Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)
    Lost? Site Map

    The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)

    Average Rating:

    327 Total Reviews

    Showing 241-260 of 327

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2008

      Oh Dear. I'm quite sure I could have gone several more years without finding this recipe... or at least, my waistline could have done so! My tastebuds are thrilled. Hubby, toddlers and I all LOVED this cake, made exactly as is in a 9x13 sheet cake. It's just LOVELY!!! The icing is alot of work but boy is it worth it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      Amazing recipe! I used it for cupcakes and baked a 12-tin batch for 25 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      Frikkin amazing! This cake really is extremely good! And whats better, the icing! See I have tried making other recipes (like kittencals choc buttercream icing, and cake recipes) and i thought those were good! This one was excelent! My husband and i have been eating on it daily :) I dont know what makes the icing so different, I think its the milk/flour thing or/and the shortening, but its SO good! I usually dont care much at all for homemade icing. Also I used powdered sugar (about 1 cup maybe a bit less) and I put a bit more vanilla.. With the cake i used BUTTER in place of the vegetable oil. the cake is so moist and good! Other cakes ive tried didnt have a good balance like this one. Mostly they were always too floury tasting and the texture was different.. This one is SOOO good. I cant say it enough! I wanna have a peice for breakfast right now! But I wont :-) Thanks for the recipe, this truly is the ONLY choc cake recipe ill ever need/make/keep!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      Awesome, moist delicious cake. The frosting is very light and fluffy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      This is as wonderful as all the reviewer have posted.My stepfather loved it and he doesn't even like chocolate cake.I have been using the frosting recipe since I first started baking,however I called it Whipped Cream Frosting.I could it right out of the bowl.Thanks for posting such a yummy treat!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      A great Devil's Food cake recipe! I used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa, and the cake was nearly completely black! I also used instant espresso in lieu of coffee. It had a very good flavor and was not difficult to make. I am glad, though, that you mentioned the batter should be runny--otherwise I'd've worried I'd done something wrong! It was very runny indeed. It was very moist and dense. Thanks for posting, Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      The cake was delicious, but I was not wild about the icing. I prefer icings made with powdered sugar. Next time I will use my chocolate icing recipe, but I will absolutely make the cake again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Great cake recipe. I used dark cocoa, increased it to 1 c, dissolving 1/4 c of it in the hot coffee. Also increased the flour by 2 T, as I was looking for a dense cake. WONDERFUL. Thank you for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      I followed the cake recipe just as given. It turned out very moist, light, and delicious. I also used the frosting recipe with one change: I added 1/4 cup cocoa powder to the butter, shortening, sugar mixture. I have to say I had one very fine cake for dessert today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      Made this for as a birthday cake today, turned out great!! Co-workers ate it all up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      Excellent cake!! Extremely moist and delicious! I agree that you could cut back on the oil some (maybe halve it) and it would still be a great cake. The cupcake papers were pretty oily, but nobody seemed to mind. ;) I used Chocolate Silk coffee and it complimented the cake beautifully. I also cut back on the sugar since we prefer our cakes to not be super sweet so that it is more of a contrast to the icing. Thanks for sharing this exceptional recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      This cake disappears! I made if for a party and it was the first dessert gone! Everyone loved it, and it's so easy! I used a really bold roast of coffee (sumatra), and I think that helped to give it a nice mocha flavor. I frosted it with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting #192894 and it was a perfect combination in my opinion! Thanks for a great, easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      This recipe was very good, but wasn't what I was lookin for. It was a little bit denser than I wanted, but it was still super chocolate-y and delicious. I halved the recipe and added cocoa to the frosting, which was delicious (although one of the children didn't like the frosting at ALL). I will definitely make this again, though only when I want a heavy cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      What a great recipe! I made 2 9" cakes for Father's Day and baked them for 40 mins. Turned out perfect, and oh so moist. I used Kittencal's buttercream frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      I made this cake for some relatives that were coming over--it was wonderful. Only change I made was: instead of 1 cup veg oil, I subbed 1/2 cup lite sour cream and 1/2 cup expeller-pressed canola oil. I also added some chopped bittersweet chocolate before sticking it in the oven. I baked it in a Bundt pan for 50 minutes. Thanks, Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      Great cake! Moist and perfectly dark chocolatey. Foolproof recipe. i made this with a seven minute frosting. It was perfect. Honestly, the cake taste better the day after it's made...if there's any left. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      This was a very moist cake! It was super easy to put together. I didn't have any problems with the cake falling or crumbling. The only think I think I would want a bit different is more of a chocolate flavor. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      This really didn't turn out well for me at all. The cake did not hold up well. It crumbled while I moved it to the serving tray. The frosting wasn't sweet enough. I am very diappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      Wow, what a cake. I used Olive oil as it was all I had on hand. Two days on and it tastes just as good. only thing to note, I cooked in one baking tin and it took longer than the recommended 45 minutes, probably closer to an hour. You must make this cake it is better than any (mud cake) you have tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      If I could give this cake a 10, I would. I have made it 4 times and it is a must that you put it in the fridge. It makes the cake and icing even better!! I have tried many chocolate cake recipes and this is definetly the best ever! Thank you Karen so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 477.9
     
    Calories from Fat 254
    53%
    Total Fat 28.2 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 42.7 mg
    14%
    Sodium 401.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.1 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 37.6 g
    150%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes