345 Reviews

Made cupcakes, huge hit, icing fantastic, not too sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jljmay January 24, 2013

I can't say enough about this cake...it's phenomenal! Not only does it taste wonderful, the consistency is perfect. It does not crumble when you cut it, even a very thin slice. The frosting is to die for! Like the others reviews, it is not too sweet or rich but just right. I followed high altitude instructions and it turned out perfect! This will definitely be my "go to" chocolate cake! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
natwatson January 21, 2013

It%u2019s really one of the best chocolate cake I have made.
I use it for a birthday cake & then for cupcakes & then just for a cake & then..& then...
Everyone loves it! I have use plenty of different frosting and I feel it with a white chocolate mousse once...whatever you decide to do the cake will be awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mageirakos January 16, 2013

I have now made this cake four times, for my son's birthdays and a couple of other occasions (got one in the oven as we speak for his birthday on Friday) and I have to call it idiot-proof. It's so simple, no creaming of butter etc, just all the wet ingredients in with all the dry ingredients. It's the most chocolatey cake I've ever made, and seeing how it's got less than a cup of cocoa, as chocolate cakes go, it's very economical to make too. The cake improves after a day or so wrapped in foil prior to eating, in my opinion, and stays wonderfully moist for several days after that. It is a perfect cake for carving (made one into a Lightning McQueen one year) as it's quite dense without being heavy, and holds fondant icing well. It's a winner all round!! Not made the frosting so can't comment on that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sally_myles January 14, 2013

I bake a lot, but have stayed away from layer cakes. This was my first 2 layered chocolate cake from scratch. I lined the pans with parchment & sprayed with Pam & dusted with flour. The cakes did not stick & came out beautifully. A delicious, moist cake with an intense chocolate flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
k8bug December 24, 2012

Perfection!! The only change was using 1 1/2 c. of sugar instead of 2...personal preference. I can't imagine a better chocolate cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
busywifeandmom December 11, 2012

I turned it into cupcakes for my son's school cupcake wars and to me it took the cake

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefizz December 09, 2012

Just as it says

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lcarnder December 04, 2012

delicious! Thank you.
I even adjusted it ever so slightly.... sorry... to make it kid friendly without the coffee, added a cup of hot milo (4 heaped teaspoons of milo) yummy. But the coffee in it is delicious

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
songhurstk December 01, 2012

Absolutely fantastic cake recipe. Everyone I made it for enjoyed it, it tastes well with vanilla ice cream also. The coffee I added was hazelnut and it added such a wonderful extra taste to the cake.

The only thing I would change is to add a bit of sugar(about 1/4 cup) to the frosting if your making it for a birthday party or something for kids or teens. I'm 17 and I don't mind it that much, but my 14 year old sister didn't like the frosting at all.

Otherwise, amazing cake recipe, I plan on making this in the future!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Unisat November 29, 2012
The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)