17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I gave this 4 stars. I love tea this way. When I drink hot tea I often drink hot tea this way. I started drinking my hot tea this way after seeing it on a english movie. I do admit I dunk my tea bag but otherwise make my hot tea just as directed. Thanks for posting a great recipe. Christine (internetnut)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut January 05, 2008

Nice basic tea. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleturtle March 16, 2009

I can't believe I am actually enjoying a cup of tea!! For years I've TRIED to like tea because it is better for you than coffee. I've always felt so-so about tea. I was a little skeptical that things like how the water is added, type of cup used, etc... actually would make a difference. It DOES! This is full of flavor and, dare I say, YUMMY! Thank you. ~Made for the I Recommend Tag Game~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood January 14, 2009

Mmmmm...smooth. I had no idea that adding the water to the bag instead of the bag to the water and also that bone china made a difference - naive American - LOL. Thanks so much for posting LIttle Bee. I'll be sure to enjoy my tea this way for now on! Made for I Recommend Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom January 03, 2009

This is just the way my grandmother taught me just about sixty years ago and I still make it that way 90% of the time. I used Twining's loose tea (red canister) as that's what I had on hand. Made for the Comfort Cafe, a tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive January 01, 2009

I concur with the sentiments on this recipe for tea. I am a Brit, now living in USA. It is impossible to go out and ask for tea and not have to add "hot" tea to the request. Warm water with assorted weak tea bags may be offered, lemon and probably cream!!! You simply cannot beat a good cup o tea British style!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AliMcHood May 05, 2008

On our first trip to GB in 1984, our B&B hostess (in Wilts.) noted that we were totally done in with our first day of driving, (and not being able to get out of Reading for an hour) - insisted we come in for a cuppa, regardless whether we took her room ! THIS was her method - she taught us SO many good manners for a tourist in the countryside, that HERS is the face we see (in our minds), when we lift our bone china cup! Thanks, Little Bee - for a happy memory.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney January 26, 2008

I am aghast! (though many said that of Delia's "how to boil an egg" recipe!) - Do people not know how to make tea? - What's all this about honey in tea? - you're right I'm giggling - How do they make it in America? - Elaine x (Wiltshire, UK!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sc4r1ett January 25, 2008

It is extrememly important to drink from a bone china up or mug tea tastes completely different otherwise. Add the milk to the cup first and pour the tea from a pot first if you want it to be a pefect cup of tea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nesswaters January 04, 2008

Hubby and I like our 'nightly' cup of tea together, and this is the way we will do it from now on. Covering the cup while tea is brewing is certainly spot on, esp during the cooler months. BTW, my BIL is from Great Britain and he is very fussy about his tea, too. Am looking forward to trying this method out on him, and seeing if it meets with his approval. Enjoyed reading your story. Those Brits certainly know a thing or two about having tea, don't they! Thank you, Little Bee!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BecR August 24, 2007
The Perfect Cup of Tea-British Style