349 Reviews

i was dying to make this cake n it turned out well i mean it didnt crumble didnt break wasnt flat was moist but somehow there was something lacking in it it wasnt really chocolaty a simple sponge cake cud taste better i usually dnt like giving bad reviews but somehow i just cudnt figure out the taste i added extra sugar but still it wasnt enough i made it as the recipe called for it looked exactly like the picture the frosting was good wen refrigeated cud easily be piped out i wud definitely be using the frosting again mayb i try this cake again with some more sugar n some choco chips sorry!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jas kaur July 13, 2007

For some reason, the cake didn't turn out as well for me as the other reviews said. I'm sure I probably just didn't do something right, but the cake had an odd aftertaste and so did the frosting. It was, however, very moist and rich, but there was just something about the taste that I didn't like much. I'll make sure to try this recipe a second time, though, and see how it compares.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Epicaricacy December 03, 2006

the cake is really delicious..... and i love the coffee taste!!! frosting was very good but a little too heavy for my taste.... one of the best chocolate cake i found too!!!! thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marella March 21, 2004

I made this cake to use in a tripple chocolate triffle. It was the perfect foil to the chocolate pudding because of the slight bitterness the coffee added. I will have to try this again another time and use the frosting which sounds yummie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stimied December 07, 2003

Great recipe, Karen. The Frosting is good and easy and very different indeed. Thanks for a great treat. Our family really ejoyed this one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunbeam October 06, 2003

This is a very easy recipe, and very good. I'm sure I will make it many times. Because of some reviews I did make a few changes. I used 7 oz. of coffee (no big deal), and only 1/2 cup of milk. I did detect a certain "saltiness" what with 2tsp of soda and 1tsp salt, so next time, I'll just use 1/4 tsp salt. The icing I used 13 Tbsp of butter, omitted the shortening, and kept all else the same. It came out great. Personally, I prefer it not chilled.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marji August 18, 2003

I got this recipe in April for my boyfriend, who by the way does not care for cake or sweets and seemed sort of indifferent about my baking him his birthday cake but when he tasted it, he could not stop, he came back for thirds!!! I was flattered and thought he was putting me on but when I got a taste, I was blown away. It was even better the second day after sitting in the fridge over night, WARNING: DO NOT BAKE THIS CAKE IF YOU ARE WATCHING YOUR WEIGHT!!! It will sit in the fridge and call to you ;P

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vanda Gonzales June 02, 2003

It didn't taste bad (very moist and chocolaty) but WAY too "heavy". I served this at my friends 21st bday and most people only ate half a piece of the cake. Plus the frosting was way too buttery. Sorry to go against the crowd.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juliann May 29, 2003

Incredible! I borrowed the flour needed from a neighbor and in return gave him some of this cake. He said it was well worth the loan of the flour-beautiful I think he called the cake. I needed a recipe to wow at a party and i know I have found it!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ninafromhawaiina May 23, 2003

Karen isn't kidding when she says that this is 'The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need!' It's AWESOME!!! The cake's wonderfully rich and moist without being overly sweet, and the frosting complements the cake nicely. I halved the recipe to make an 8-inch (round) cake, and it took about 45 minutes to bake at 325F. Three quarters of the frosting recipe yields *JUST* enough to fill and frost an 8-inch cake. This recipe's a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
purpledino May 09, 2003
The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)