Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)
    Lost? Site Map

    The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)

    Average Rating:

    319 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 319

    Sort by:

    • on December 09, 2012

      I turned it into cupcakes for my son's school cupcake wars and to me it took the cake

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2012

      Just as it says

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      delicious! Thank you.
      I even adjusted it ever so slightly.... sorry... to make it kid friendly without the coffee, added a cup of hot milo (4 heaped teaspoons of milo) yummy. But the coffee in it is delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2012

      Absolutely fantastic cake recipe. Everyone I made it for enjoyed it, it tastes well with vanilla ice cream also. The coffee I added was hazelnut and it added such a wonderful extra taste to the cake.

      The only thing I would change is to add a bit of sugar(about 1/4 cup) to the frosting if your making it for a birthday party or something for kids or teens. I'm 17 and I don't mind it that much, but my 14 year old sister didn't like the frosting at all.

      Otherwise, amazing cake recipe, I plan on making this in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      I am so not a cake baker, but I made this cake for a good friend's birthday this past weekend. It took about 40 minutes to bake in 9" pans, but otherwise it is great! Moist and flavorful! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2012

      Very easy to make and comes out very delicious too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2012

      Perfect didn't make the icing since I made it into an ice cream cake and put a chocolate sauce between and topped with whip cream. For a birthday! Made 2 days ahead based on comments and reduced the salt. Thanks can't wait to make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      I followed the recipe exactly & was very pleased with how the cake turned out.It was very moist with a good chocolate flavor.I. baked it in two nine inch rounds and assemled like a layer cake for a birthday party.Everyone enjoyed it. The icing was tricky.I used all butter because I didn"t have shortening so after whipping for ten minutes it still looked a little grainy & watery so I added two cups of powdered sugar and it was fine.I made and iced the cake a day ahead & stored in the fridge overnight. Will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2012

      While the cake was easy to prepare, it was just too moist and light to maintain a shape. Its texture made for getting it out of a properly greased and floured pan a rather unpleasant experience. I did tamp the quite flavorful pieces in a smaller cylindrical mold and made a denser cake-for-one. I used the rest of the original batter to make cupcakes that were perfectly comestible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2012

      Taste was good; icing had little flavor. Really didn't do much for me. Wasn't bad, wasn't excellent. I've had much better luck (and received more compliments) with the "Just A Cake" recipe here on Food.com.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2012

      My search for the ultimate chocolate cake has ended. This cake is light, moist and tasty and whenever it is shared with friends they ask for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2012

      Not that this recipe needs another 5 star review, BUT! It is moist, chocolatey and delicious. Very easy to put together also. I baked in two 9" pans and frosted with a chocolate cream cheese icing for hubby's birthday. He LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2012

      I just made this cake for a friend's birthday and it was delicious. I do want to say that it was a firm, moist cake, with intense flavor, but I iced it with a pretty standard chocolate buttercream icing instead of the white icing, as I wanted all chocolate. I made 2 round layers, in some vintage pyrex plates, I turned the oven down 5 degrees and cooked it a little longer just to be sure it wouldn't burn or slump, as I'd never made it before. Turned out perfect. However, the cake was slightly too heavy to be adhered together by the buttercream. As soon as we cut it, it started trying to mudslide and jump off the stand. Several people grabbed plates and claimed their portions just in time before it hit the table. All the pieces tried to jump off at once. There wasn't any left after, so that was okay, but it was kind of dramatic. We were all laughing. In future, I'm going to treat the recipe differently. I'll probably make it in one layer, or make a half recipe and cut into thinner layers to stack. We all agreed that it would be wonderful with cream cheese or mascarpone, and raspberry jam or crushed cherries, as a sort of improvised Black Forest cake, maybe some almonds, and chocolate on the top. I'll probably make this cake again, but not in the same way. It was certainly easy to make and bake, I liked that, but it's not the basic delicious chocolate cake I was expecting. Delicious, yes, but a bit dense.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      Great cake. The recipe is a perfect chocolate fix. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      I have made this cake several times now. It is my 'go to' chocolate cake recipe. I needed to make a 12x18 pan (half sheet) so I doubled the recipe. The cake baked up perfectly I this pan ( filled the 3" deep pan to the top once baked) It baked flat and evenly. I have yet to try the icing as all the requests so far have been for chocolate icing. Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      very good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      Made this cake and it was DELICIOUS! Very chocolately and very moist! Also, makes great cupcakes. My question is whether or not this recipe can be doubled? I have a 4 tier wedding cake I have to make and want to know if I can double the recipe with no problems.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2012

      So moist and rich. Yummy. I didn't use your frosting recipe because with opted to top it was ice cream and hot fudge.....omg so good. The cake is very moist. I'm glad you added in the instructions that the batter would be runny cuz I would have been worried. This baked up so nice. I have found our "go to" chocolate cake recipe. Thank yo for posting you recipe. So good. Edited to add: DD made the frosting this time for the wonderful moist cake and it was fantastic. So creamy and just the right amount of sweetness. This cake is a winner from start to finish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2012

      This recipe is absolutely the best!!! its my first chocolate cake done from scratch and it came out just wonderful. is tastes really good and the texture is off the hook. can't wait for my friends to taste it, they going to love it.
      I made one alteration though, I used 1/4 cup cocoa power and 1/2 cup melted chocolate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2012

      My usual "no fail" chocolate cake recipe was failing me--so I needed a new one fast--and this is it! I used an additional cup of milk instead of the coffee and thought it was still lovely, rich, and moist. A definite keeper! As a plus, it baked up fairly evenly for decorating (I used my own frosting, but this one does look good)! Thank you for saving me and for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 477.9
     
    Calories from Fat 254
    53%
    Total Fat 28.2 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 42.7 mg
    14%
    Sodium 401.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.1 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 37.6 g
    150%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites