Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Other "shrimp Cocktail" Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Other "shrimp Cocktail"

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on August 06, 2003

      Sure enough - just like on the beach in Mexico! Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2003

      We must have the same mother!!! I love this style of shrimp cocktail. I make it the same way and can't get enough!! muy sabroso!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2013

      Awesome mexican shrimp cocktail!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      This is a great starter recipe for me. When I made this, I used a 32 oz bottle of Clamato juice and the dish turned out soupy.

      OK, now for the tweaks I made or will make next time (because there will definitely be a next time). These are all substitutes based on my personal preferences. I only used lime not both lemon and lime. I love lime! Instead of adding white pepper, I added a jalapeno. For the record, one jalapeno is not enough for my taste buds. So, next time I will probably add 2. I used one whole bunch of cilantro instead of half. I used red onion but think white/yellow onion would have been just fine. I omitted the celery because I didn't have any on hand but think I should have added it. Next time I will try Spicy V8 instead of Clamato in hopes that it will give me the texture I was looking for and I will double the avocado because it added a great creaminess to the dish. I will omit the ketchup because I don't think it added anything. I might try garlic salt instead of salt or I might add a crushed garlic clove. Yummy!

      This was a hit for me! Happy cooking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      This shrimp cocktail is bursting with fresh flavors. The cilantro and citrus juices make it unbelievable, and if you use garden tomatoes, its a whole 'nother animal! I like to add other types of seafood as well, like baby octopus, baby scallops, and baby oysters (baby ones are bite-size and more tender), but I think this recipe is so delicious that I would eat it with no seafood at all. Think of a cold, Mexican gazpacho...mmm!
      I looked for this recipe for a long time, I knew of it from a friend's mom who was born and raised in Mexico what most of the ingredients were, but not all of them and I didn't know the amounts. The reason I've been looking for the recipe is because she made it all the time for her family and I got to join them on several occasions...we all loved it (it is not even on the same level as plain shrimp with cocktail sauce, soooo much better), but none of us ever learned how to make it. She passed away unexpectedly and we talked about how good her shrimp cocktails (and all her other authentic Mexican dishes) were and how much we missed them. Well, I found this recipe over a year ago and made it, and we all agreed that this was the same dish that we had been craving for so long. Sometimes food can really take you to another place. I did use the water that the shrimp cooked in for ours, as I know she always did so. Thank you for taking the time to post, and sorry I didn't review sooner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      I havent tried this yet but all the reviews you have gotton i am going to,
      I like original recp: This seem's to hit that catagorey. I will let you know ,as I lived in Mexico for some time ... i like it soupy like they make it , u can also use the water from the shrimp

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2010

      Really good and refreshing, I loved the fresh tomato and avocado. I used 1 part v8 and 1 part spicy bloody mary mix, mmmm....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2010

      Awesome!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      We really, really liked this the first day. The flavors were great, it was just spicy enough and it was easy to put together. We had leftovers but I wasn't as happy with it the next day. The avocados broke down too much so the juice was cloudy, almost creamy. The next time I'll only make enough for one day because it really was great the first day. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      I made this for a mid winter dinner party. It was a big hit. I did chop the veggied into a smaller dice than stated in the recips. I have to agree with one other reviewer that the recipe is a bit vague in spots and leaves one guessing a bit too much so I can't give it 5 stars. But this is a keeper. Thanks to Mariela ( and her mom...) I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      As I'm allergic to clams I actually shivered when I read Clamato juice as one of the ingredients. Obviously, I went for the V-8 option. I alsoI chopped the veggies smaller(diced them) and didn't add any salt since it's already in the V-8, ketchup and hot sauce. Very summery, pretty and delicious with the fresh shrimp we can get here on the Gulf Coast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      This is an outstanding recipe. After discovering it a year ago on Cinco De Mayo day, I practically lived on it the whole summer. I also took it a few times to cookout dinners with raves from guests. Men really do love this shrimp cocktail. I meant to thank you for posting this last year, but it slipped my mind....so Thank You, Mariela

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      This was so great! The only thing I did differently was to leave out the celery since I really don't care for it much. I served it in margarita glasses. This far surpasses the old shrimp with cocktail sauce standby...I will deinitely be making this again and again, next time with margaritas! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      I have searched other mexican shrimp cocktails on here, and most of them aren't actually cocktails, but more like shrimp salads. I was only searching to get new ideas and your cucumber and celery totally got it. I usually make mine almost the same but without those two ingredients, but they really do make a nice addition. I was about to post my own recipe on here before I found yours, but there's really no need to, they're practically the same. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      This is my all time favorite Shrimp Cocktail, too. The Clamato juice gives this that extra zip. Thanks Mariela for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      This was a easy recipe . We really enjoyed it . Very Good ,Must try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2004

      Great recipe and another keeper! Nice variation on the other one. Thanks! Margie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2004

      Fantastic! I served this in martini glasses, my guests loved it. I used V-8 instead of clamato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2004

      My husband went nuts over this!! I also spit the receipe in half and it made a ton!! I didnt use all teh celery though... i only used it when i was putting a couple of stalks in the glass. Even at half a batch of this stuff i had tons left over. Thanks for the good receipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2004

      This is so good! I cut the recipe in half, except for the avocados just because I had two that were ripe. I had to guess at the size bottle of Clamato juice to use, but just ended up using 1/2 cup--turned out to be the perfect amount. I also added the cilantro to the mixture and used the juice of 1/2 lemon and 1/2 lime. I also didn't use anywhere near 1/2 a bunch of celery as I thought it would be way too much; just used two stalks. The taste of this is definitely 5*'s but the directions left me guessing a little too much. I'll be making this a lot this summer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Other "shrimp Cocktail"

    Serving Size: 1 (411 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 384.5
     
    Calories from Fat 103
    26%
    Total Fat 11.4 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 142.8 mg
    47%
    Sodium 1610.5 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.2 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 22.2 g
    44%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Clamato juice

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites