Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Original All Bran Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Original All Bran Muffins

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on November 10, 2008

      Thank you for posting this. I use this recipe for my basis when making my "healthy muffins". I sub whey protein for 1/4 c. of the flour, I use splenda instead of sugar, a mashed banana or a 1/2 cup of canned pumpkin is always nice plus some cinnamon for flavor. I was just thinking of posting this so I don't lose it again and you did it! Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      On my monthly shopping spree I bought two large cereal boxes that were on promotion. They each came with a smaller box of all-bran flakes. This is not my usual brand of bran flakes, and I found them to be tasting like cardbox. This recipe became ideal for the purpose of using these bad bran-flakes. I timed it by three and added a cup of cake mix. A nother bonus was not having to use paper cups, as they came easily out of the pan. Will make again in orded to use the rest of the unused cereal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      Always love this one! I chop up 1 apple and add it in just before placing in cups. Tastes wonderful and is a healthy breakfast for everyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      Although this is very good, it isn't really the original recipe that appeared on Nabisco bran cereal boxes before the late 70s or early 80s, and I think that is what many of us remember when we think of our mother's recipes. I still have the original, which I will place here. If this one doesn't taste like what you remember, try the earlier one. You can substitute Kellogg's All Bran for the Nabisco cereal. I think this one is better because of the brown sugar.<br/>1 Egg<br/>1 c milk<br/>3 Tbsp vegetable oil<br/>1-1/2 cups Nabisco 100% Bran Cereal<br/>1 c sifted all purpose flour<br/>2 - 1/2 tsp baking powder<br/>1/2 tsp salt<br/>1/4 cup light brown sugar, firmly packed<br/><br/>Beat first three ingredients. Stir in cereal and let stand 5 mins (or longer). Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. Blend in sugar. Add bran mixture, stirring just until combined, do not overmix. Fille greased muffin tins 2/3 full. Bake at 400 degrees for 18 - 20 mins. Makes 12 2-1/2 muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2013

      I substitute 2 cups of unsweetened applesauce for the milk in this recipe. Add 1/2 tsp cinnamon and raisins. Great muffins!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2013

      I love this recipe!!! I make these every few days and eat 2 mini muffins every morning!! Great source of fiber!! I do add a banana to the recipe or raisins once in a while, but i love them plain as well!!!! Not super sweet, just perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      This makes delicious muffins. I substituted spenda for the sugar and added 1/2 c of unsweetened applesauce. Splenda is a wonderful product - but it does not add the moistness that you get from sugar so I think it's important to add that back in. Pumpkin or banana would be good too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      Wonderful! Made 55 mini muffins - delicious little crispy bites. Used butter instead of PAM. Used whipping cream instead of milk & oil - had to add 1/4 cup more water with the egg. A splash of vanilla & a teaspoon of ginger - baked for 17 minutes & cooled on cookie rack - crispy deliciousness! Bringing a handful in to early am meeting - just the thing instead of stale "muffins" offered as breakfast (bringing my own coffee too LOL).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      Pretty good. Not as good as I remember my mom making. Could have been just a touch sweeter. Maybe next time I will add raisins like I saw a few do. Overall, a decent muffin. Thanks for posting this recipe. I am going to definitely play around with it for a bit though. ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      Really yummy, great with butter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      These were a great basic muffin, not too sweet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      These muffins turned out good. I doubled the recipe and added in a cup of raisens. Will be making again!! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      eBeths' daughter: I couldn't beleive how good these were! Must try different darks and lights of all bran, either way, it tastes great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      Easy and good!!!I added also a handful of raisins.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      Great recipe.. not so sweet like a sicky sweet icing'd muffin. Wonderful for on the go breakfast..good cold or hot...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      i love this recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2014

      You can make these gluten free by subbing brown rice or oat flour for the all purpose. They come out great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2014

      Used to make this recipe back in the middle 80's. So happy to find this again. It was on the All Bran cereal box back then but has not been on there since. All the other bran muffin recipes don't have you soak the bran in the milk for half an hour. That was how I knew this was the recipe I had lost. Made this the muffins today and ... oh my .... they are the best! Thank you Dienia B for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2014

      These are the way I remember the Kellogg's Bran Muffin being! (NOT the Nabisco recipe which is a sweeter muffin). I love these because they are not so sweet and have a wonderful bran taste/smell. Brings me back to my childhood when my mom would make these for us kids. Today's typical muffins contain too much sugar IMO so these are awesome little sweet but not too much. (now if only I can find a way to make them gluten free lol)....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2012

      Great recipe incorporating All Bran cereal. Healthy and delicious!!!
      Made for ZaarStars~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Original All Bran Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (67 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 169.4
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    34%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 19.0 mg
    6%
    Sodium 233.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites