Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)
    Lost? Site Map

    The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)

    Average Rating:

    324 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 324

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2013

      I have made this cake many many times and it is absolutely EXCELLENT!!! This last time, I completely forgot to add the oil (by accident) and it was still a great cake. No one knows, but me. I thought it was slightly drier than normal (becuz it's such a moist cake), and I remembered that I didn't add any oil. So, if you're trying to cut down on fat, maybe add less oil and see how you like it !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      Admittedly I'm not the best cake maker (and it'll show in this review), but in my family I am generally regarded as the best 'cook'. So naturally my sister came to me asking to make a cake for my mother's birthday. She's an insane chocolate-lover so when I saw this recipe I knew I wouldn't have to look further. This recipe truly does deserve all the credit it has gotten up to this point!<br/><br/>All the ingredients are incredibly common, only needed a bit more butter, and the instructions crystal clear. You'd really have to try to mess this cake batter up when making it. Put it in a 9" x 13" for the recommended time and it came out beautiful! Unfortunately this is where my problems started, as always. After getting the frosting going I impatiently and mistakenly tried to remove the cake from the pan. The end result was not pleasant and the cake ended up in at least 3 pieces. Fortunately, however, I was able to mold what I had into a passable shape. Afraid it would fall apart at first touch I stuck it in the freezer for just under an hour hoping it would take shape (I'd seen this suggestion for putting the frosting on and figured it would serve my purposes as well). Luckily that worked very well and the frosting turned out light enough to spread without any issue. Stuck it in the fridge after I was done frosting and it turned out great.<br/><br/>It was by no means a perfect or even particularly "pretty" cake, but fortunately my family wouldn't know any better just by looking. As far as they're concerned it came out perfect! Will definitely be turning to this recipe in the future, favorited!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2013

      I used just slightly less sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

    • on August 24, 2013

      I have to say, I doubted this frosting, but tried it as we were urged to, and it is yummmmmmy. I made these as cupcakes and tinted the frosting pink for a little girls birthday party, then stacked them and put a candle in each one (it makes 2 doz). Huge success and so good!!! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2013

      Let me first say that I did not try the homemade frosting with this. But this was one of the best cakes I ever had and I'm not a big fan of chocolate cake. My boyfriend said it was the best chocolate cake he ever had and requests it for every occasion. I was scared to add the coffee because I don't like the flavor of it but you couldn't even taste it. If you like a really moist chocolate cake, you should definitely give this a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2013

      WoW what a chocolate cake, I made this for my Father in Law and now have requests for it for all the adult birthday parties in the family. I cant think of any other cake I would make. I put some raspberry Jam in the center with the frosting..it really made it pop.. I might try some orange extract in it next time..yum! very best.. thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      I didn't have a good chocolate cake recipe, so I decided to try this one after reading the reviews. It's not an overly sweet cake, but it perfectly complemented my chocolate buttercream frosting. The cake itself was very moist and had a nice rich chocolate flavor. I made it exactly as the recipe stated, except for the frosting. It was perfect! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      Yummy! I can't post a picture because we ate the cake so fast!<br/><br/>This will be my go-to recipie for chocolate cake from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2013

      This cake was great!! Plan on making it again this week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2013

      This the BEST chocolate cake I've ever made, and the easiest! It took slightly longer to cook - more like 40 minutes, and as I have a fan oven, I had to set it on 160C, about 10 degrees less than stated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      I made this today and It was so good! The cake was moist but not to sweet, that's a good cake for my dad because he doesn't like too sweet cakes.<br/>And it was perfect! (Notice that I'm just 12 and I love baking)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      I had given up on making cakes from scratch because they never turn out right for me. I'm so glad I tried one last time, because this cake was amazing. It was so moist and delicious, my MIL couldn't stop eating it! It really does taste better and better every day. I used hot water instead of coffee (I didn't have any), and it still came out great. I made cupcakes out of it, and I've been eating them without frosting because they're THAT GOOD! No more box mixes for me!<br/>(I didn't make the icing, so this review is for the cake only)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2013

      This is a really good cake. Since we aren't coffee drinkers I used Folgers instant coffee which I made a little too strong by accident which gave the cake a light Mocha flavoring. I paired it with a white chocolate frosting. It was OMG amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      My son and I were wanting chocolate cupcakes one night, and after trying a couple of recipes that didn't measure up to our craving, I came across this one. This is the absolute best chocolate cake, hands down. It's got a nice, rich chocolatey flavor without being too sweet, and comes out so soft and moist. I got two dozen cupcakes out of a batch of batter... there's only three of us in our household, so I thought I'd have to freeze some. Turns out that was unnecessary, as they were gone in a few days! Just pulled some more out of the oven, and this time I added chocolate chips. Heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      I agree. Have been using another recipe for years that was just a bit off so tried this one- perfect. We are not a "sweet" dessert family and this cake is all about the cocoa- I used Valrhona French Cocoa. We like them warm without frosting, but since it was my son's 18th birthday (he asked specifically for warm chocolate cake) I made a chocolate sauce with tangerine oil, and a 3-berry sauce to serve on the side. Did one and a half times the recipe in a 9 1/2 x 13 1/2 Le Crueset baking dish for a deep cake. Baked perfectly. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      I was searching for the perfect chocolate cake recipe and this one is for keeps! I tried this recipe for the first time this weekend - all I can say is WOW! It was the most amazing chocolate cake I have ever eaten :) The guests loved it, the kids even loved it - all round I would highly recommend this recipe! 5 stars for sure! I substituted the frosting with a chocolate ganache. Thank you Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2013

      I agree with the title. I will never need to use a different recipe again! Very moist, intense chocolate flavour, but well balanced and not overly sweet. Unlike my other chocolate cake recipe which is also delicious, this one holds up well and is not too crumbly. I halved the recipe and used a tall 6 inch round pan and it took about 1 hour for it to cook through.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      I have now used this cake for approximately 5 layer cakes and literally, hundreds if not a thousand cupcakes for school, parties, sports, bake sales etc etc etc and this recipe is PERFECT. One batch makes about 24 - 26 cupcakes, and it bakes for 18 -19 minutes in my oven. I have never tried the frosting since the first time I made this cake, It was for a cake decorating contest and so I used Wilton's butter cream recipe and the flavour combo was so amazing I just stuck with it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      Made cupcakes, huge hit, icing fantastic, not too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 477.9
     
    Calories from Fat 254
    53%
    Total Fat 28.2 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 42.7 mg
    14%
    Sodium 401.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.1 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 37.6 g
    150%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes