331 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yup, this is an absolutely wonderful chocolate cake!! However, I made this on a Friday night, frosted on Saturday morning, had the first bite on Saturday afternoon, and actually agreed with Juliann; somehow heavy and there seemed to be too much frosting. But... when I had this on Sunday, I was in chocolate heaven. As the cake had sat in the fridge overnight, the flavours had blended together beautifully and the cake was just perfect! So, my tastebuds would recommend that you make this at least one day ahead and keep in the fridge. Thank you for the recipe, Karen, I'm in luuurve with this cake!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee June 09, 2003

I have made this cake many many times and it is absolutely EXCELLENT!!! This last time, I completely forgot to add the oil (by accident) and it was still a great cake. No one knows, but me. I thought it was slightly drier than normal (becuz it's such a moist cake), and I remembered that I didn't add any oil. So, if you're trying to cut down on fat, maybe add less oil and see how you like it !!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RN4IttyBits September 10, 2013

This was amazing! I was kind of leery about the coffee as i hate coffee but decided to just go for it. Wow do not skip out on the coffee i made this for last christmas and am now planning on making it for Thanksgiving this is clearly my go to chocolate cake recipe. If you are a chocolate lover such as myself, you will not be disappointed in this incredibly moist recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eternitii October 28, 2012

Deeeeelicious! Super moist dark chocolate cake. Tastes even better days later.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sniffany August 02, 2012

Delicious!! I made this cake for my final project for my Wilton cake decorating class, with Bavarian Cream Filling (Bavarian Cream) and Nutella buttercream frosting... truly decadent!! I was a little worried about the coffee, but it doesn't taste like coffee, especially once you get the frosting on it. We aren't coffee drinkers, but I keep packets of Starbucks instant coffee around the house for guests, so I used that.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SashasMommy February 28, 2012

Wow, this cake is amazing, it turned out brown-almost black with a rich chocolate taste. By mistake (old eyes) I used 1/3 cup cocoa instead of 1/4 cup, but neither the cake's taste nor texture suffered as a result. This is hands down the best cake I have ever baked. DH said the cake was so good, just sprinkle some confectioner's sugar on it instead of icing or frosting. Made for DH's birthday and I Recommend Tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL June 29, 2011

I dont usually write reviews but I just made this cake and it is THE BEST chocolate cake I have EVER had. Its really moist, not too sweet & surprisingly light, I didnt bother with the frosting served with fresh cream & raspberries.....chocolate cake heaven!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ambs14 November 26, 2010

Great cake, but never mind this frosting recipe. It is much better with a nice fluffy boiled icing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhonda ODonnell October 30, 2010

I make a lot of different cakes and I like this one because it came out very moist. I added a french vanilla coffee and replaced the interior frosting with raspberry jam and the exterior frosting with chocolate ganache and fresh raspberries, it was a hit! Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ryan_baker July 20, 2010

This cake is so good! When I took my first bite, I was pleasantly surprised with a burst of chocolate, the old fashioned devil's food cake chocolate. The recipe is easy to follow, the times are right on, and I definately will be making this again! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLUFFSTER July 18, 2010
The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)