33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Pretty Tasty! I added some peas, corn, carrots, and lima beans to mine along with the rest of the veggies. i also added some beef broth and a little cayenne jalapeno hot sauce for some kick. Turned out pretty good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicky D April 13, 2010

Yum! I varied some of the amounts (less onion, less canned tomato, added some carrots), and I made it in the crock pot. It's really good! Especially with a little bit of hot sauce mixed in - I like a few drops of sriracha. I always want to eat light lunches during the holidays, to keep from gaining too much weight, but who wants to eat salads in the middle of winter?? This soup is great for this time of year, and so inexpensive, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mayness December 28, 2009

I was so lerry that this soup might be too acidic but much to my surprise, it was good. The balsamic vinegar was great. I only used one large onion....should I have really used 6 onions AND the bunch of green onions? I'll definitely make it again and I think I'll try roasting the veggies too before I add them to the soup. My husband liked it too even though he knew I made it as a way to drastically reduce my caloric intake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Cameo November 17, 2009

I really liked this! I used one can of diceds tomatoes and one of crushed tomatoes with basil, I also only used 4 onions. Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristiina August 03, 2009

I switched his up a bit and roasted 2 green and red bell peppers, a container of diced mushrooms and 2 large onions and 2 cloves of garlic (finely chopped) with some salt and pepper in a 425 degree oven for 20 minutes. Then I combined 2 cans of Muir Glen fire roasted crushed tomatoes with the remaining ingredients in a large stock pot to warm through before adding the roasted veggies and Spicy V8 (love my spicy stuff) and simmered for the time stated. I squeezed the lemon juice at the end of the cooking time and ate 2 huge bowls. Yummy! I think the balsamic vinegar and lemon are such a great addition to the original recipe. Thanks for posting this "oldie, but goodie."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandmakristin July 28, 2009

Good recipe, however I think I will cut the balsamic vinegar in half, it was a bit too tangy. Only thing I did different was add a cup of corn. It simmered for about an hour and the veggies were just tender but still firm. Thanks for a good rainy day soup recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candace Michelle March 16, 2009

Very good! I only had two onions and no bouillon or onion soup and it still turned out great. If anyone is looking for the 7-day eating plan you can get it at http://www.cabbage-soup-diet.com/eating-plan.html Thanks for posting, I hoping this will help take off my last 5 baby pounds!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Motivated Mama March 15, 2009

Am I missing something? It seems like this recipe should have included adding water? My soup turned out more like stew...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quim165 March 11, 2009

This was indeed 5 stars. It makes a ton. I'm not on a diet, so the next time, I'll throw in some beef or meat or other unhealthy things too. Maybe I'd throw in a bag of peas or green beans too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-d June 22, 2008
The Original Cabbage Soup Diet