Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)
    Lost? Site Map

    The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)

    Average Rating:

    319 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 319

    Sort by:

    • on August 24, 2009

      Very good strong recipe for dark chocolate cake. I used 1/4 cup less than called for in the sugar and a "scant" 1 cup of the oil. (I would use a little less again next time.) I did not make the frosting, but used a chocolate cream cheese frosting from this website.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      This cake was very moist, light, and silky, however, I just didn't think it was sweet enough. I think if I make it again I will add more sugar. Its lack of sweetness made it taste bland. I'm sorry, I wanted to love this. The texture is great, but the flavor is lacking. I made cupcakes. It made 26 cupcakes and I baked them at 325 degrees for 23 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      i was dying to make this cake n it turned out well i mean it didnt crumble didnt break wasnt flat was moist but somehow there was something lacking in it it wasnt really chocolaty a simple sponge cake cud taste better i usually dnt like giving bad reviews but somehow i just cudnt figure out the taste i added extra sugar but still it wasnt enough i made it as the recipe called for it looked exactly like the picture the frosting was good wen refrigeated cud easily be piped out i wud definitely be using the frosting again mayb i try this cake again with some more sugar n some choco chips sorry!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      For some reason, the cake didn't turn out as well for me as the other reviews said. I'm sure I probably just didn't do something right, but the cake had an odd aftertaste and so did the frosting. It was, however, very moist and rich, but there was just something about the taste that I didn't like much. I'll make sure to try this recipe a second time, though, and see how it compares.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      the cake is really delicious..... and i love the coffee taste!!! frosting was very good but a little too heavy for my taste.... one of the best chocolate cake i found too!!!! thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2003

      I made this cake to use in a tripple chocolate triffle. It was the perfect foil to the chocolate pudding because of the slight bitterness the coffee added. I will have to try this again another time and use the frosting which sounds yummie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2003

      Great recipe, Karen. The Frosting is good and easy and very different indeed. Thanks for a great treat. Our family really ejoyed this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2003

      This is a very easy recipe, and very good. I'm sure I will make it many times. Because of some reviews I did make a few changes. I used 7 oz. of coffee (no big deal), and only 1/2 cup of milk. I did detect a certain "saltiness" what with 2tsp of soda and 1tsp salt, so next time, I'll just use 1/4 tsp salt. The icing I used 13 Tbsp of butter, omitted the shortening, and kept all else the same. It came out great. Personally, I prefer it not chilled.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2003

      I got this recipe in April for my boyfriend, who by the way does not care for cake or sweets and seemed sort of indifferent about my baking him his birthday cake but when he tasted it, he could not stop, he came back for thirds!!! I was flattered and thought he was putting me on but when I got a taste, I was blown away. It was even better the second day after sitting in the fridge over night, WARNING: DO NOT BAKE THIS CAKE IF YOU ARE WATCHING YOUR WEIGHT!!! It will sit in the fridge and call to you ;P

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2003

      It didn't taste bad (very moist and chocolaty) but WAY too "heavy". I served this at my friends 21st bday and most people only ate half a piece of the cake. Plus the frosting was way too buttery. Sorry to go against the crowd.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2003

      Incredible! I borrowed the flour needed from a neighbor and in return gave him some of this cake. He said it was well worth the loan of the flour-beautiful I think he called the cake. I needed a recipe to wow at a party and i know I have found it!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2003

      Karen isn't kidding when she says that this is 'The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need!' It's AWESOME!!! The cake's wonderfully rich and moist without being overly sweet, and the frosting complements the cake nicely. I halved the recipe to make an 8-inch (round) cake, and it took about 45 minutes to bake at 325F. Three quarters of the frosting recipe yields *JUST* enough to fill and frost an 8-inch cake. This recipe's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2003

      Great title for this cake! This is the exact recipe (except for the icing) that my Mother has been using for years....my sister and I now use it faithfully!I am fairly new to recipezaar and had planned on posting it,but you beat me to it...good thing i browsed around the top 100 recipes first!!!!Funny that you mentioned you like the cake chilled as i really like it that way too!! I think i will try your icing with it next time and i also like the raspberry idea! Pure Heaven!! The last time i made this recipe my husband happened to have Irish cream coffee brewing so i used it anyway! It turned out just as great as usual! I may try experimenting now with different flavored coffees in it! Hazelnut vanilla i bet would be AWESOME! Our recipe directions are not as detailed as your though....we just throw it all in the bowl at once and mix....comes out perfect! I may try your steps though and see if it comes out any better though i can't imagine it could get any better!!This truly is "The only chocolate cake recipe you will ever need!!!!"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2003

      Wow! That's all I can say. All the 5 star reviews that everyone else gave sum up exactly how I feel. This cake is awesome. The cake and frosting are not too sweet, but the tasty and rich cake is topped with a creamy frosting. Everyone should make this cake at least once... you will not regret it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2003

      This cake is AMAZING! My husband kept asking for a 'regular, good, chocolate cake'. I tried a few and he wasn't impressed... but this cake he LOVED! I have made it about 5 times already - it's a huge hit with the neighbors too. I am rather new in the kitchen - this cake was so easy to make and so yummy and came out just perfect. This really is the only chocolate cake recipe I'll every need. Thanks! Lynne

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2003

      I have made this recipe twice with great results. The second time I made 12 cupcakes and a 9"X9" cake. I would suggest using salted butter or unsalted butter with a little salt for the icing to enhance the taste a little. The cake is rich and moist and wonderful and the icing is not hard to do at all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2014

      I just love this recipe, The cake is moist and soft. I Make this quite often and even get requests to make it all the time. it is so easy. I just reduce the cocoa a little bit and it still comes out awesome. Thanks for this awesome recipe. when I bake it in 2 tins it is ready in 20mins. It takes about an hour to bake in 1 tin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2014

      This is the best chocolate cake ever! I am not known for my cooking but this cake recipe made me look like a super start! I didn't use the frosting recipe, instead I used "Buttercream Frosting from Sprinkles" on this website.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2014

      Delicious cake but stuck to the pan horribly. I followed the directions exactly. If I try this recipe again I will grease pan with Crisco.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2014

      The cake is easy and delicious. I used only half cup of cocoa as we like it lighter, and half melted butter half oil. The frosting didn't work well for me. It looked sort of curdled (though it tasted delicious). I think it is my fault though, as I didn't follow the instructions as carefully as I could have - and I think the instructions could have been a little clearer. I chilled the flour mixture well but I think the butter wasn't soft enough (I think it should have been room temperature), and I didn't beat the sugar and butter together well enough before adding the flour mixture. I will definitely make again, but will be more careful with the frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 477.9
     
    Calories from Fat 254
    53%
    Total Fat 28.2 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 42.7 mg
    14%
    Sodium 401.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.1 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 37.6 g
    150%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites