20 Reviews

Five stars for this technique. Wow-- I had never used a hot enough pan, and didn't know that you were supposed to stir the eggs when you first poured them in. My omelets turned out beautifully. I made one with three eggs, and one with two. As per Omelet Recipe 168129, I added a bit of chicken broth to the beaten eggs, and filled the finished omelets with dollops of ricotta and some sauteed veggies. Delicious.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Messy Cook October 27, 2010

I have never made an omlette before so this was the perfect recipe for me, it was easy to follow! And the results were delicious!!!! I use to think omlettes were hard to make, boy was I wrong! I will be making this again... Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT 5

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
my3beachbabes June 14, 2009

Wow this was good and so easy too! Added Parmesan and Gruyere cheese. Made for ZWT5 French Omelet Challenge.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench June 03, 2009

Very delicious! I'd forgotten how much flavour butter imparts to an omlette, having fallen into the habit of using cooking spray. I really enjoyed the chives with the eggs as well (and I did add some shredded cheddar, because who can have egg and chives without cheese?) Interesting technique, although I was a bit lost on step 5 (snapping it back towards me), so I just ignored it :oops: - it still turn out fine. Made for ZWT5, for Las Mistico Magicos Sirenas.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen June 02, 2009

made for zwt5, this is simple and delicious. i did add a few drops of water to make it fluffier, and used fresh tarragon and chives from my grden.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia June 02, 2009

This was a superb omelet recipe. Easy yet simple and tasty. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT5 Groovy GastroGnomes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Az B June 01, 2009

I am not the best omelet maker so I didnt have a pretty omelet but it sure tasted good. Enjoyed a basic simple omelet with the zing of the chives for breakfast this morning. The only thing I would like to add next time is some cheese sprinkled on top. Thank you Cookgirl for posting this recipe that I will make again. Made and reviewed for ZWT5, Bodacious Brickhouse Babes team.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 June 01, 2009

I've never been blown away by an omelet before, but this was outstanding. I made exactly as instructed but put chives in and on top. I also added a melty cheese before folding sides over. The omelet didn't loosen easily for me, so there was no snapping it into a fold; but I was still able to get it folded manually. Who cares, really, when it tastes that good?! ;-) I made this for ZWT5 Jammin' Java Jivers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KissKiss June 01, 2009

Simple yet fantastic! Great method. I did add a little cheese. Thanks so much for posting this little gem. Made for ZWT5 Epicurean Queen Team. :) Merci!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood May 31, 2009

For ZWT 5 Dining Daredevils. This was really good. I never warmed an egg in hot water before, so it was a little odd. But I liked it. The chives were a nice touch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef May 31, 2009
The Omelet by Alton Brown