Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Perfect Cup of Tea-British Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Perfect Cup of Tea-British Style

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2008

      I gave this 4 stars. I love tea this way. When I drink hot tea I often drink hot tea this way. I started drinking my hot tea this way after seeing it on a english movie. I do admit I dunk my tea bag but otherwise make my hot tea just as directed. Thanks for posting a great recipe. Christine (internetnut)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Nice basic tea. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      I can't believe I am actually enjoying a cup of tea!! For years I've TRIED to like tea because it is better for you than coffee. I've always felt so-so about tea. I was a little skeptical that things like how the water is added, type of cup used, etc... actually would make a difference. It DOES! This is full of flavor and, dare I say, YUMMY! Thank you. ~Made for the I Recommend Tag Game~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Mmmmm...smooth. I had no idea that adding the water to the bag instead of the bag to the water and also that bone china made a difference - naive American - LOL. Thanks so much for posting LIttle Bee. I'll be sure to enjoy my tea this way for now on! Made for I Recommend Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      This is just the way my grandmother taught me just about sixty years ago and I still make it that way 90% of the time. I used Twining's loose tea (red canister) as that's what I had on hand. Made for the Comfort Cafe, a tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      I concur with the sentiments on this recipe for tea. I am a Brit, now living in USA. It is impossible to go out and ask for tea and not have to add "hot" tea to the request. Warm water with assorted weak tea bags may be offered, lemon and probably cream!!! You simply cannot beat a good cup o tea British style!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      On our first trip to GB in 1984, our B&B hostess (in Wilts.) noted that we were totally done in with our first day of driving, (and not being able to get out of Reading for an hour) - insisted we come in for a cuppa, regardless whether we took her room ! THIS was her method - she taught us SO many good manners for a tourist in the countryside, that HERS is the face we see (in our minds), when we lift our bone china cup! Thanks, Little Bee - for a happy memory.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      I am aghast! (though many said that of Delia's "how to boil an egg" recipe!) - Do people not know how to make tea? - What's all this about honey in tea? - you're right I'm giggling - How do they make it in America? - Elaine x (Wiltshire, UK!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      It is extrememly important to drink from a bone china up or mug tea tastes completely different otherwise. Add the milk to the cup first and pour the tea from a pot first if you want it to be a pefect cup of tea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      Hubby and I like our 'nightly' cup of tea together, and this is the way we will do it from now on. Covering the cup while tea is brewing is certainly spot on, esp during the cooler months. BTW, my BIL is from Great Britain and he is very fussy about his tea, too. Am looking forward to trying this method out on him, and seeing if it meets with his approval. Enjoyed reading your story. Those Brits certainly know a thing or two about having tea, don't they! Thank you, Little Bee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      It says on my neighbour's garden shed: If in doubt have a cup of tea! I think many people here in the UK would agree with that philosophy. I'm not native but have come to love a good 'cuppa'. I've stopped taking sugar in mine and I only steep it for about 1- 1 1/2 minutes, as anything more than that I consider to be 'builder's tea' (strong tea). It's best drunk from a bone china cup with a picture of the Queen on it! :wink:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      One must start with cool water before the boil as well!!! I like my tea exceptionally strong, therefore mine steeps about 30 minutes, (maybe explains the reason I have had to go to caffeine free tea)and I do need to reheat it before adding milk and sugar (now unfortunately splenda). Thank you for showing everyone the "propwe" way to brew tea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      Delish! Thanks so much for elaborating. I was doing most of it right, but the clarity made it so much better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      Thanks for posting the lesson! Those of us who are real "tea grannies" often despair of getting a proper cup of tea in North America (yes, its almost as bad here in Canada as it is in the US). Tea requires BOILING water, not just hot or warm as many restaurants seem to instruct their staff. Its no wonder many people here think they don't like tea. That stuff that looks like warm apple juice is not tea. (There is a line in the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy that describes a drink as "almost but not completely unlike tea" -it's a perfect description of most North American restaurant "tea".) Thanks for spreading the word.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      I'm not a tea drinker although my parents and grandmother's prefer it over coffee, so I always struggle to make them a decent cuppa and end up asking them to do it themselves! Made myself a cup this morning with Earl Grey tea, and while I'm not a huge fan, I could sit and smell the bergamot scent all day :-) Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      I made this for *Zaar World Tour III* for guest today who are tea enthusiast. They said it tasted nice but they rather prefer tea leaves then a tea bag. Thank you Little Bee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      I am being picky here but I would say 9 out of 10 of us over here insist that the milk goes in first, then the tea goes in the cup, which is one of the reasons we make it in a pot. And only bone china please!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Perfect Cup of Tea-British Style

    Serving Size: 1 (9 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 18.3
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    45%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tea bags

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes