51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The meat tasted great, but I probably won't make this again. I followed the directions to the T and it went downhill from there. The patties shaped well, I kept them in the fridge until ready to grill, but as soon as they hit the grate, they started to fall apart. Turning them over was not an option because most of the meat ended up on the bottom of the grill. I had made one extra burger (3 of us) and had it partially frozen. So I put it on the grill and made sure to wait until it was almost done to turn it. It turned out better, but I now have a mess to clean up on my grill.
Like I said, the flavor was good.......just wish we could have eaten patties instead of scrambled hamburger.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnie27 May 14, 2011

The ooohs and ahhhs said it all. Not that this recipe needed another review, but this will be our go to recipe from now on. Looking forward to making these on the grill this summer! I actually broiled them indoors with perfect results, made per the recipe with no add ins. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau March 23, 2011

I've tried this the way its written with no extra add-ins & cooked on a George Foreman grill and really enjoyed it. My husband LOVES it. He's always requesting it now! I now prefer to keep it simple. My "plain" way is as follows: 1lb beef, 1 egg, 1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce. Cooke it on a Foreman grill & Enjoy! *my photos added are of the plain version cooked on a Foreman grill. I have not tried these in a pan our outside grill*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KinMa February 01, 2011

We flavoured it with pesto and rosemary and it was amazing! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HungryMeriQuiteContrary November 08, 2010

We had these burgers last week-end and they were great. So good I'm going to make them again today. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janieintn July 31, 2010

The new teenager on the block requested the family favourite Gerry's Sauced Hamburgers for his May birthday. Your review on the Sauced Burgers back in March had me print your Perfect Burger recipe for the burgers - you are right on - the combination makes for a real winner! (I did make a few for the freezer - worked really well for me, were moist and juicy when made up.) So now off to make and shape 10 pounds of burgers for my freezer stash - using your The Perfect Burger which has been added to our family cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry May 27, 2010

I didn't have an onion so I used a couple tablespoons of dried minced onion. I also didn't use any of the stir-ins. I'll try that next time, I just wanted to see what the main burger would taste like. It was DEEEEE-VINE! I agree it was the best burger I've ever had at home... and probably anywhere! I had to hover over my husband so he wouldn't keep flipping though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennypugh78 May 26, 2010

I replaced the fresh onion and garlic with the powdered version (less dominant flavor wanted). I used Dijon mustard, a couple of tspns Worcestershire sauce and I added HP brown sauce (English stuff). I added 2-3 tspns homemade creole seasoning to spice it up. Fantastic! Perfect for the BBQ. Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dimensionally transcendental May 24, 2010

Wonderful Burgers!!! DH was very concerned that they would fall apart on the grill. He also didn't appreciate me hovering over him to ensure that he didn't squash them or flip them more than once. My vigilance paid off and he is now a convert. No more flip, flip, flipping here. :) I used the sour cream add in but will try many more variations over the summer. Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned April 15, 2010

As said by my DS, this was "just like heaven". We were getting tired of the same old dry, burnt hamburgers my DH fixed on the grill. Luckily, we stumbled onto this one. The meat was juicy, and flavorful. We went with the BBQ "add in". Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelli harris April 07, 2010
The Perfect Burger