Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)
    Lost? Site Map

    The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)

    Average Rating:

    321 Total Reviews

    Showing 301-320 of 321

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2007

      I've already made this a couple of times. Very easy, fast and good. Didn't use the frosting you recommended. Instead I layered the cake with whipped cream and topped it with some shaved chocolate. Thanks. Schin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2006

      Oh my! This is incredible! It really doesn't need another review, but I could not help but say THANKS! I topped it with Lynnie the K's GREATEST Chocolate Icing for a friend's birthday. Even no-sweet loving hubby was impressed and commented on it (he got the scraps left on the cooling rack!) Thanks so much Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      Well I am going to give my opinion of this wonderful, moist, delicious, luscious chocolate cake, oops I already did. I believe I enjoyed it because it was not too sweet. The frosting matched since it was also not too sweet. Just like apple pie and ice cream. Maybe I will try the chocolate frosting Chocolate Frosting. Anyway to wrap it all up in a neat little package all had the same reaction as I. Thanks a big bunch Karen for this awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      i was surprised at this recipe. BEcause this recipe is similar to #2496, but this has addt'l 1/2c more oil and more flour. I had a better time leveling off the mounded top of the cake. The cake's moist, not as so sweet. Baked mine in 2 (9" cake pan) for about 37min. I use chocolate ganache (11oz choc, 1/2c milk, 50g butter, 25g water) for the frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2006

      You are so right about this cake, its easier than a box mix and tastes 100% better. I have been making this cake for a long time. Love it!! I have made it with regular icing and I have made it with a whipped cream topping, and in the middle cherries soaked in kahula. Mine cooks in exactly 30 minutes. Thanks for posting Marie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      Baked this a couple of times with only 1/2 cup of oil instead of the full cup, and 1 1/2 cup of sugar with great results. Cake always bakes up moist and delicious, and is always enjoyed by all. Batter is thin, but rises while baking. A pleasure to bake and eat. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      I LOVED LOVED LOVED the cake - but I just was diggin' the frosting. The cake was rich and moist - it held together nicely and had a very nice "crumb" to it. The frosting was VERY light and fluffy but left a gresy feeling to the top of my mouth. It also wasn't loaded with flavor. I think this cake could ue I nice chocolate glaze - Maybe some sugar and butter melted on the stovetop - add in a bunch of semi sweet choc. chips and some vanilla....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2006

      I made this cake as per the instructions and had to increase the cooking time to approx 45-50mins. There was no coffee taste, will add 3 teaspoon of instant coffee to a cup of hot water the next time I make this cake. Will also look at cutting back on the sugar to 1 1/2 cup sugar. Overall it was a lovely moist chocolate cake that the whole family enjoyed. Thanks Nora

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      We used this cake in a catering and the customers loved it! My chef class was very pleased with the recipe and ease of preparation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      EUREKA! I have finally found the chocolate cake recipe that I've been searching for. In a fit of chocolate desperation, I whipped this baby up and it was FANTASTIC! I did replace the milk with buttermilk because I needed to use some up that was in the fridge. I also used a slightly different white icing recipe, just a personal preference. This cake was so moist and chocolate-y, my DH doesn't care for cake but ate 3 huge pieces in less than 24 hours and demanded that I throw this recipe in the monthly rotation. All kidding aside, this is a beautiful cake, easy to make and better than any bakery or wedding cake I've ever had...it also doesn't dry out after 1 day like some can. You are my new hero for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2006

      This is my favorite chocolate cake! It is so moist-tastes like the old-fashioned cakes we used to make. Thanks for helping me recover a lost recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2006

      We were split halfway between a four and a five the first night we had this. It does taste much better the next day and it's so simple to make for the taste, that this is definitely a five star recipe. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      Okay, I'm a believer! My husband is picky picky about cakes, especially the texture of homemade cakes since they tend to be dry and not nearly as moist as from-the-box cakes. I made this cake for his birthday recently, and it was DELICIOUS, very moist and flavorful! The coffee really compliments the chocolate and gives it another layer of flavor. I used one cup of white sugar and one cup of brown sugar to give it even more depth. I have this recipe printed and I will keep it handy to use again and again! Thank you so much for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      This cake had a lot to live up to with so many 5-star ratings already and it certainly didn't disappoint. It is very moist, dark and fudgy in taste but still with a beautifully light texture. My husband, who ate at least half of it in one evening, and the porter of our apartment block both loved it! It's a very forgiving recipe too. I made a half batch and added an extra egg by mistake but it still turned out fine. I baked it in a bundt dish for about 40 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2005

      This is worth the time it takes to make it. It was even better the second day. I will be making this again>

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2005

      The frosting didn't turn out like the one in the picture, but it tased real good. Great recipe, thanx for posting it Karen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2005

      Wow -- the cake turned out scrumptious, and the frosting was even better. First time for me making frosting from scratch, and boy was it worth it! Fluffy, easy to work with, not too sugary, not grainy, wonderful flavor. A keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2005

      I made this cake for my daughter's birthday yesterday. My whole family enjoyed it. I made it just as the recipe was written and I thought that it called for too much liquid for the amount of dry ingredients and I was right. The batter is quite thin and it took more like 50 - 55 minutes to bake rather than the 30 minutes the recipe calls for so next time I'll plan for more baking time. It was very good, moist and dense, but didn't have much of a coffee taste. It reminded me of the taste of oreos so next time I'll use a vanilla filling between layers. Thanks, Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2005

      You're right!! This is the ONLY Chocolate Cake recipe we'll ever need in our family! I made this for my son's birthday. Everyone raved! Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2004

      This is the best ever frosting is perfect hubby and son went crazy for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 477.9
     
    Calories from Fat 254
    53%
    Total Fat 28.2 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 42.7 mg
    14%
    Sodium 401.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.1 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 37.6 g
    150%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites