! Made on behalf of the ZESTIES of ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo June 21, 2010

Wonderful ~ thanks so much Ms Tart :) I made English Breakfast and it was just delightful! I'll do this again, maybe for the Ladies Tea at the holidays at church. It should bowl them over! Made for ZWT6 ~ GREAT BRITAIN Region and the Queens of Quisine!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative June 21, 2010

Delightful. You've taught me some new tricks with this one. Setting out a warm pot of tea with sugar cubes, a milk pitcher, and lemon slices felt so proper and indulgent, that it may be my new favorite way to pamper myself a little. Thanks so much for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmmyDuckie June 21, 2010
The Perfect Pot and Cup of English Tea!