Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Original Rice Krispies Treats Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Original Rice Krispies Treats Squares

    Average Rating:

    110 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 110

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2011

      Yum yum!! Delicious, classic recipe! I switched it up a bit and threw in a teaspoon of vanilla and a drop or two of almond extract and a tiny bit of maple flavoring - delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2012

      I had forgotten how much of a pain in the arse Rice Krispie treats really are. Haha. Plus, my marshmallows were ancient, so they didn't melt well. (Read the description, chefs!) However, I am pretty sure this is the original recipe, and the kids say they taste fine. I thought the recipe I used to make had vanilla in it, but it was Betty Crocker rather than back-of-the-box. So despite the rice krispies all over the kitchen and the sticky pan, thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2012

      Thanks for posting this great recipe. I also bought Rrice Krispies with no recipe on the box. You'd think I'd remember how after making this tons of times in the past 60 years, but, of course, I didn't. Anyway - yummy and as usual I had to eat the first one while it was still gooey and falling apart. They set up if you can wait awhile. Great for kids and not so young kids.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      this one never gets old!!! How does it taste with fruity pebbles instead of rice crispies?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      Perfecto! These have just the flavor I remember as a kid. I used Halal marshmallows (only 8 ounces), Margarine and about 5 1/2 cups of Rice Krispies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2014

      I love three I add 1/2 cup peabut butter creamy in while melting marshmallows And mini choclare chips on tip I uploaded a photo to!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2014

      This is not the original recipe! Pure vanilla extract was on the original recipe. In addition the proportions have been changed; more butter was called for in the original. <br/>Margarine was invented after the original recipe. If possible find Rice Krispies that do NOT have corn syrup as the sweetener (easier to find) and marshmallows without, too ( hard to find). The combination of both items with corn syrup makes the squares too sweet, as compared to the original squares. <br/><br/>Jerry K. Age 67.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2014

      Love this classic recipe from my childhood!<br/><br/>I would suggest this change to the preparation, though. Instead of buttering/spraying a 13" x 9" pan, I use a jellyroll pan (like a cookie sheet but with sides on it).<br/><br/>I line the jellyroll pan with parchment paper, spread the rice krispie mixture all over it with a non-stick spatula, and then put another sheet of parchment paper over the top. I can then press the sticky cereal across the pan without getting my hands all gooped up. Peel off the top layer of parchment paper, let it all cool down until it's set, then cut the squares. Throw away the bottom parchment paper and your pan won't be coated in marshmallow goo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2013

      This is what I grew up on as a kid. They are a pain the you know what to make, but well worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

    • on March 01, 2013

    • on June 17, 2012

      love

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2012

      Super easy and yummy. A little too yummy, in fact - I can never seem to stop at just one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2011

      This is THE classic recipe. Never fails! YUM!!!

      To "streak" -- I get my marshmallows at Trader Joe's, and they ARE vegetarian! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      The best!! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      excuse me, but marshmallows aren't vegetarian. they contain gelatin, which is derived from animals. don't know why this was even considered for a vegetarian menu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      Made these today and they turned out great, the grandkids loved them. I guess i'll have to make more.They are so easy to through together

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      Made two pans of these for my son's 5th grade picnic and everyone enjoyed them. They are quick and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      Thank you! I was having a bit of a time finding the original recipe. These came out absolutely perfect. These might actually taste better than I remember. Smiles all around!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      Classic. Perfect. Thanks for posting - my kids loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Original Rice Krispies Treats Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (31 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 116.5
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    17%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 5.7 mg
    1%
    Sodium 92.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 11.2 g
    45%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes