Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)
    Lost? Site Map

    The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)

    Average Rating:

    319 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 319

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2003

      Yup, this is an absolutely wonderful chocolate cake!! However, I made this on a Friday night, frosted on Saturday morning, had the first bite on Saturday afternoon, and actually agreed with Juliann; somehow heavy and there seemed to be too much frosting. But... when I had this on Sunday, I was in chocolate heaven. As the cake had sat in the fridge overnight, the flavours had blended together beautifully and the cake was just perfect! So, my tastebuds would recommend that you make this at least one day ahead and keep in the fridge. Thank you for the recipe, Karen, I'm in luuurve with this cake!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      This was amazing! I was kind of leery about the coffee as i hate coffee but decided to just go for it. Wow do not skip out on the coffee i made this for last christmas and am now planning on making it for Thanksgiving this is clearly my go to chocolate cake recipe. If you are a chocolate lover such as myself, you will not be disappointed in this incredibly moist recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      Deeeeelicious! Super moist dark chocolate cake. Tastes even better days later.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2012

      Delicious!! I made this cake for my final project for my Wilton cake decorating class, with Bavarian Cream Filling (Bavarian Cream) and Nutella buttercream frosting... truly decadent!! I was a little worried about the coffee, but it doesn't taste like coffee, especially once you get the frosting on it. We aren't coffee drinkers, but I keep packets of Starbucks instant coffee around the house for guests, so I used that.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      Wow, this cake is amazing, it turned out brown-almost black with a rich chocolate taste. By mistake (old eyes) I used 1/3 cup cocoa instead of 1/4 cup, but neither the cake's taste nor texture suffered as a result. This is hands down the best cake I have ever baked. DH said the cake was so good, just sprinkle some confectioner's sugar on it instead of icing or frosting. Made for DH's birthday and I Recommend Tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      I dont usually write reviews but I just made this cake and it is THE BEST chocolate cake I have EVER had. Its really moist, not too sweet & surprisingly light, I didnt bother with the frosting served with fresh cream & raspberries.....chocolate cake heaven!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      Great cake, but never mind this frosting recipe. It is much better with a nice fluffy boiled icing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      I make a lot of different cakes and I like this one because it came out very moist. I added a french vanilla coffee and replaced the interior frosting with raspberry jam and the exterior frosting with chocolate ganache and fresh raspberries, it was a hit! Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      This cake is so good! When I took my first bite, I was pleasantly surprised with a burst of chocolate, the old fashioned devil's food cake chocolate. The recipe is easy to follow, the times are right on, and I definately will be making this again! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      I'm so glad I tried this recipe. The cake is very rich, moist and delicious. I've tried a few chocolate recipes from scratch but this is my new favorite. The cake tastes the best right out of the fridge so make it in advance the morning of your event. I was worried about the icing but my relatives all raved about it and said usually they don't like icing. I will defintely make this again. I did not make any changes. Maybe next time I will bake it in a 9 x 13 pan because the cake did stick to the 9" round.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      I have made this at least 10 times. I am usually not a fan of chocolate cake, but my family is. After trying it the first time I couldn't believe how good it was and have ended up making it over and over.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      Because I knew my next review would be my 100th here at Zaar, I wanted it to be for something extra special. This cake was the perfect choice! Oh my gosh, it is so good!! It rose up so light and fluffy, and the taste is out of this world!! I followed the recipe exactly. Chocolate lovers will be in heaven when they try it. Thanks Karen, for this awesome recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      OMGosh!! I made this cake for my FIL birthday and between 6 of us we demolished this cake within an afternoon. Its so good and the taste is awesome. Nice and thick yet still fluffy! It was so easy to make and really turned me off of box cakes. Great recipe, thanks for sharing! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      This truly is the best devil's food cake I have ever had. It's full of flavor without being too rich and heavy. It actually seems quite light. It's also very moist and seemed freshly baked three days later. I made it with Dunkin Donuts coffee, Hershey's Special Dark cocoa powder, and Kittencal's chocolate buttercream frosting recipe. Highly recommended!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      I was skeptical when my batter seemed kind of soupy, but since the recipe advised that it would be thin, I put it in the oven and hoped that the reviews were true. This is one of THE BEST chocolate cake recipes I've come across. It is moist, beautifully light with great chocolate flavor and not overwhelmingly sweet. I used a seven-minute frosting and drizzled melted unsweetened chocolate around the edges to counter-balance the sweetness of the icing. This is a recipe that will be saved and passed on.THE ONLY CHOCOLATE CAKE RECIPE I WILL EVER NEED!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      It is probably the best chocolate cake we have had. I made it for my wife's birthday a couple of years ago, and she asks for it a couple of times a year...so that is what I am doing today.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      You aren't kidding - this cake is to die for! It is very dangerous though - you could literally sit down and eat this entire cake. It is very fine and thus almost melts in your mouth. I made this cake for my son's birthday party. I think I failed to let it cool enough before frosting and it literally fell apart. Not the recipe but the chef! However, we still ate it and it was delicious! I did use 1/4 teaspoon salt per the other chefs' recommendations. I used "Kittencal's Creamy White Buttercream Frosting/Icing" (#80118) which was great with the cake. I will always bake this cake from now on - my family already wants me to bake another one and we just devoured this one today!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Totally delicious ! Lovely texture and great flavour...will make this one again for sure! I used a different icing though as I'm not a big fan of shortening. Mine was a chocolate cream cheese icing and it worked very well with this cake. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      I was worried when the batter came out very thin, but this recipe made an awesome, moist, dense (but not brownie-like) cake! I subbed 1 C unsweetened applesauce for the 1 C oil, and used only about 1/2 t salt. Perfect. I will definitely turn to this recipe when I want to make chocolate cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      This is a 6 star cake!! It was amazing and moist. I iced it. It was so moist I had to freeze it in order to get the icing on. All of my guests loved it!! I would definately make this cake again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 477.9
     
    Calories from Fat 254
    53%
    Total Fat 28.2 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 42.7 mg
    14%
    Sodium 401.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.1 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 37.6 g
    150%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites