22 Reviews

I have enjoyed this dressing not only on salads but also as a marinade for grilled salmon. It is very tasty. I would like to note that olive oil has a chemistry to it that causes it to become bitter or unpleasant-tasting when mechanically blended on high speeds, so I usually wait until the last minute to add olive oil in dressings or hummus, and only blend it until it is well combined. (Besides, it seemed like 20 minutes seemed a bit excessive in my opinion.) I just blended the ingredients until it became smooth. Otherwise, I followed the directions as stated, and I very much love this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GlutenFreeInDixie December 31, 2015

This is delicious! I did sub one ingredient and that was the white wine vinegar for apple cider vinegar. I don't think that it changed the recipe and it is yummy! I could see using this for a basting sauce while grilling chicken. This makes alot and that is fine with me. I will make this again and again and again. Thank you pat for this tastey salad dressing. 1/1/10: edit to add made this again with my new immersion blender and added blue cheese oh yummy! Shirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
:)Shirl(: January 01, 2010

I tweaked the recipe just a bit based on other reviews; uping the vinegar just a tad and lowering the oil just a tad. I used Delallo's Rosemary & Garlic Dipping spices instead of preparing the mixture described, and used Splenda in place of the sugar. I blended, instead of mixed and did not run it for the entire 20 minutes. I made a salad of romaine, red peppers, shredded fontinella, shredded mozzarella, crumbled bacon and croutons and topped with this dressing. Quite fabulous and easy to throw together. I am interested to see how it tastes tomorrow after all the flavors have blended. Thanks for a nice, home-made dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 January 10, 2008

Despite being a dietary nightmare with the huge amount of oil (nearly a 4:1 ratio of oils to vinegar!), along with mayonnaise, sugar, and honey, this is a dressing I had wanted to try for awhile. Like another reviewer, when I made it as directed, I found it to be lacking in flavor, incredibly oily, and a bit too much on the sweet side. It did emulsify pretty well. After tweaking it a fair bit, adding more spices, more salt, and a few extra splashes of vinegar, it was alright, especially on a spinach salad. Giving it time in the fridge is definitely a must.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chadley25 December 12, 2007

I'm sorry. I tweaked and tweaked this dressing and still couldn't get the flavor where I wanted it to be. It was just alright, not enough flavor, too oily. Made as recipe states, then started adding ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boopster October 03, 2007

Really a good dressing. Went perfectly with dinner tonight. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jeff Garland August 21, 2007

This dressing is great. Exactly what I was looking for. I didn't change a thing and won't!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrVanilla April 24, 2007

Great salad dressing...I made this for our sunday dinner..I served this on Mam Rose's Pepperoni Pizza Salad #204704...I was wonderful

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc January 21, 2007

This dressing was very good. Like CheeyBear, I substituted white balsamic vinegar, and Equal with excellent results. I think the dressing actually improves with time in the fridge, so making ahead is not just an option, but is to be recommended. I also used the Italian Spice Blend that Bone Man suggested, and the bonus is that I have two new recipes that will go into my "best of the best" file. Thank you Bone Man. Kathy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo January 15, 2007

A very nice salad dressing. Didn't have any yellow mustard, so subbed brown mustard.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollypaul July 27, 2006
The Ospidillo Cafe Italian Salad Dressing