69 Reviews

I have no idea why the first review said they couldn't get this to stick together on the grill. Be gentle with the meat and leave it alone while it is on the grill. Don't pat, poke, or flip it more than once. I did this recipe as stated with no extra add ins. The result was simply burger heaven. This was the first time I attempted to prepare my own patties. I will never by the frozen junk again. This is too easy to make and adds a whole new definition of burger. This was the best burger I have ever had!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stinsniper .. October 19, 2015

Very good burger! We just did the burger, no mix ins just to see how we liked it and it was fantastic! We will be making again and trying some of the mix ins. Thanks for sharing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haras00 July 20, 2010

These were definately lovely and moist. I think leaving out the breadcrumbs is a great idea as is the cooking technique. The only other thing I added to the burger mix was about a tablespoon of tomato ketchup and a small handful of mixed herbs. Now I make my burgers the Aussie way and here's how it's done. First put a squeeze of tomato ketchup on the bottom of the toasted bun then followed by an iceberg lettuce leaf, a slice of tomato then place the burger (which should have a slice of melted cheese on that I place during the last minute of cooking), then I add some fried onions (never raw onions), a slice of bacon and topped with a fried egg and then the top bun. It's a mouthful but well worth the effort.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terese November 28, 2006

Adding another egg or some milk would make these stick together better!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sabrina L. April 12, 2015

I just pan fried these on the stove tonight and they were nothing short of marvelous! I became a member just do I could leave a review. I also used shallots, a few scallions and two extra cloves of garlic. I added the curry and Cajun seasoning (both a touch more than the recipe called for), as well as sundried tomatoes and 2 minced Serrano peppers. They were without a doubt, the juiciest, most flavorful, mouthwatering burgers I have ever had or believe I will have. In a grill pan on medium high, 2.5 min one side, flip. A slice of pepper jack cheese, cook another minute. Cover and cook 2 more minutes and Voila! Perfection confirmed. Minus the peppers, as my nine year old daughter was eating, she said if there was a contest for worlds greatest chef, I would win, haha. Thank you, thank you, countrylady!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheriyarla April 30, 2012

Delish! Even without worsch. sauce (I was out). I used dijon, 2 shallots instead of the small onion, and added a teaspoon of oregano. My husband and I both loved it. I had never used an egg before when making burgers, what a nice recipe! Very versatile.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawnie808 August 26, 2010

I must have done something wrong. I tried tripling the recipe. Patties were delicate and had to be gently flipped. Taste was just ok. I may have grated the onion too finely.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike F. June 18, 2015

This really is the best burger EVER. I fixed exactly as written with no extras this time. I processed the onion and garlic in the food processor. Amazing flavor. Served on bakery fresh pretzel buns. To die for!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Purduewriter May 26, 2015

The meat tasted great, but I probably won't make this again. I followed the directions to the T and it went downhill from there. The patties shaped well, I kept them in the fridge until ready to grill, but as soon as they hit the grate, they started to fall apart. Turning them over was not an option because most of the meat ended up on the bottom of the grill. I had made one extra burger (3 of us) and had it partially frozen. So I put it on the grill and made sure to wait until it was almost done to turn it. It turned out better, but I now have a mess to clean up on my grill.
Like I said, the flavor was good.......just wish we could have eaten patties instead of scrambled hamburger.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnie27 May 14, 2011

Pretty darn good! Really basic, great base... just as written it is really flavorful. I agree that using a medium % beef was the ticket. I used a 93% for the first round, they just didn't taste the same.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zannah17 August 13, 2010
The Perfect Burger