331 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Incredible! I borrowed the flour needed from a neighbor and in return gave him some of this cake. He said it was well worth the loan of the flour-beautiful I think he called the cake. I needed a recipe to wow at a party and i know I have found it!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ninafromhawaiina May 23, 2003

Karen isn't kidding when she says that this is 'The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need!' It's AWESOME!!! The cake's wonderfully rich and moist without being overly sweet, and the frosting complements the cake nicely. I halved the recipe to make an 8-inch (round) cake, and it took about 45 minutes to bake at 325F. Three quarters of the frosting recipe yields *JUST* enough to fill and frost an 8-inch cake. This recipe's a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
purpledino May 09, 2003

Great title for this cake! This is the exact recipe (except for the icing) that my Mother has been using for years....my sister and I now use it faithfully!I am fairly new to recipezaar and had planned on posting it,but you beat me to it...good thing i browsed around the top 100 recipes first!!!!Funny that you mentioned you like the cake chilled as i really like it that way too!! I think i will try your icing with it next time and i also like the raspberry idea! Pure Heaven!! The last time i made this recipe my husband happened to have Irish cream coffee brewing so i used it anyway! It turned out just as great as usual! I may try experimenting now with different flavored coffees in it! Hazelnut vanilla i bet would be AWESOME! Our recipe directions are not as detailed as your though....we just throw it all in the bowl at once and mix....comes out perfect! I may try your steps though and see if it comes out any better though i can't imagine it could get any better!!This truly is "The only chocolate cake recipe you will ever need!!!!"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhonda *J* April 24, 2003

Wow! That's all I can say. All the 5 star reviews that everyone else gave sum up exactly how I feel. This cake is awesome. The cake and frosting are not too sweet, but the tasty and rich cake is topped with a creamy frosting. Everyone should make this cake at least once... you will not regret it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking to Perfection March 26, 2003

This cake is AMAZING! My husband kept asking for a 'regular, good, chocolate cake'. I tried a few and he wasn't impressed... but this cake he LOVED! I have made it about 5 times already - it's a huge hit with the neighbors too. I am rather new in the kitchen - this cake was so easy to make and so yummy and came out just perfect. This really is the only chocolate cake recipe I'll every need. Thanks! Lynne

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LynneG February 25, 2003

I have made this recipe twice with great results. The second time I made 12 cupcakes and a 9"X9" cake. I would suggest using salted butter or unsalted butter with a little salt for the icing to enhance the taste a little. The cake is rich and moist and wonderful and the icing is not hard to do at all.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boxerwing February 24, 2003

Cake was very good and easy to make. Icing was easy to make and work with but just okay. Too many great toppings to ever use this one again. Will make the cake again but not the icing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 24, 2015

I made this recipe into cupcakes and a small maybe 4 inch round two layer cake. It was amazing. It's very moist, not too rich, and not too sweet. It's perfect! By far my favorite cake recipe! I made wedding cake icing instead and they paired perfectly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayla P. May 24, 2015

This is not only the best chocolate cake recipe I've ever used, but it's also the best chocolate cake I've ever eaten. It's perfect and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 07, 2015

I made this cake for my daughters 2nd bday yesterday. This cake is so delicious. Everyone loved it, compliments all around, especially about the frosting. I made the cake exactly as directed in the recipe, frosting too. The cake is moist and fluffy yet still rich and chocolaty. The frosting is almost silky...such a great texture. I did two 9in rounds and layered them. Sprayed with cooking spray and then dusted with cocoa powder instead of flour. Baked 325 for 27 minutes. Cooled completely and then did a crumb coat and let it chill overnight. (I also put a layer of mini choc chips in the center on top of the frosting which gave it a nice little surprise middle bite without changing too much). I took the frosting out of the fridge like 15 minutes before I was ready to frost and it was beautiful to work with. Frosted wonderfully! I can't say enough good things about this delicious recipe, will certainly be making again! I'm eating some as I post this...hard as it is, I am being nice and saving my daughter the last piece of her bday cake for her treat tomorrow, haha!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 01, 2015
The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)