Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Other Kind of German Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Other Kind of German Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2007

      OMG! OMG!!!!! I have been searching the internet HIGH and LOW searching for THIS Potato salad recipe!!! Although, I've never had this in the Bavarian area of Germany - I have had it in the Rhein (Frankfurt aM) area - and when I cried and begged for the recipe - I got a "a little of egg, a little onion, a little pickle", yeah, yeah, I get it. No one wants to tell me their secret recipe so they only state the obvious ingredients then make me go home and experiement to try to duplicated it. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for posting this Debber! This is darn close to the recipe I was attempting to get from friends in Germany. (The only reason this tastes different is the Mayonnaise we get here in the USA tastes different from the one in Europe. But sometimes you can find European mayonnaise and shops that sell European foods. It comes in a tube - like toothpaste and is called "Thomy". It is a bright yellow and white tube and is in the refrigerated section when you can buy European butter and milk products) Ha ha! Won't they be surprised when I make the potato salad for our next get together. I love this version so much, I don't even make the old, tradtional potato salad recipes anymore. This is so much better. Sometimes, I use conchicorns or gherkins instead of pickles or a mixture of all the above. You Rock for posting this Debber! To everone else: PLEASE MAKE THIS - This is to die for!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      Years ago when I lived in Philly a German lady used to cook for our club and she always made this type of potato salad along with wiener schnitzel. Outstanding. I've looked for this recipe for years. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      This is a very good recipe and that's coming from someone who is from Bavaria, but just like with other dishes you can ask five different people living on the same street and they will have five different version. My mom did not use mayonnaise but added yellow mustard to give it a zing, added a bit of chicken stock to mellow it out a bit, onions, hard-boiled eggs and pickles and served it warm. No matter what version, they are all yummy. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2011

      We really liked this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      This almost tasted like Mom's when I was growing up. I didn't add in the additions. I just used the marinade and poured over the warm potatoes. Next time I'll add sliced cucumbers like Mom did. Thanks for bringing back beautiful memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      I made the whole shebang! I really did love the taste of this salad. I have to agree with SarikaKisSzentem. It did taste a lot like the potato salad I remember from the German Club in Allentown, PA. Thnx for sharing your recipe, Debber. Made for the Voracious Vagabonds for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      this is almost the same recipe as my moms, now mine. except I marinade my potatoes in pickle juice and add ham the salad

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      Tried this without the ADDITIONS first and than added the mayo, pickles and eggs. Both ways are very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      Very nice! I only added pickle and I wish I had used a red onion. I think it would have been prettier. Looking forward to the leftovers! Reviewed for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      GREAT, GREAT RECIPE, Debber ~ Very much enjoyed both making & eating this one! Since they are, perhaps optional, I decided to cut the mayo back to 1/2 cup & used 3 medium dills & 1 hard-cooked egg (didn't want to go entirely without these ingredients) & had a very nice salad! I did use 6 medium potatoes & 2 good-size onions (how's that for a measure!) & was richly rewarded! Definitely a keeper, & one I'll make regularly this summer! [Made & reviewed wile on tour in Germany during Zaar's World Tour 4]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      Made For German & Benelux Non Challenge Cooking, ZWT4 2008. Thank you Debber, I love this version so much, I won't even make the traditional Danish potato salad recipes anymore. This is so much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      Yummy! Yummy! Yummy! When ever we have a BBQ and my neighbour is invited we always ask her to bring her German Potato Salad. Although it's not the same as my neighbours it's very delicious. I 'marinated' it for about four hours and could not stand waiting any more as the smell was drifting around my kitchen. So I add soy mayo and pickles (left out the eggs) and scoffed it down for a late lunch. (Your quilting friend is correct the mayo could easy been left out as well). Thank you Debber

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Other Kind of German Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (226 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 377.2
     
    Calories from Fat 162
    43%
    Total Fat 18.0 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 54.2 mg
    18%
    Sodium 530.3 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 16.7 g
    67%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes