Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)
    Lost? Site Map

    The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)

    Average Rating:

    321 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 321

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2002

      I'm not very good at making cakes, but I wanted to try this one because of the very good reviews it had, so I made it last night... and wow it was great!! not too sweet , really moist and the frosting was just right!! my husband loved it!! thank you for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2002

      The cake had an intense chocolate taste, was deliciously moist and not too sweet. I used two round baking tins instead of one and after 30 minutes at 160C the cakes were not yet done. Next time, I'll bake them for 35-40 minutes at 180C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2003

      I made this for a co-workers 18th birthday and everyone loved it. Very moist and chocolaty. The frosting was also very good with a nice texture and not overly sweet. I did add semi-sweet chocolate morsels to the frosting while I was stirring the flour and milk together over med. heat. Came out tasting very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2003

      Wow! This was THE perfect chocolate cake! The cake was moist, and not too sweet. The frosting was fluffy, delicious, and VERY easy to work with! The only problem that I had, was that some of it stuck to the bottom of the pan, but I think that's probably because I didn't grease it enough, or tried to take it out before it was cooled enough. Didn't end up affecting the look or the taste though! Well worth the effort on the frosting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2002

      I made this cake for a bridal shower, using two round pans (took about 40 minutes to bake). I put the frosting only on top of the layers (not on the sides) so it looked like a torte. Then I put fresh raspberries on top of the refrigerated cake. It looked beautiful, but better yet, I had people raving about it! It truly is moist and delicious, probably the best chocolate cake I’ve had in a long time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      This is really one of the best chocolate cake recipes that I have found. I have made it 3 times in the last month, my whole family loves it. I made a coffee frosting the first time and that was great the second time I made white boiled frosting and that was even better. I definitely will keep making this cake! It is better cold from the refrigerator, very moist and has a great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2002

      This cake is really good. I cut back on the cocoa some and I think I could cut back some more and it would be fine. We just don't like it to be too strong. I also used a full cup of butter, (didn't have shortening) in the icing and it was really good. Will use this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2003

      I made this cake for my honey for Valentines. He loves chocolate cake. This came out very moist. The frosting was a bit runny to me but that was probably my fault. I can't make a proper frosting to save my life! All in all, a very tasty treat! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2002

      Very Good (what little I got of it). The Frosting is great and worth the effort. Hall of fame all the way!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2002

      I made this for my dear brother's 18th birthday today. It is really moist, has an intense chocolate flavour, with the perfect balance of sweet. I baked 1 cake in my AMC Dutch Oven - took me 2 hrs 10 minutes to bake this, after which I let it remain covered in the oven for 30 minutes. The icing did sound unusual, but I went right ahead and made it - yummy! I had no shortening or butter, so I used 1 cup of softened margarine as a substitute. I didnt have regular milk at home, so I used Rainbow Evaporated Milk as a substitute. When my bro got back from a game of pool with friends, and I surprised him with this cake, he was sooo happy! He made me feed him! :) Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2002

      This was a real hit with the family. Made it for DS birthday. DH went for seconds (rare when it comes to sweets). It has a deep chocolate flavor, is very moist, and has just the right amount of sweetness. The frosting recipe was so different, but very good. We liked the tip about keeping the cake chilled. You're right - I don't need to try any more chocolate cake recipes, I've found the one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2002

      This cake so so good! It was like a devils food cake with a creamy white icing! I thought the ingredients for the icing sounded a little strange, but I thought I'd give it a try anyways, and I was really glad I did! My husband hates icing with the "powdered sugar taste", so he was really happy with the results! I will file this recipe in my box of recipes I will bake often! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2002

      I can't even call this cake "Death By Choclate", because I was very much alive and loving every morsel of this incredible choclate cake. As someone who has tasted several of Karen's recipes, I don't know why she isn't in your Hall of Fame!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      I wish I could rate this recipe 5 stars. The cake definitely earns 5 stars; however, with the frosting recipe that is included, I can only rate this a 3. I have made this cake before, using a different frosting, and it was loved by all. I made the cake a second time, using the included frosting recipe. The cake itself turned out great, but the frosting was not something I would ever make again. I didn't have any problems with the texture of the frosting, as some reviewers have. It looked great, but the flavor was very lacking. I can't recommend the cake enough, but I won't be making the frosting again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2011

      Delicious! I've tried many chocolate cake recipes and haven't found one as light and moist as a box mix. This is better than box--moist, light and flavorful. I made the cake and frosting exactly as directed, despite my worries over the granulated sugar and unflavored shortening in the frosting recipe. The frosting is also very good! For those reviewers who had thin icing, it's possible you didn't cook the flour/milk mixture long enough. It gets to an almost-set pudding consistency when done, and then should be chilled through (about an hour in fridge). I might try the frosting with all butter next time just for fun, but I really love the recipe as is! Thanks for sharing; I CAN throw out all other chocolate cake recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      I've never been a fan of non-boxed-mix cakes before, because they generally didn't turn out very good. But this..this is my new go-to for chocolate cake! I baked in 9" round, then split each layer (to end up with four layers). The bottom three layers each were pricked with a fork and brushed with a little chocolate syrup and then filled with Whipped Chocolate Cream Icing, which was used to ice the top and sides as well. Topped with a few chocolate curls and a drizzle of chocolate syrup, I thought we'd died and gone to heaven. This got rave reviews too...thanks so much for posting. I'm off to make another one right now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      I made this with Kittencal's white buttercream frosting (http://www.recipezaar.com/The-Best-Creamy-White-FrostingIcing-Better-Than-Canned-80118) for a party at work. This is a wonderfully moist cake, so after I removed it from the baking pan, I froze it for about an hour before frosting - that really helps the cake hold together while you're slathering on the frosting! Since I needed to feed around 45 people, I doubled the recipe and baked it in an 11x15 pan and cooked it at 300 for 45 minutes, then at 275 for another 30 minutes. This cake was a raging success at work -I'm sure I'll be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2003

      I echo other reviews. I needed to take cake to a restaurant and did't have anything flat and large enough to take it on. Baked in a 12 cup bundt pan in 40 mins. Perfecto !! Even made the frosting, it was challenging to frost the Bundt cake but I did it !! Filled the middle with fresh strawberries and put some on top. Added the age of the b'day boy in chocolate chips on cake also. He has had quite a day thanx to Zaar !!! Comments from guests and our waiter were, 'this is the best chocolate cake I have ever had', 'is this a whipping cream icing' and lot's of ooh's and aaahhh's, eyes lighting up in glee. That said it all. Thank you for a classic chocolate cake recipe that is sure to impress. Everything about this cake was perfect if you want decadent and luscious without all the sugar that overwhelms the tastebuds, try this recipe !!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      So easy and good! I made this twice for birthdays and it was a hit. Once, I made them into cupcakes and it worked perfectly, despite being so moist. Just fill 2/3 way full and cook for 23 minutes. One batch made 24 perfect cupcakes. However, I use a cool whip/cream cheese frosting found in the "shortcut carrot cake" recipe. It's not too sweet and really fluffy. These were the best cupcakes I ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      The name says it all! For all of you that are having problems with the cake falling, beat the mix just unitll it comes together - over beating causes the cake to fall. It only takes my Kitchen-Aid 25 or 30 seconds to mix it all up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 17

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food)

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 477.9
     
    Calories from Fat 254
    53%
    Total Fat 28.2 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 42.7 mg
    14%
    Sodium 401.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.1 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 37.6 g
    150%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites