Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Original Pancake House Apple Pancake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Original Pancake House Apple Pancake

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on April 23, 2012

      I have been enjoying the Original Pancake House and this pancake since the 80's. I have temporarily moved far away from any of the franchises,so I was limited to the couple of times a year that I go home. (Actually when meeting a friend half way between our two locations, I insisted on a town that had an OPH). So i started seeking recipes for the baked apple.Of all the recipes I found, I decided to try this one first from the description of the crust (even though the photo doesn't seem right). THIS IS THE REAL DEAL! It was so exactly correct that I took photos and posted them with comments on Facebook. This despite the fact that I used an ancient convection oven. Now-I did use a cast iron pan not Pyrex...and I played all the temperature settings and times more loosely and just used my eyes and nose for judgement. But if you want the look and taste of the OPH recipe this is it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2013

      Great job on the recipe!<br/><br/>But, I know someone that has made a few thousand of these in a previous life, there are just a couple of things that could be tweaked.<br/><br/>1) Add some nutmeg in the batter.<br/>2) Best if you can make the batter the night before. The gluten relaxes a bit and the nutmeg has a chance to mingle with the rest of the ingredients. Also, don't over-mix. If it's lumpy - that's fine.<br/>3) Shelly and Goodcigar are right. Saute the apples before you put in the batter. And, do it on the stovetop. Do it until the apples start to get tender (about 3-5 minutes). I also use a non-stick omelette pan (8in or 10in if you're adventurous).<br/>4) The butter should be clarified.<br/>5) Brown sugar isn't supposed to be in the recipe, but we can't buy the cinnamon they get so you have to resort to it in order to get a better glaze. Their cinnamon is special.<br/>6) Step 9 should be to flip the pancake on a large plate. That way the sizzling apples are on the top. Be careful, that cinnamon glaze is hot and sticks like glue :)<br/><br/>The rest is pretty close. Of course, there are some tricks that the restaurant uses in order to make a few dozen at a time without having to resort to a 25 minute bake time, but this process works for when you want it now :)<br/><br/>I have some small 6in pans that I will use to make these as a desert at dinner parties. Great with ice cream.<br/><br/>Oh, and as a bonus, this is the same batter as the Dutch Baby.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      I suppose I should reserve my review until I actually make this delicious treat but I have one comment.....I just finished eating at the Original Pancake House in Atlanta and the waitress (and a review from Atlanta hanging on the wall) both explained that this dish is made with the apples on the bottom of the pan and the batter poured on top. When you plate the finished product, the caramelized apples are then on top. I'm surprised nobody mentioned that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      I've never had the orginal but have to say this one is sure good. Fun way to use up some of our orchard apples. I did a few small changes; added some apple slices to the batter, accidently added the brown sugar and cinnamon to the batter mix instead of the apples so had to add more to the apples, and added a handful of pecans to the topping. It went together really easy and set up nicely. I did use a cast iron skillet. Great fall flavors of apple and cinnamon, sprinkled the top with powdered sugar for serving and it was so nice. DH added whipped cream to his but it was plenty sweet enough for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      I personally love crust so i added a little bit more in the mixture for that and was quite happy.. it was a perfect resemblance to walker brothers recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      It's very good. I think the Original House puts some of the apples in the pan with the batter, at the beginning, so they're on the bottom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      Made this last fall with my granddaughter. We made it in a cast iron skillet which was perfect for this dish. Delicious and so beautiful to see it puff around the edges. I've never had the original, so nothing to gauge it by other than itself. Loved it. Came looking for the recipe to make this morning as I have so many lovely apples and I remember how much we enjoyed this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      I love the Original House of pancakes Apple Pancake but hate the calories so I refined the recipe by using whole wheat flour, I unsalted can't believe its not butter, and replaced sugar with stevia. Top with sugar free maple syrup and you get to have the tasty treat with half the guilt!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      Tried this last weekend & everyone loved it. I plan to make it a regular addition to our menu. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      i like it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      I have made this time and time again and it is GREAT and really like the Origianl Pancake House.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      I haven't tried the original so I didn't know what to expect. The apple on the top didn't really cook totally so I'd zap it in the microwave for a minute before putting it in the oven next time. The texture was slightly chewy also. There was a lovely apple/sugar/butter liquid syrup left which was really nice though, lovely spooned on top of vanilla ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      This was absolutely delicious! Just like at the Original Pancake House. I did three apples instead of two, and I reduced the butter to 4 Tbsp. The only thing I might do differently next time would be to reduce the sugar, mostly just for nutrition reasons. Still, a definite winner! I'd attempted to replicate the OPH recipe once before, and the result wasn't nearly as good as this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Original Pancake House Apple Pancake

    Serving Size: 1 (305 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 605.7
     
    Calories from Fat 196
    32%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 12.1 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 232.7 mg
    77%
    Sodium 237.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 93.2 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 61.4 g
    245%
    Protein 12.0 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites