342 Reviews

Hands down, THE BEST chocolate cake recipe; Tried another frosting recipe; actually a chocolate glaze and got loads of compliments. Moist cake (not too sweet). I used baker's sugar instead of granular sugar, but not sure if that will make much difference. This one is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crest182 December 11, 2011

Based on just the cake, I'd give this recipe 5 stars. I didn't bother making the frosting. With a cake this awesome, who needs it? I also really like how simple it is - a cup of this, a cup of that, and everything else is measured in teaspoons. My only complaint is how unhealthy it seems with so much oil. So, I'm planning to try substituting applesauce for some of it if I ever have any on hand when I make this again. And, no, I don't believe I'll ever need another chocolate cake recipe! Made in a bundt pan, this took 45 minutes to bake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ransomed by Fire November 22, 2011

This cake was very good! it was moist and so easy to make

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniek36 August 24, 2011

Although at first I really intended to top this with a chocolate frosting, I did follow your recipe right on down, to & including the frosting given, & it was a really outstanding cake! Loved it through & through, & will definitely be making it again & again ~ After all, there are 2 chocoholics in the house! Many thanks for the keeper recipe! [Made & reviewed in I Recommend recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 26, 2011

Many steps = many rave reviews for a chocolate cake that is over the top delicious. I skipped on the frosting/icing and just dusted with confectioner's sugar and that was a perfect ending to our meal. Definitely will be using this recipe often. I love your suggestion to use hazelnut coffee too - I'll have to try that the next time - and believe me there will be a next time. Tagged and made for I Recommend Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom July 19, 2011

This recipe, although not easy is FANTASTIC! Love this cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie Rodriquez July 15, 2011

I made this for Father's Day and it IS the only chocolate cake recipe you will ever need. Light and chocolately and mmm mmm delicious. I was a bit nervous about the amount of coffee but I need not have worried. I frosted it with a vanilla-flavoured boiled buttercream frosting from the King Arthur Flour Co. cookbook which was delicious. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
colleenfitzgerald_11117846 June 21, 2011

This was the first chocolate cake I made from scratch. I have to say (as did my husband and our 2 friends) that this was absolutely unbelievably delicious. I did 2 9" layer cakes with Kittencals Chocolate Frosting/Icing #89207. I served it with warmed Midsummer Swedish Strawberry Compote #235227. Fantastic recipe, can't wait for an excuse to make it again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rsnelling42 May 30, 2011

This was sooo good. The only thing is that you gotta put the hot coffee and cocoa together in like a blender or something to really get the chocolate flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marypiila23 May 29, 2011
The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)