Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Original Cabbage Soup Diet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Original Cabbage Soup Diet

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2012

      Be careful of what you add to this recipe as you may defeat the purpose of it. Carrots have a lot of sugar. 3 pounds of carrots equals the sugar found in a 20 oz can of coke. 2lbs.8oz of carrots equals the amount of sugar in a snickers bar. If you want to add flavour add fresh herbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2013

      So we did the actual week long diet. . .thanks for the inspiration! We followed it to a "T" and I lost 3 lbs and my hubby lost 6.5 lbs. It was actually an enjoyable diet as I like this soup and because each day they switch it up a bit with veggies or fruit or meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Even my 2 yr old loves it! Like other reviewers, I added about 3 lbs carrots, which I actually grated to enhance the tomato flavor. Also, this may sound odd, but I added 1 teaspoon of nutmeg and it was delicious! Several tomato based soups my family enjoys call for nutmeg, and I wasn't disappointed when I added it to this one

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      I used a half bag of matchstick carrots instead of the bell peppers (too slimy for my taste when cooked) and I did saute the onions with a tablespoon of chili oil. I initially left out the tomatoes and V8 and ate it that way the first day. The second day I added diced tomatoes and V8 along with lots of cayenne to what was left so I had two different soups from it. I found it pretty tasty--much better than I was expecting. Very fast, easy and healthy and used things I typically have on hand so I anticipate I'll make some smaller batches of it in the future.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2014

      Outstanding! Perfect as is, although I usually add a dash of worcestershire and another of hot sauce and puree a serving in my magic bullet so I can drink on the run. I drink it cold...tastes a lot like V8 (duh). I try to keep a batch on hand, not to diet, but because it's refreshing and sooo good for you! Love this soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      It's probably pretty good, but I hate to break it to you that the 'original' diet cabbage soup is from ...lemme see....40 years ago? We lived around the corner from Mrs. Gooch's in WLA. I was 'chubby' as a child and was subjected to all kinds of holistic/health food diets. Yes, 'subjected'. Try eating nothing but apples for 3 days followed by an 8th of a cup of olive oil and lemon juice! UCK. <br/>In any event, the original base was just that. Cabbage. Now I realize it's more like a mirepoix with tomatoes added. 4 ingredients plus salt. Cabbage, whole stewed tomatoes, celery and onion. <br/>That said, then we'd add a tiny bit of this or that if desired. My mom was one of those that didn't know the beauty of herbs and spices for flavoring. So it was purely by accident that we came across using parmigiana cheese. <br/>I agree that carrots would be a tad sweet, at least for my palate. Bell peppers sound great. I'm also going to try some parsley. Plus now I add garlic as well. I'm in the process of cooking up a batch at this moment. I'm guessing from the ingredients it will be at least a 4 star soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2012

      Great recipe! Makes a very large pot.... I put it in individual containers for ease of heating up throughout the week for lunch and dinner. I omitted the bell peppers and only added a couple onions. Making it again this week and using low sodium tomatoes and V8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      I was skeptical, but this really is great! I wanted to add carrots, but stopped myself, thinking there must be a dietary reason for their absence (too much starch and sugar?). I used Spicy V-8 and followed monday night gal's suggestion, adding nutmeg (and ginger and savory). Very tasty "diet medicine"! Thank you for posting the original recipe, Spyder-man.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      This is the best soup ever! I remember eating it back when I was younger when my mom was trying to lose weight and I thought it was sooo good then! I use hardly any balsamic though as it makes it way too tangy for my taste, but a tablespoon or two gives it a nice flavor. We usually have this soup on hand since the recipe makes so much that we'll freeze a bunch of it. And it freezes very well! Once we run out we'll end up making another batch a week or two later. Thanks for finding this and posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      Gr8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      Pretty Tasty! I added some peas, corn, carrots, and lima beans to mine along with the rest of the veggies. i also added some beef broth and a little cayenne jalapeno hot sauce for some kick. Turned out pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Yum! I varied some of the amounts (less onion, less canned tomato, added some carrots), and I made it in the crock pot. It's really good! Especially with a little bit of hot sauce mixed in - I like a few drops of sriracha. I always want to eat light lunches during the holidays, to keep from gaining too much weight, but who wants to eat salads in the middle of winter?? This soup is great for this time of year, and so inexpensive, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      I was so lerry that this soup might be too acidic but much to my surprise, it was good. The balsamic vinegar was great. I only used one large onion....should I have really used 6 onions AND the bunch of green onions? I'll definitely make it again and I think I'll try roasting the veggies too before I add them to the soup. My husband liked it too even though he knew I made it as a way to drastically reduce my caloric intake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      I really liked this! I used one can of diceds tomatoes and one of crushed tomatoes with basil, I also only used 4 onions. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      I switched his up a bit and roasted 2 green and red bell peppers, a container of diced mushrooms and 2 large onions and 2 cloves of garlic (finely chopped) with some salt and pepper in a 425 degree oven for 20 minutes. Then I combined 2 cans of Muir Glen fire roasted crushed tomatoes with the remaining ingredients in a large stock pot to warm through before adding the roasted veggies and Spicy V8 (love my spicy stuff) and simmered for the time stated. I squeezed the lemon juice at the end of the cooking time and ate 2 huge bowls. Yummy! I think the balsamic vinegar and lemon are such a great addition to the original recipe. Thanks for posting this "oldie, but goodie."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Good recipe, however I think I will cut the balsamic vinegar in half, it was a bit too tangy. Only thing I did different was add a cup of corn. It simmered for about an hour and the veggies were just tender but still firm. Thanks for a good rainy day soup recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      Very good! I only had two onions and no bouillon or onion soup and it still turned out great. If anyone is looking for the 7-day eating plan you can get it at http://www.cabbage-soup-diet.com/eating-plan.html Thanks for posting, I hoping this will help take off my last 5 baby pounds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      Am I missing something? It seems like this recipe should have included adding water? My soup turned out more like stew...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      This was indeed 5 stars. It makes a ton. I'm not on a diet, so the next time, I'll throw in some beef or meat or other unhealthy things too. Maybe I'd throw in a bag of peas or green beans too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      I was pleasantly surprised! This is such a great soup, and perfect to suppliment any diet - especially you WW out there! I like spice, so I used Spicy Hot V8, chopped & de-seeded some jalepenos, extra garlic, and then about 12-14 dashes of Tabasco! It's a great pick me up! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Original Cabbage Soup Diet

    Serving Size: 1 (281 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 67.5
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    13%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 277.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 8.1 g
    32%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes