327 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this at least 10 times. I am usually not a fan of chocolate cake, but my family is. After trying it the first time I couldn't believe how good it was and have ended up making it over and over.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo@home March 18, 2010

Because I knew my next review would be my 100th here at Zaar, I wanted it to be for something extra special. This cake was the perfect choice! Oh my gosh, it is so good!! It rose up so light and fluffy, and the taste is out of this world!! I followed the recipe exactly. Chocolate lovers will be in heaven when they try it. Thanks Karen, for this awesome recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelles3boys March 04, 2010

OMGosh!! I made this cake for my FIL birthday and between 6 of us we demolished this cake within an afternoon. Its so good and the taste is awesome. Nice and thick yet still fluffy! It was so easy to make and really turned me off of box cakes. Great recipe, thanks for sharing! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brookers February 13, 2010

This truly is the best devil's food cake I have ever had. It's full of flavor without being too rich and heavy. It actually seems quite light. It's also very moist and seemed freshly baked three days later. I made it with Dunkin Donuts coffee, Hershey's Special Dark cocoa powder, and Kittencal's chocolate buttercream frosting recipe. Highly recommended!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Acosta February 07, 2010

I was skeptical when my batter seemed kind of soupy, but since the recipe advised that it would be thin, I put it in the oven and hoped that the reviews were true. This is one of THE BEST chocolate cake recipes I've come across. It is moist, beautifully light with great chocolate flavor and not overwhelmingly sweet. I used a seven-minute frosting and drizzled melted unsweetened chocolate around the edges to counter-balance the sweetness of the icing. This is a recipe that will be saved and passed on.THE ONLY CHOCOLATE CAKE RECIPE I WILL EVER NEED!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shugarnspyce January 17, 2010

It is probably the best chocolate cake we have had. I made it for my wife's birthday a couple of years ago, and she asks for it a couple of times a year...so that is what I am doing today.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toddkennedy December 07, 2009

You aren't kidding - this cake is to die for! It is very dangerous though - you could literally sit down and eat this entire cake. It is very fine and thus almost melts in your mouth. I made this cake for my son's birthday party. I think I failed to let it cool enough before frosting and it literally fell apart. Not the recipe but the chef! However, we still ate it and it was delicious! I did use 1/4 teaspoon salt per the other chefs' recommendations. I used "Kittencal's Creamy White Buttercream Frosting/Icing" (#80118) which was great with the cake. I will always bake this cake from now on - my family already wants me to bake another one and we just devoured this one today!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurelAnn October 20, 2009

Totally delicious ! Lovely texture and great flavour...will make this one again for sure! I used a different icing though as I'm not a big fan of shortening. Mine was a chocolate cream cheese icing and it worked very well with this cake. Thanks so much for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfletcher October 18, 2009

I was worried when the batter came out very thin, but this recipe made an awesome, moist, dense (but not brownie-like) cake! I subbed 1 C unsweetened applesauce for the 1 C oil, and used only about 1/2 t salt. Perfect. I will definitely turn to this recipe when I want to make chocolate cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely September 20, 2009

This is a 6 star cake!! It was amazing and moist. I iced it. It was so moist I had to freeze it in order to get the icing on. All of my guests loved it!! I would definately make this cake again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zorreena August 30, 2009
The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)