21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Sure enough - just like on the beach in Mexico! Excellent.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in AZ August 06, 2003

We must have the same mother!!! I love this style of shrimp cocktail. I make it the same way and can't get enough!! muy sabroso!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jay Salazar June 30, 2003

Awesome mexican shrimp cocktail!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare October 05, 2013

This is a great starter recipe for me. When I made this, I used a 32 oz bottle of Clamato juice and the dish turned out soupy.

OK, now for the tweaks I made or will make next time (because there will definitely be a next time). These are all substitutes based on my personal preferences. I only used lime not both lemon and lime. I love lime! Instead of adding white pepper, I added a jalapeno. For the record, one jalapeno is not enough for my taste buds. So, next time I will probably add 2. I used one whole bunch of cilantro instead of half. I used red onion but think white/yellow onion would have been just fine. I omitted the celery because I didn't have any on hand but think I should have added it. Next time I will try Spicy V8 instead of Clamato in hopes that it will give me the texture I was looking for and I will double the avocado because it added a great creaminess to the dish. I will omit the ketchup because I don't think it added anything. I might try garlic salt instead of salt or I might add a crushed garlic clove. Yummy!

This was a hit for me! Happy cooking!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie.25 July 26, 2012

This shrimp cocktail is bursting with fresh flavors. The cilantro and citrus juices make it unbelievable, and if you use garden tomatoes, its a whole 'nother animal! I like to add other types of seafood as well, like baby octopus, baby scallops, and baby oysters (baby ones are bite-size and more tender), but I think this recipe is so delicious that I would eat it with no seafood at all. Think of a cold, Mexican gazpacho...mmm!
I looked for this recipe for a long time, I knew of it from a friend's mom who was born and raised in Mexico what most of the ingredients were, but not all of them and I didn't know the amounts. The reason I've been looking for the recipe is because she made it all the time for her family and I got to join them on several occasions...we all loved it (it is not even on the same level as plain shrimp with cocktail sauce, soooo much better), but none of us ever learned how to make it. She passed away unexpectedly and we talked about how good her shrimp cocktails (and all her other authentic Mexican dishes) were and how much we missed them. Well, I found this recipe over a year ago and made it, and we all agreed that this was the same dish that we had been craving for so long. Sometimes food can really take you to another place. I did use the water that the shrimp cooked in for ours, as I know she always did so. Thank you for taking the time to post, and sorry I didn't review sooner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aHardDaysNight June 29, 2011

I havent tried this yet but all the reviews you have gotton i am going to,
I like original recp: This seem's to hit that catagorey. I will let you know ,as I lived in Mexico for some time ... i like it soupy like they make it , u can also use the water from the shrimp

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeltaMiss February 05, 2011

Really good and refreshing, I loved the fresh tomato and avocado. I used 1 part v8 and 1 part spicy bloody mary mix, mmmm....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackieliz September 02, 2010

Awesome!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deeda G August 25, 2010

We really, really liked this the first day. The flavors were great, it was just spicy enough and it was easy to put together. We had leftovers but I wasn't as happy with it the next day. The avocados broke down too much so the juice was cloudy, almost creamy. The next time I'll only make enough for one day because it really was great the first day. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SteelerSue July 21, 2009

I made this for a mid winter dinner party. It was a big hit. I did chop the veggied into a smaller dice than stated in the recips. I have to agree with one other reviewer that the recipe is a bit vague in spots and leaves one guessing a bit too much so I can't give it 5 stars. But this is a keeper. Thanks to Mariela ( and her mom...) I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Regina V. Smith February 01, 2009
The Other "shrimp Cocktail"