Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Omelet by Alton Brown Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Omelet by Alton Brown

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2010

      Five stars for this technique. Wow-- I had never used a hot enough pan, and didn't know that you were supposed to stir the eggs when you first poured them in. My omelets turned out beautifully. I made one with three eggs, and one with two. As per Omelet Recipe 168129, I added a bit of chicken broth to the beaten eggs, and filled the finished omelets with dollops of ricotta and some sauteed veggies. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      I have never made an omlette before so this was the perfect recipe for me, it was easy to follow! And the results were delicious!!!! I use to think omlettes were hard to make, boy was I wrong! I will be making this again... Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT 5

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      Wow this was good and so easy too! Added Parmesan and Gruyere cheese. Made for ZWT5 French Omelet Challenge.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Very delicious! I'd forgotten how much flavour butter imparts to an omlette, having fallen into the habit of using cooking spray. I really enjoyed the chives with the eggs as well (and I did add some shredded cheddar, because who can have egg and chives without cheese?) Interesting technique, although I was a bit lost on step 5 (snapping it back towards me), so I just ignored it :oops: - it still turn out fine. Made for ZWT5, for Las Mistico Magicos Sirenas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      made for zwt5, this is simple and delicious. i did add a few drops of water to make it fluffier, and used fresh tarragon and chives from my grden.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      This was a superb omelet recipe. Easy yet simple and tasty. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT5 Groovy GastroGnomes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      I am not the best omelet maker so I didnt have a pretty omelet but it sure tasted good. Enjoyed a basic simple omelet with the zing of the chives for breakfast this morning. The only thing I would like to add next time is some cheese sprinkled on top. Thank you Cookgirl for posting this recipe that I will make again. Made and reviewed for ZWT5, Bodacious Brickhouse Babes team.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      I've never been blown away by an omelet before, but this was outstanding. I made exactly as instructed but put chives in and on top. I also added a melty cheese before folding sides over. The omelet didn't loosen easily for me, so there was no snapping it into a fold; but I was still able to get it folded manually. Who cares, really, when it tastes that good?! ;-) I made this for ZWT5 Jammin' Java Jivers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      Simple yet fantastic! Great method. I did add a little cheese. Thanks so much for posting this little gem. Made for ZWT5 Epicurean Queen Team. :) Merci!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      For ZWT 5 Dining Daredevils. This was really good. I never warmed an egg in hot water before, so it was a little odd. But I liked it. The chives were a nice touch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      I made this omelette for breakfast today. It was pretty good. I added a little bit of water to make them more fluffy and cheese because I love cheese so much. I didn't use the extra butter for finishing the omelette. Made for zwt5.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      This makes such a good basic omelette. It was so light and fluffy, like restaurant omelettes. Warming up the eggs must be the miracle trick! I added a bit of grated swiss and cheddar to mine, because I like cheese with my eggs. I also didn't have any decent fresh herbs left, so I sprinkled some dried parsley on for color. Mine came out a bit overcooked on the outside because I had to keep answering the phone while cooking (grr), but the fluffiness of it made up for the overbrowned outside layer. I'll definitely be using this recipe again, thanks for posting! Made for ZWT5 French Omelette Challenge, after following the live tutorial

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      I made this for the omelette challenge for ZWT5. I'd never warmed up the eggs before making an omelet, and I really liked the result. It was lighter and fluffier. This is a great basic omelet recipe, Cookgirl! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      Delicious basic omelette recipe. I have never warmed my eggs prior to making the omelette but today I had to make 3 of these so the first one used the warmed eggs & was very light & fluffy. Compared to the other two for DH & DS that were pretty flat & rubbery feeling. (I usually use milk in the mix to avoid that, but followed the recipe exactly here.) I added a bit of fresh shaved Parmesan in the demo omelette. Thanks for posting an AB recipe, Cookgirl. He's definitely got Good Eats! :) Made & enjoyed for the French Omelette Demo for ZWT 5 - Ali Baba's Babes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      I made this while following the live demo for the proper procedures for making a French Omelette (for ZWT5). And the tips really did help me make a lighter, fluffier omelette. I added just a bit of gruyere cheese, to make it seem more French, and it was really a great addition. Thanks for posting your recipe, Cookgirl.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      A delightful omelet recipe. I wonder if putting the eggs in hot water for 5 minutes is what made this omelet turn out to be so light and fluffy. I love the basic ingredients in this omelet and added some crushed red pepper flakes and some shredded swiss cheese. I will be using this recipe often in the future. Thanks for a great recipe, Cookgirl. Made for ZWT5.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      This was a pretty straight forward recipe, easy with fluffy results. I used some shredded Asiago cheese and fresh chives from my garden. Made by team member "Cooks With Dirty Faces" For ZWT5 Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      I am a huge Alton fan, he makes cooking so interesting. This is a very good recipe for constructing the perfect omelet. I used fresh basil from my garden instead of chives. Made for the Omelet Challenge, ZWT5 on behalf of Hell's Kitchen Angels.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2013

      Yummy, easy omelet, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      Wonderful, delicious, simple, fluffy. The heating of the eggs first is amazing. Mine fell apart somewhat but I did not use the right size pan (too small) or a good spatula!! I will buy a good spatula now and try this technique again to get a perfect omelet insha Allah (God willing). I made as written using additional sea salt per our preference, sweet butter (unsalted) plus the rest. Made for Veggie Swap 36 ~ July 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Omelet by Alton Brown

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 265.0
     
    Calories from Fat 179
    67%
    Total Fat 19.9 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 573.1 mg
    191%
    Sodium 418.2 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 18.9 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes