Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Original Cabbage Soup Diet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Original Cabbage Soup Diet

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-32 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2008

      This was great! It does make alot so after couple days of eating it as cabbage soup I added tiny clams, bacon and tiny diced potatoes to make it a Manhatten Clam Chowder. It was fantastic. A good base eaten as is or add your own ingredients and create another soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      I've made this a couple times now. We really like garlic, so I added 2 heads and also added an extra head of cabbage since we really like it. He likes food with a bite, so this last time we added some cayenne pepper, I didn't care for the cayenne. I prefer chicken base over bouillon cubes and it worked really well. This really makes a lot and it freezes well. As some others said, there isn't much broth so I increased the V8. This is really filling and tastes great. It'll become a winter staple at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      I really love this soup. I tried to follow the cabbage soup diet about 10 years ago and couldn't, but I still love the soup. I think that the recipe that I used to have called for a pound of carrots and some green beans. I added them to this recipe. I also followed Bergy's suggestion to add 5 cups of water. It turned out great! It makes a very large batch, but it freezes well. Thanks for finding this recipe for me again. I will be making it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      This was delicious. I cna't believe how much soup this made. I had to transfer the soup to a larger stock pot. I was glad I had one. I froze half of the recipe. I took a serving out for lunch and it does freeze beautifuly. Thank you Spyder-man for such a delicious and healthy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      this was delicious, i made some additions, 1 lb of veal, browned, 1 zucchini, sliced, only 1 pepper and 3/4 c brown rice and water- this is a great healthy meal in a mug.i omitted the boullion cubes, it didn't need extra sodium. the balsamic vinegar and juice of 1 lemon gave this great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      At first I would have given this 4 stars, then I ate some more the next day - tasted much better after a day. I'm not following the "cabbage soup diet" but needed something healthy after the thanksgiving holiday. This made enough for me to eat for a week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      I love cabbage soup and I have tried a bunch of recipes and this one is definatly on the top. I didnt use all of the onions it calls for or the balsamic vinegar. Also, I don't know if I will put the lemon juice in next time, but there will be a next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      This was a great low calorie soup and a great way to help with weight loss. Thanx for the addition to my recipe file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      I have heard about this soup for ages and then spotted your recipe - 5 stars all the way. I added a finely chopped hot pepper. I only made half the recipe and found that it needed 5 cups of water. This is very tasty and on top of that it is healthy Thanks Spyder-man for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      It's January again and here I go looking for this diet soup..couldn't find my recipe and knew to look here!!! Mine is from the early 60's and much the same as this,the exception being beef bouillon used instead of chicken..I think the balsamic vinegar in this recipe(wish wasn't in mine) would be a great addition to the beef flavor also. Thank so much for posting for safe keeping Spyder-man. BTW you do lose weight on this besides it being so darn good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2006

      Just the recipe I was looking for, of course it was posted on 'zaar! Delicious, I made almost as posted, including the balsamic vinegar which was a great addition! I don't have a pot big enough for all these indgredients so I cut it in half. It did not seem to have enough liquid, so I did add water to just about cover the ingredients and it was perfect for the two of us with plenty for leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2006

      This is far tastier than I was expecting!! Very easy to make (just a lot of chopping). I used more garlic. After cooking for a bit over an hour, I processed it in batches in my Vita-Mix to make a smooth pureed texture. This recipe will lend itself to lots of variation (i.e. different herbs/spices); I'll be making it a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Original Cabbage Soup Diet

    Serving Size: 1 (281 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 67.5
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    13%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 277.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 8.1 g
    32%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites