Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)
    Lost? Site Map

    The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)

    Average Rating:

    315 Total Reviews

    Showing 261-280 of 315

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2008

      This cake is wonderful. Very rich and moist and not too sweet. I found I only needed a tiny bit of the flour and milk mixture in the icing or it became too runny but it was lovely and light. The icing is very sweet however so I have also made this cake using a store bought chocolate icing. Also very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      Everybody said this was great, and very moist. I had a bad head cold and could not taste a thing, so I'm posting this based on all the great things everyone said at my superbowl party. I got a little lazy and instead of making coffee I just threw in 3/4 cup of dry instant coffee mix.I made my own frosting. All in all, this was easy to make and got great reviews, thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      This super moist cake is easy to make and simply delicious. I think next time I will cut the salt down to 1/2 tsp as it has a salty after taste. Once the cake was frosted then I didnt notice the salt and no one else noticed so maybe it was just my pregnant taste buds in super mode. I used Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing for the frosting. It is my favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      This cake was absolutely awesome! My husband ate 2 slices. Normally when I bake cakes, he will wait until it goes stale before he decides to have one slice. My frosting came out a bit weird as I used 2 sticks of butter to replace the shortening, which I didn't have, and I beat it with a mixer, so that may have been the cause, but the taste was divine!!! This is a definite keeper. I also used half and half in place of the cup of milk for the batter, and threw in a dash of Ovaltine with the coffee. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      This makes the most outstanding, moist, delicious and rich cake I've ever had! It had a wonderful texture & the perfect amount of chocolate. My entire family agrees this is THE best recipe. Thank you so much Karen for sharing it. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Yep! This is the only chocolate cake recipe you will ever need!! I made cupcakes instead and use cool whip icing, cooked them for about 23 minutes. They were so moist and delicious! Better than any other bakery chocolate cake i've had

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      This is the BEST chocolate cake I have ever made!! I made this cake for Christmas and everyone had seconds and thirds! I cannot believe how easy the cake was to prepare and how even the layers baked. This cake recipe was not too sweet and had a very good aftertaste! I recommend this recipe to everyone! I have been requested to bake this cake again tonight for my parents anniversary tomorrow night. If you have not made this recipe yet, make it tonight! You will not be sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      Very good and simple to make. It makes a large full moist cake.I used chocolate frosting, next time I will try the frosting posted.Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      I made this for my niece's birthday. I used an easy version of seven minute frosting instead of the recommendation here and it was FABULOUS! I did reduce the salt to 1/4 t. and my coffee wasn't hot, but it came out so delicious. There was hardly any left!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      i made this for my hubby's b!day... and he loved it! i made it step by step and it didnt fail! yay me.. but hubby wanted more and thats a great compliment! thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      I made this for Thanksgiving when my daughter asked if any of the desserts were chocolate, lol!!! I only made half the recipe, as I made two other pumpkin desserts. Everyone loved this cake!!! I made it with Kittencal's buttercream frosting, so yummy!!!! Thanks for a great chocolate cake recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      Everyone has declared it as the best cake they have ever eaten even if it was not presented as intended. Made in a large bundt tin but when turned out it fell apart (some sticking in the tin) so instead of serving with fresh cream and strawberries I layered the ingredients into a crystal bowl and served as a trifle without the custard and jelly (jello). Still had cake left over and the DH took to work for morning/afternoon teas with custard - have orders to make again, but may divide it between 2 smaller tins. Thank you Karen=^..^= for a definate keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      This cake is awesome! I have to give it only four stars though because the frosting isn't as good as I'd hoped it would be, it looked like tapioca, but tasted alright. But the cake was a huge hit! We made cupcakes, took about 20 minutes for huge cupcakes, and it really doesn't need frosting the cake was so moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      Aptly named recipe! I’ve thrown away all other recipes! DH has a Halloween bake-off coming up very soon, and we take competition very seriously. I tried four chocolate cake recipes (one from DS’s professional baking text book) and this was hands down the best! It’s also very easy to make and your directions could not be clearer. I did use parchment on the bottom of the pan, and also took out a few Tbls of coffee and used Kaluha, for some extra kick…. The cocoa I used was top shelf, which I’m sure added to the whole experience. (filled it with a chocolate mousse and a layer of raspberry preserves, will cover the final product with chocolate butter-cream and then go for my Halloween presentation) Thank you so much for posting this recipe, it is a treasure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      Fantastic cake recipe! I also made the icing, as it's very similar to the icing my grandmother always made for her red velvet cake. It is well worth the effort!! Thanks Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      A colleague at work had requested a chocolate cake for a farewell party. My speciality is cheesecakes, not really layer cakes. However, I decided to give it a try and made this cake. It turned out awesome. I actually made it two days in advance. I wrapped the two cakes in plastic wrap nice and tight, placed them in the fridge. When I served the cake, I actually filled it with "Chocolate Raspberry Ganache Frosting" #70896 and covered it with a cream cheese frosting 8 oz cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, 1 tsp vanilla and 2 cups powdered sugar. Everyone loved it and asked for secounds. FYI - I had read that you can store it up to a day, I unfortunately, had to stretch it to two days. Karen, thank you loads for the posting. My colleagues thank you too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      I've made this cake twice now--both times for birthdays here at work. This is one excellent chocolate cake, folks. It is rich, very chocolate-y, and moist. Don't be put off by the coffee in there. I can't detect a coffee flavor at all, just a depth of flavor that you don't get from a boxed devil's food mix. This cake is extremely easy to put together as well. You don't have to worry about creaming or alternately adding the dry and wet ingredients as with most from-scratch cake recipes. I live in Denver and didn't adjust for altitude and didn't have any problems whatsoever. The frosting isn't difficult and works very well with this cake. The frosting is light and airy (if made correctly) without getting lost in the richness of the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      I've been baking for about 40+ years and this is a REAL WINNER! I do NOT like mocha-flavored anything, but the addition of the coffee does NOT make a mocha flavor, at all. This is a rich, moist chocolatey cake that is divine! I followed the cake recipe to the letter and my whole family loved it. I did use my own chocolate buttercream frosting, as there wasn't room in the fridge to store the whole cake with the cooked frosting recipe that was included. Thanks, Karen, for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      This cake tasted wonderful! I followed the cake part exactly, but we made it into a german chocolate cake by using german chocolate frosting, because we didn't have the ingredients for this frosting. I do believe it is the only chocolate cake recipe I'll ever need. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      The cake was very good and moist. Husband kept raving about the cake. Loved the cake but not crazy about the frosting, the texture of the frosting. To me it was way too much fat. Will try next with a mocha chocolate frosting. Thanx Karen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 477.9
     
    Calories from Fat 254
    53%
    Total Fat 28.2 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 42.7 mg
    14%
    Sodium 401.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.1 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 37.6 g
    150%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites