327 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have never made a cake other than the boxed cakes until this recipe. It turned out amazing! I was so happy with it, and so were the people I shared with. Very moist and fluffy. It wasn't too sweet but just right. Highly recommend this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lacey2012 April 04, 2012

This cake was very easy to make, all the measurements were very straight forward.
i loved this recipe! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakingBeauty13 March 31, 2012

The cake isn't the best I've ever had but it was good. As long as my fellas like it that is all that matters! I'll try it again but think that I'll try some melted butter instead of oil and buttermilk instead of milk and see how that helps. Maybe some melted chocolate too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjansa February 25, 2012

Great, moist cake. Icing would be better suited to banana or zucchini cake, I think. I would use a buttercream (choc or vanilla) for this cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trishpia February 06, 2012

5 Stars! This takes just like a Duncan Heintz cake mix, or some other boxed cake mix. INTENSELY chocolatey and moist and rich. And the thing about it is, this cake actually gets BETTER WITH AGE!!! I made it on a Thurs. evening. Didn't touch it till the following evening. And today it is Sunday and it is even better than the previous days! I've also frozen one (frosted and ready to go) with high hope that it will freeze well due to all of the oils and fats! Will try to post back with the results of that in a couple of months or so! ;)

The icing is really smooth and really creamy. It's like a cross between a butter cream and a whipped cream. There is something about it that I don't like...and yet, it works with this cake.I don't know if I would make it again. I might add some more flavor to it by making it chocolate or something. There is a blandness to it but underneith that it is very tasty, so it just needs something else, but I don't know what.

If I need to make a layer cake to impress, I will certainlly go with this one. Espically tasty decorated with cocolate chips!

Thank you Karen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel January 22, 2012

Hands down, THE BEST chocolate cake recipe; Tried another frosting recipe; actually a chocolate glaze and got loads of compliments. Moist cake (not too sweet). I used baker's sugar instead of granular sugar, but not sure if that will make much difference. This one is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crest182 December 11, 2011

Based on just the cake, I'd give this recipe 5 stars. I didn't bother making the frosting. With a cake this awesome, who needs it? I also really like how simple it is - a cup of this, a cup of that, and everything else is measured in teaspoons. My only complaint is how unhealthy it seems with so much oil. So, I'm planning to try substituting applesauce for some of it if I ever have any on hand when I make this again. And, no, I don't believe I'll ever need another chocolate cake recipe! Made in a bundt pan, this took 45 minutes to bake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ransomed by Fire November 22, 2011

This cake was very good! it was moist and so easy to make

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniek36 August 24, 2011

Although at first I really intended to top this with a chocolate frosting, I did follow your recipe right on down, to & including the frosting given, & it was a really outstanding cake! Loved it through & through, & will definitely be making it again & again ~ After all, there are 2 chocoholics in the house! Many thanks for the keeper recipe! [Made & reviewed in I Recommend recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 26, 2011

Many steps = many rave reviews for a chocolate cake that is over the top delicious. I skipped on the frosting/icing and just dusted with confectioner's sugar and that was a perfect ending to our meal. Definitely will be using this recipe often. I love your suggestion to use hazelnut coffee too - I'll have to try that the next time - and believe me there will be a next time. Tagged and made for I Recommend Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom July 19, 2011
The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)