345 Reviews

Deeeeelicious! Super moist dark chocolate cake. Tastes even better days later.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sniffany August 02, 2012

Delicious!! I made this cake for my final project for my Wilton cake decorating class, with Bavarian Cream Filling (Bavarian Cream) and Nutella buttercream frosting... truly decadent!! I was a little worried about the coffee, but it doesn't taste like coffee, especially once you get the frosting on it. We aren't coffee drinkers, but I keep packets of Starbucks instant coffee around the house for guests, so I used that.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SashasMommy February 28, 2012

Wow, this cake is amazing, it turned out brown-almost black with a rich chocolate taste. By mistake (old eyes) I used 1/3 cup cocoa instead of 1/4 cup, but neither the cake's taste nor texture suffered as a result. This is hands down the best cake I have ever baked. DH said the cake was so good, just sprinkle some confectioner's sugar on it instead of icing or frosting. Made for DH's birthday and I Recommend Tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL June 29, 2011

I dont usually write reviews but I just made this cake and it is THE BEST chocolate cake I have EVER had. Its really moist, not too sweet & surprisingly light, I didnt bother with the frosting served with fresh cream & raspberries.....chocolate cake heaven!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ambs14 November 26, 2010

Great cake, but never mind this frosting recipe. It is much better with a nice fluffy boiled icing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhonda ODonnell October 30, 2010

I make a lot of different cakes and I like this one because it came out very moist. I added a french vanilla coffee and replaced the interior frosting with raspberry jam and the exterior frosting with chocolate ganache and fresh raspberries, it was a hit! Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ryan_baker July 20, 2010

This cake is so good! When I took my first bite, I was pleasantly surprised with a burst of chocolate, the old fashioned devil's food cake chocolate. The recipe is easy to follow, the times are right on, and I definately will be making this again! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLUFFSTER July 18, 2010

I'm so glad I tried this recipe. The cake is very rich, moist and delicious. I've tried a few chocolate recipes from scratch but this is my new favorite. The cake tastes the best right out of the fridge so make it in advance the morning of your event. I was worried about the icing but my relatives all raved about it and said usually they don't like icing. I will defintely make this again. I did not make any changes. Maybe next time I will bake it in a 9 x 13 pan because the cake did stick to the 9" round.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
997647 June 20, 2010

I have made this at least 10 times. I am usually not a fan of chocolate cake, but my family is. After trying it the first time I couldn't believe how good it was and have ended up making it over and over.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo@home March 18, 2010

Because I knew my next review would be my 100th here at Zaar, I wanted it to be for something extra special. This cake was the perfect choice! Oh my gosh, it is so good!! It rose up so light and fluffy, and the taste is out of this world!! I followed the recipe exactly. Chocolate lovers will be in heaven when they try it. Thanks Karen, for this awesome recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelles3boys March 04, 2010
The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)