63 Reviews

i did not have chocolate so i substituted white chocolate, no butter either so i subbed peanut butter.....out of garlic and onions so i used shallots.wine was on hand, so in it went! i did have the olive oil and it worked quite well...... problem is i just did not get the same results as you posted..... did i do something wrong??????????? should i give this 1 star because it did not work or 5 stars for a great joke????????? what to do!?!? (hopefully, no actual humans were hurt in the posting of this review!).

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimbearly May 09, 2003

Worth five stars with the following adjustments: Use one jar of Nutella instead of chocolate, make sure you use unsalted butter, use shallots instead of onion, up the garlic to 3 bulbs, add the bitters to the evoo and finally do not apply the patch to the upper arm; it works much better when applied to the left cheek and I don't mean the one you apply blush to.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Secret Agent June 01, 2009

I have tried this, It is a good idea, BUT, IT DOESN"T WORK.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz May 07, 2003

DH snuck into my private zaar account (can he go to jail for this?) tagged this and has forced me to make and review. I did the full 5 day recipe just as directed, except for the Angostura Bitters (don't know what that is, probably couldn't afford it anyway)substituted 100 proof white lightin' that my cousin in tennesse gave me, ate the chocolate, used the butter to apply the patch, skipped the onion (I hate bad breath), out of olive oil and strung the garlic around my neck to keep the vampries away. All in all, I don't think the patch worked. The white lighting is all gone, I've had a headache for 5 days and I'm still tagging like a crazy woman. I'm giving you the 5 star rating, because "you made my day"!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby April 25, 2009

Normaone -- it's easy to adapt this for vampires, just up the garlic to a full 8 ounces, by weight. FRESH garlic is essential. If you use the chopped garlic in a jar, you may succeed in giving the offending vampire a nasty head cold. He'll still come after you, but he'd have to alternate sucking your blood with blowing his nose. You might have a chance to get away if he gets into a sneezing fit. Garlic powder offers even less protection -- you might notice a slight sniffle as the Vamp plunges his fangs into your neck. If vampires are a major concern, I'd stick with the fresh garlic. ;-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThatBobbieGirl May 09, 2003

BobbieGirl...wonderful...I had three days off and my computer at home is down, so I DID totally binge on chocolate....cos quite a dent in my wallet...I had to have handmade chocolate...hey only the best can help EASE the withdrawels of zaar

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac April 26, 2003

I needed this when Zaar was "down for maintainence" today....happily, I made do with white wine...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mamie37 April 24, 2003

Thank you so much, ThatBobbieGirl!! I'm going to be away a lot during the next several months. Do you think it might work for vampires as well?

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Normaone April 23, 2003

Oh do I need this! Then again I had a serious problem with your recipe. You see I ate the chocolate beforeblending and then I felt my "cheeks" expand. I am still giving a 5 star rating because I really need this and you made me laugh like crazy this morning. Of course I already signed up fro a swap. dang, must be the missing chocolate. Oh yea and my bloomers are a bit soggy as the "adhesive" leaked a bit. Hugs, Connie

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie October 22, 2010

Clever!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof August 09, 2010
The Official Recipezaar Withdrawal Patch